We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Shelleys

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Shelleys
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Lewes
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pleasant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

I stayed in a superior room, with my husband and 4 year-old.
Pros: The room and bathroom were spacious and, although faded, spotless. Its on the high street, so an easy stroll to the station, castle etc. Staff at reception were polite and helpful. Also, amazing water pressure, especially considering the age of the place. Interesting history and a good turnover service.

The downsides were
(1) the view (the room overlooked a ?staff door and walkway, so I felt I had to keep the curtains drawn; see photo)
(2)Got so tired of waiting for the grumpy waiter to bring my toast at breakfast (still waiting after I finished the rest of my meal) that I just left, as I needed to check out.
(3) King bed was two singles joined together, with noisy headboards
(4)Personally I found it was lacking a bit of soul, which is strange considering its age and history (although I understand it has previously been under corporate ownership?)
(5) Decided not to get a fold-up bed for my daughter as £20 extra a night seemed a bit steep

Unlike a previous reviewer, I had no problem with the heating (fully adjustable on the radiators), or children's cereal (my daughter had Rice Crispies one day and lovely homemade bircher the next).

Better than your average medium-sized hotel (which I normally avoid).
Undecided about Lewes itself (a bit smug?), but Brightons only a short bus-ride away if it gets too much!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Saisun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Shelleys, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Many thanks for such a detailed and considered review. Overall we were pleased that you found such good things to say about The Shelleys. Equally there were some areas where you felt we could fine tune. The hotel is of course purring with delight over your kind remarks about her water pressure

Hopefully we will be able to see you again before too long and thanks again for your custom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    96
    59
    34
    26
See reviews for
38
194
17
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Berkhamsted, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

Booked a suite for one night for two adults and two children.
Room, clean linen & well turned down. Central heating way too hot with no room based thermostats. Decor in need of updating, looking tired.
Breakfast - OK but you get much better from a local cafe! Surprised that apple juice was a cost extra & no cereals aimed for children.
Staff were polite & helpful. A local friend told me there is not much competition so you get the feeling as a business it doesn't have to try too hard. It reminded my son & me of the TV series 'Fawlty Towers'!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dominic S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Shelleys, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
This review is like the curate's egg - good in parts. The team at Shelleys work extremely hard to deliver an exemplary level of service which many of our patrons have kindly recognised through TripAdvisor and elsewhere - their support means a great deal. The ongoing maintenance and upgrading of this venerable building remains a labour of love and will ensure The Shelleys can continue to give, as she has done over many years
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selsey UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013

We stayed here for a two night break in March on a Bed, Breakfast and Dinner basis. The hotel is situated in a very convenient location with a good size car park, it is a 5 minute walk to the main shops and areas of interest. There is a bus stop one minutes walk away where you can catch a bus to Brighton, a 20 minute ride and no parking problems. The bus service was very frequent in the day time.
The hotel itself is a beautiful old building and very nice inside with large chandeliers, high ceilings etc. Our room (18) which I presume was a standard one was not particularly large, but adequate, and looked out over the garden with some nice views.
The bathroom was very small and twice I managed to burn myself on the extremely hot towel rail even though there was a small warning sign, the fittings and amenities were very good with plenty of towels and the usual robes, the shower was extremely easy to use with a good powerful stream of water, we have stayed in hotels where you need a degree to work out how to use the shower.
Breakfast was excellent on both mornings but I was a bit surprised that the menu for dinner was identical on both nights, there were about 6 choices of each course so easy enough to choose a different meal on a 2 night stay but would be different if the stay was for a longer period. The two dinners we had were both very good, well cooked, hot and tasty. The staff who served us were most pleasant, efficient and nothing seemed to be too much trouble for them.
All in all a nice stay and Lewes is definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bondyboy63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Shelleys, responded to this review, 30 March 2013
The team at Shelleys are delighted that you had such a good two days with them. Both Lewes and the hotel have much to offer and your feedback is much appreciated. Hopefully we can look forward to welcoming you back before too long

Thanks again for your custom and kind words
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

Lovely welcome into a charming unassuming hotel. From the outside you wouldn't think anything of it but very nice inside and the staff are great. We had a superior room on a Travelzoo deal, which can often be risky as we obviously paid less than normal prices, but our room (17) was very large with a lovely spacious sitting area and huge bathroom.
The shower was like standing in the middle of a Caribbean thunderstorm, and everything was very well cleaned and immaculately presented. Our dinner was excellent and staff were extremely helpful and accommodating at every opportunity.
Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Our room (17) had a broken radiator valve and consequently stuck on full heat all night, but hopeful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dosso31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Shelleys, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
A super review, thank you and we love your description of the shower and your kind remarks regarding our staff

We have been delighted with the guests who were able to visit us under the Winter promotion you mention and hopefully we can look forward to seeing you again as the year progresses. We have some great events coming up, with Easter, Glyndebourne and Guy Fawkes to name a few

Renewed thanks for your custom and thoughts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night DB&B and I cannot praise this hotel more. The staff and management were exceptional and could not do more for you.
The building dates back to the 1500's so in reference to the comments that there is creaking what would you expect from something that age it all adds to the charm of the place.
The building is beautiful and very well decorated keeping to its history.
The food is amazing and plentiful and the staff very attentive during service.
Overall this is a great getaway for a night or two away and to explore the surrounding area.
I have stayed in many hotels and this is up there with the best!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ostacey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Shelleys, responded to this review, 17 March 2013
Thank you for such a super review - the team at Shelleys are on cloud nine as a result and are very much looking forward to welcoming you back, hopefully in the near future. More so as we have some great new dishes ready for the Spring

Renewed thanks for your kind words and custom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uckfield
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

Nice hotel in nice town. Very large and well furnished room. Service was impressive and our meal was good but not up to the standard the last time I stayed here some years ago. The room was a well decorated but there were cobwebs hanging from the ceiling and some unpleasant stains on the carpet. Shower was difficult to operate and the noise of creaking floorboards in the room and corridor above led to a regularly broken nights sleep. Some noise and background hum from pipes/extraction equipment.

Room Tip: Lots of stairs, no lift and a bit of a rabbit warren. Make sure to tell the hotel at the time of boo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Shelleys, responded to this review, 16 March 2013
This review and your custom is much appreciated, thank you. Since taking over management of the hotel we are now mid-way through a comprehensive but sympathetic renovation program designed to turn back years of under-investment by previous owners

Shelleys is magnificent, dating back several hundred years and we cannot help but think of her as the 'grande dame' of Lewes - she has given so much over the years and wants to keep giving. As with any old building there will be creaks and given its listed status we have to be both disciplined and thoughtful in the work that we do which is, of course, a labour of love

Hopefully next time you visit you will see further improvements and meanwhile, renewed thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

Subject: The Shelleys
Location: Lewes, East Sussex, England, United Kingdom, Europe
Title: booking not honoured
ID#: 153584107

On l4th Feb 2013, I rang and booked a surprise Valentine gift for my husband - a night's stay on Nov. 5th 2013 to join in Lewes famous bonfire night celebrations. At the hotel's request, I gave my credit card details and immediately received a full email confirmation. It was for a single room they sometimes let as a very small double (in our case) for £100 inc. breakfast.
EIGHT days later, I get a phone call from the hotel telling me there had been a mistake made by a new receptionist, and we had to have a room for 2 nights on Bonfire night. This is despite it being midweek (e.g. Monday and Tuesday). The cost of our stay? £240 (package dinner on one night). A whopping 140% increase on my Valentine gift, already given!! Although they apologised, they said they could easily sell the space, and absolutely no compensation for their mistake was offered, just a 'take it or leave it' email response from the manager relayed to me via the receptionist in an email.
Dismissing a confirmed booking is actually illegal - by law a hotel has to honor its confirmation, date and price, or there is no point in actually getting one!
Faced with my husband having to take an extra day off work and the unexpected cost, was upsetting. If they had offered to upgrade the room for the two days, or ANYTHING to apologise, it would have been accepted - as a very small room for two days is not so great. My email enquiry about parking costs was just ignored. With one final phone call attempt from me, they came back and offered nothing to compensate for their error, despite admitting they still had three better and bigger rooms free. The meanness of what is supposed to be a classy hotel is totally breathtaking, and out of principle I hope people avoid it at all costs.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank lyndsay r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Shelleys, responded to this review, 7 March 2013
Regrettably we cannot identify with these comments and view them as apocryphal. It is clear these guests have not stayed at the hotel so on this basis it is a case of "enough said" other than to point out that Guy Fawkes is one of the key nights of the year for both the hotel and Lewes. As such we should perhaps quote John Lennon as it would be "strange days indeed" if we did not know our booking policies, more so as we have a stable and incredibly hard-working team on reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewes
0.3 mi away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#3 of 8 in Lewes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
0.7 mi away
Newmarket Inn
Newmarket Inn
#4 of 8 in Lewes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.3 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#7 of 8 in Lewes
3.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Horsted Place
Horsted Place
#2 of 2 in Little Horsted
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
6.4 mi away
East Sussex National
East Sussex National
#1 of 2 in Little Horsted
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,113 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Lewes Town Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shelleys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shelleys

Property: The Shelleys
Address: 135 High Street, Lewes BN7 1XS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Lewes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Lewes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Shelleys 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step off the historic High Street in the beautiful county town of Lewes and into the peaceful tranquility of The Shelleys; an elegantly sublime 17th Century, family-run, country house hotel. The Shelleys offers discreet service, with high standards, within a uniquely calm ambience, with friendly staff who anticipate your every need. With nineteen luxury boutique rooms, all en-suite, each designed and decorated to reflect our Georgian origins and fitted with a television and Wi-Fi access; The Shelleys perfectly combines English tradition with contemporary luxury. Dating back to 1588, The Shelleys is a grade II* listed property – falling into the 4% bracket viewed as a “particularly important building of more than special interest” by English Heritage… Located close to Brighton and Eastbourne, this East Sussex hotel is the perfect venue for a change of scene. Whether it’s a weekend of rest and relaxation, a romantic break, or a base from which to explore the surrounding historical town and South Downs, you’ll find your every need is anticipated at The Shelleys. The a la carte lunch and dinner menu is available in the stylish award-winning Apostrophe Restaurant or on the brick-paved terrace overlooking our beautiful gardens. Morning Coffee & Afternoon Tea, Drinks and Bar Lunches are also available throughout the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Shelleys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Shelleys Hotel Lewes
Shelleys Hotel Lewes
Hotel Shelleys
The Shelleys Lewes, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing