We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, friendly staff, lovely building”
Review of The Shelleys

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Shelleys
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Lewes
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Comfortable, friendly staff, lovely building”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Situated in a wonderful old building, we had most comfortable stay in a cold week in January. Our standard room, at the back of the hotel was very clean with nice furniture and a view of Lewes castle. The sitting room and dining room are elegant, though the bar room is rather gloomy. Maid service was very efficient and the staff were all helpful and friendly. We had a very good stay and would recommend Shelleys.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJennings_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Shelleys, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
What a super review and thank you so much for visiting us from Buckinghamshire and your kind remarks. We are working on a plan for the bar to try and lift things a little so your comments are well timed

Natalie and her staff are really excited about the potential for The Shelleys - surely the Grande Dame of Lewes High Street - and hopefully we can see you back before too long

With renewed thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    99
    59
    34
    26
See reviews for
40
197
17
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Barry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

We've just enjoyed an impromptu one night getaway at the Shelley's and from booking over the phone and throughout our short stay we can't fault anything. The room was lovely especially as we were upgraded and enjoyed garden views in a suite. The staff we encountered were all friendly, welcoming and professional. We didn't eat in the restaurant in the evening but the breakfast was excellent. Beautiful building and despite age and character no discomfort - better shower than many modern hotels. All in all a lovely stay and would happily return.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank sarahw625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Shelleys, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
What a first review of the New Year and thank you so much. Natalie has recently joined us as General Manager so this is just what the doctor ordered. She and her team are over the moon

Hopefully you will be able to make another impromptu visit from Wales very soon

Meanwhile, all the best for 2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

I stayed here in the summer of 2013 for a Glyndebourne trip. Double room for single occupancy at a rate of £140 room only. Bathrobes were promised on the website but none in the room. When requested I was told that guests found them too hot in the summer so they were not provided. This turned out to be a blatant fib, since friends staying in a deluxe room had them and gave me one for my own use.

The room and bathroom were a good size and well appointed. The bed was comfortable but the pillows were horrible, hard ones of the non-feather variety. I was informed by the receptionist that the owner did not allow them to provide feather pillows. So - take your own, prospective guest!

Very good breakfast, pleasant garden and bar and ample parking. Taxi to Glyndebourne will set you back £14-20 return...... Or you can walk to the station and get the Glyndebourne shuttle bus for free!

Would go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank phillip_a_48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Shelleys, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
We appreciate the positive aspects of this review though have no intention of commenting on the "tongue in cheek" sentiments regarding the bath robes and pillows. The passage of time since the guests' stay is also noted
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We stayed at Shelleys again to visit relations. Shelleys is a very quiet comfortable hotel . We had a superior room, lots of space and a good sized bathroom/shower. Shelleys is well located on the Main Street just far enough from the centre to be quiet but in easy walking distance. There is parking at Shelleys which is a big plus in Lewes as parking is VERY tightly controlled.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob186225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Shelleys, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
This was a great review and you have hit the nail on the head. The staff are tickled pink and what a way to start December

The Shelleys is a super hotel and we are really excited with the holiday season upon us and our new manager starting in a couple of weeks

Hopefully we can see you back from The Fens before too long and renewed thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
102 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

I stayed here for a night recently - room only (no dinner or breakfast). It's a lovely old building with around 20 rooms. The receptionist was very efficient and helpful. Parking on site is limited but free, with a permit issued by the hotel. It's a bit of a rabbit warren upstairs but that adds to the charm. I was in room 15, in a wing round the back of the hotel with a view of a lovely garden. Unfortunately the room was slightly tired and felt dated. The bed was very comfortable though, and overall it was clean and pleasant. Only other gripe is that the walls must be very thin - I could hear the couple's conversation next door in the morning! I didn't try the bar, restaurant or stay for breakfast so I can't comment on these.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teamlines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Shelleys, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
We appreciate this review and your custom. Hopefully when you next visit Shelleys you will be able to join us in The Apostrophe and try some of Chef Chris top quality cuisine

Over the winter we will be making various upgrades which our guests will hopefully appreciate

With renewed thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I kept expecting to bump into Becky Sharp as I moved around this delightful hotel. The hotel retains its Georgian feel down stairs whilst the bedrooms have a delicious feeling of comfort and luxury, with very good bathrooms and comfortable beds. The dining room is most attractive and the waiting staff are lovely. In general I found the food to be excellent, with plentiful and delicious breakfasts. I recommend the muesli. The food in the evening was really good, delicious and creative. After dinner, the sitting room is warm and cosy (but the expensive bar is a dreadful, gloomy room with depressing furniture and awful lighting).
There is only one real fault with the hotel and that is the price. it is just too expensive for its amenities. It charges the kind of money (approx £160 B&B for a double room; much, much more for a superior room) that could be expected for a real country house hotel, which it is not, or one which also had a health club, which it has not. This hotel, much like Becky Sharp, is pretty, but it does come at a price!

Room Tip: Room 6 was a really lovely room, whereas room 7, whilst delightfully decorated and very spacious, lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarratttraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Shelleys, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
We really appreciated this review and your kind comments

While we loved the references to Vanity Fair, the Shelleys strives to provide value for money. Even so your thoughs are appreciated and hopefully we can welcome you back before too long
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Having stayed many years ago, this hotel and restaurant still retained the qualities and ambience I recalled. The building is typically Georgian with adequate parking at the side. The reception and downstairs retains a traditional feel and atmosphere, staff being accommodating. The rooms are well provided, and roomy with the facilities one would expect in a traditional regional hotel. The breakfast is excellent offering good range of menus, whilst dinner is also well presented and imaginative. All in all cannot be faulted, and prices are reasonable for a regional hotel. Highly recommended. The location is also ideal to walk from into Lewes which offers a tourist fantastic buildings, history and facilities. Also ideal for taxi or drive to Glynbourne opera if staying for this seasonal event.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonE1506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Shelleys, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
We loved this review and the warmth of your remarks. Hopefully your next visit from Australia will not be so many years apart. Shelleys has a great deal to offer and reviews like yours make everything worthwhile

Lewes is a super place and something of a hidden gem

Renewed thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewes
0.3 mi away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#3 of 8 in Lewes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
2.0 mi away
Newmarket Inn
Newmarket Inn
#5 of 8 in Lewes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.3 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#7 of 8 in Lewes
3.0 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
East Sussex National
East Sussex National
#1 of 2 in Little Horsted
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
6.4 mi away
Horsted Place
Horsted Place
#2 of 2 in Little Horsted
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Lewes Town Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shelleys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shelleys

Property: The Shelleys
Address: 135 High Street, Lewes BN7 1XS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Lewes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Lewes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Shelleys 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step off the historic High Street in the beautiful county town of Lewes and into the peaceful tranquility of The Shelleys; an elegantly sublime 17th Century, family-run, country house hotel. The Shelleys offers discreet service, with high standards, within a uniquely calm ambience, with friendly staff who anticipate your every need. With nineteen luxury boutique rooms, all en-suite, each designed and decorated to reflect our Georgian origins and fitted with a television and Wi-Fi access; The Shelleys perfectly combines English tradition with contemporary luxury. Dating back to 1588, The Shelleys is a grade II* listed property – falling into the 4% bracket viewed as a “particularly important building of more than special interest” by English Heritage… Located close to Brighton and Eastbourne, this East Sussex hotel is the perfect venue for a change of scene. Whether it’s a weekend of rest and relaxation, a romantic break, or a base from which to explore the surrounding historical town and South Downs, you’ll find your every need is anticipated at The Shelleys. The a la carte lunch and dinner menu is available in the stylish award-winning Apostrophe Restaurant or on the brick-paved terrace overlooking our beautiful gardens. Morning Coffee & Afternoon Tea, Drinks and Bar Lunches are also available throughout the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your The Shelleys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Shelleys Hotel Lewes
Shelleys Hotel Lewes
Hotel Shelleys
The Shelleys Lewes, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing