We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and tidy; perhaps a little faded”
Review of The Shelleys

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Shelleys
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lewes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We stayed here for a couple of nights and it was a comfortable base for our trips out. The room was clean and tidy as was the bathroom. The latter, clad from floor to ceiling in black and white tiles was a little startling in the mornings! The place is very pleasant but looking a little tired in places. Overall good value for money though. The pub just up the hill (Craven Arms I think) is a good place for food.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gritstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Shelleys, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

We appreciate your writing, more so given your illustrious output as a Trip Advisor reviewer

The Shelleys has so much to offer even if you found the bathroom tiles a little bold! Over the coming months we have in place various improvements to further enhance the hotel and in particular some of the quality soft furnishings which are due a little restoration

Hopefully we can see you back before too long - you must try our Apostrophe Restaurant which has a great range of a la carte dishes with locally sourced produce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (407)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 407 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2014

This was a great hotel with excellent room and food of a high standard too. All staff were very professional and friendly, it was very quiet when I was there but I am sure service would be equally good if it were busy. It's not a modern hotel, more a comfortable country house in the middle of town. My room had quality furniture, good bathroom and comfy bed. The only thing that could be improved is the terrible hair dryer attached to the wall in the bathroom. A hand held with good drying power is what's required.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Shelleys, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Thank you so much for visiting us from Exeter and taking the time to record such a positive review. Natalie and her team are on cloud nine as a result and are looking forward to your next visit

The Shelleys is something of an oasis along Lewes High Street and has a great deal to offer, as does the town itself

Renewed thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We stayed here a full four weeks while work was being done on our new house and we were sorry when the time came to leave. We had come to think of it as home. The people who work here - the cleaners, the bar and restaurant staff, reception and management - are wonderful without exception, and became like a family. Some have been here for a very long time and that kind of loyalty tells you much about the character of the place. It's natural and individual, quite distinct from the modern style of "bijou" hotel which has had the life squeezed out of it by design consultants. Every room is different and if you come regularly you can have fun choosing your favourite. We stayed in the suite at the far end of an intricate route that takes you through over four centuries of architectural history. The building itself is a joy. The food is excellent too. If you can't stay, at least call in to the splendid lounge for afternoon tea and enjoy the chef's homemade cakes and biscuits. We never intended to stay so long but the work took longer than expected and we would never have anticipated enjoying the time so much. We were genuinely sorry to leave and will keep in touch with those who we now regard as friends.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gevrey99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Shelleys, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

This is possibly the finest review we have ever received for the Shelleys and has made our day in so many ways. The long-serving members of staff are really touched and the whole team are surely on cloud nine given your generous praise

Hopefully when you are settled in your new home you can visit us again and perhaps enjoy an afternoon cream tea or dinner

With renewed thanks for your custom and delightful review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I absolutely love The Shelleys. It has a beautiful sun trap garden that is never busy, it's my favourite place to have lunch in Lewes.

The staff are very welcoming and friendly even if you are not staying at the hotel and the food is great, they do excellent sandwiches, cream teas and cake. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eyesnight00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Shelleys, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

What a delightful review and thank you so much

Shelleys has a rich history going back over several hundred years and has so much to offer, as indeed does Lewes. Natalie and her team are over the moon having read this and are really looking forward to your next visit

Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We stayed one night here and found it ideal.

It was quiet and comfortable. It is on the main road but the traffic noise did not intrude.

The bed was very good and we slept well.

We had the continental breakfast and the Bircher muesli with the addition of spiced fruits was perfect.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingTinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Shelleys, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

What a great review, thank you. Chef Chris and his team were delighted to read about the breakfast with our new continental option attracting positive comments

As a senior reviewer your affirmation means so much and hopefully we can see you back before too long

Renewed thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We really enjoyed our four-night stay. Everything was as it should be, and the staff were very friendly and helpful without being at all intrusive. Our room (2) was very spacious and comfortable, and the bathroom was particularly roomy, which makes a great change from so many hotels. There are pros and cons with a buffet breakfast, and it was refreshing to be served completely, although of course you do have to be patient. But such tasty dishes as sliced mango with lime syrup and fresh fruit with honey and yogurt, apart from the full range of cooked items - all excellent. I really enjoyed haddock with poached egg. And the coffee was good, which makes a pleasant change.

Lewes was much bigger than I had realised. Anne of Cleves House and the Castle/Museum were both well worth visiting. We didn't eat dinner in the hotel. Bill's, about 15 mins walk along the High Street was especially good.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heatheruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Shelleys, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Thank you for such a positive and warm review for both our lovely hotel and historic Lewes. Both have a great deal to offer

Natalie and her team are delighted by your comments - Shelleys breakfast is all about savouring "the most important meal of the day" though we are in the throes of putting together a "lighter" option for those guests who have less time and especially our business patrons

Hopefully we can see you back as the year unfolds and tempt you to dinner in our Apostrophe restaurant. Chef Chris has some super dishes

Renewed thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

I've stayed at the Shelley's many times and have always been so impressed at how perfect they have always made my stay but my last stay was below par and whilst it was ok it just wasn't up to its usual standard. Central heating kept me awake most of the night and it would have been helpful if there had been instructions on how to make it quiet. Breakfast which is usually superb arrived luke warm with hard poached eggs. However, we are all entitled to an off day and now I know about the heating I'll know what to do next time I'm in the noisy room :)

Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Michelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Shelleys, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

This review is puzzling as our central heating powers down at 11pm sharp and does not come on again until the morning. Similarly, our kitchen staff taken great care with the breakfast as it is such an important part of the Shelleys experience. We have no record of any food being sent back or feedback from this guest on the day in question

Having said this, of course we value feedback from our regular patrons and greatly appreciate their custom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewes
0.3 mi away
Pelham House Hotel
2.1 mi away
Newmarket Inn
Newmarket Inn
#4 of 7 in Lewes
261 reviews
6.4 mi away
Horsted Place
Horsted Place
#2 of 2 in Little Horsted
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7 mi away
The Forge
The Forge
#1 of 1 in Halland
176 reviews
6.9 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,260 reviews
8.1 mi away
Imperial
Imperial
#27 of 43 in Brighton
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shelleys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shelleys

Address: 135 High Street, Lewes BN7 1XS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Lewes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lewes
Price Range: £85 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Shelleys 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step off the historic High Street in the beautiful county town of Lewes and into the peaceful tranquility of The Shelleys; an elegantly sublime 17th Century, family-run, country house hotel. The Shelleys offers discreet service, with high standards, within a uniquely calm ambience, with friendly staff who anticipate your every need. With nineteen luxury boutique rooms, all en-suite, each designed and decorated to reflect our Georgian origins and fitted with a television and Wi-Fi access; The Shelleys perfectly combines English tradition with contemporary luxury. Dating back to 1588, The Shelleys is a grade II* listed property – falling into the 4% bracket viewed as a “particularly important building of more than special interest” by English Heritage… Located close to Brighton and Eastbourne, this East Sussex hotel is the perfect venue for a change of scene. Whether it’s a weekend of rest and relaxation, a romantic break, or a base from which to explore the surrounding historical town and South Downs, you’ll find your every need is anticipated at The Shelleys. The a la carte lunch and dinner menu is available in the stylish award-winning Apostrophe Restaurant or on the brick-paved terrace overlooking our beautiful gardens. Morning Coffee & Afternoon Tea, Drinks and Bar Lunches are also available throughout the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your The Shelleys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Shelleys Hotel Lewes
Shelleys Hotel Lewes
Hotel Shelleys
The Shelleys Lewes, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing