We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, just a little frayed around the edges...”
Review of The Shelleys

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Shelleys
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lewes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Stayed for one night. Fantastic location, friendly service, comfy bed and very clean. A décor a little tired in places. Lovely building with great history. Breakfast was good. Could do with a better tea/coffee tray in bedroom. Own car park - which is a big plus!
We would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Garden facing rooms are nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JReevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Shelleys, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

From such a senior Trip Advisor reviewer we greatly appreciate your input and are delighted you enjoyed your stay. As you say Shelleys has so much to offer and sits comfortably in its surroundings

We will very shortly be attending to the points you mention in terms of refurbishing the soft furnishings, having sourced a local craftsman for this important work

Hopefully we can see you back at The Shelleys before too long and meanwhile renewed thanks for your support

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (407)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

207 - 213 of 407 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2014

A very pleasant stay in a quaint interesting small town with a great "High St." The Shelleys is very conveniently situated in the High St. but in the quiet more residential part of town. The atmosphere in the Hotel is very friendly thanks to the staff and the chef must be complimented on the food which was very tasteful and beautifully presented. The dining room together with it's crisp white tablecloths added to the ambience and made it a delight to eat in. The beds were very comfortable and our room overlooking the garden added to our enjoyment. We would definitely stay here again if in this area.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Shelleys, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

What a super review and just what the doctor ordered before the Easter holidays

Chef Chris and his team are over the moon and the Shelleys is purring with delight too. Lewes and the hotel both have a great deal to offer and hopefully we can see you back, from across the border, before too long

Renewed thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

deally situated almost in the centre of Lewes this is an ideal location for a weekend in this lovely part of Southern England. as its own carpark which is a boon in this town with its many attractions.
The Shelleys has real history and was modernised in 2003. nfortunately it is beginning to show its age and needs some cosmetic updating to make it excellent.
We ate in the restuarant both evenings and found the cuisine falling between nouveau cuisine and good country house cooking. It wasn't quite sure what it was trying to be.
Service was a little variable but the staff friendly and as helpful as can be.
Rooms were fine but its well worth paying the little extra for the deluxe rooms which are almost suites.
We would go there again and recommend it for a short stay.

Room Tip: Go for the upgrade - its worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Shelleys, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Thank you for visiting us from Coventry and for your thoughtful assessment, more so as an important reviewer with Trip Advisor

We have a program in place to attend to the issues you mention with the hotel an ongoing labour of love given its rich history and age. Natalie and her team love the Shelleys and as you say, it is ideally located with ample parking in our beautiful town

The next phase of our improvement program is to restore to their former glory the soft furnishings so hopefully you will notice further changes when you next visit

Renewed thanks and best wishes for Easter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We stayed here for a couple of nights and it was a comfortable base for our trips out. The room was clean and tidy as was the bathroom. The latter, clad from floor to ceiling in black and white tiles was a little startling in the mornings! The place is very pleasant but looking a little tired in places. Overall good value for money though. The pub just up the hill (Craven Arms I think) is a good place for food.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gritstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Shelleys, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

We appreciate your writing, more so given your illustrious output as a Trip Advisor reviewer

The Shelleys has so much to offer even if you found the bathroom tiles a little bold! Over the coming months we have in place various improvements to further enhance the hotel and in particular some of the quality soft furnishings which are due a little restoration

Hopefully we can see you back before too long - you must try our Apostrophe Restaurant which has a great range of a la carte dishes with locally sourced produce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

This was a great hotel with excellent room and food of a high standard too. All staff were very professional and friendly, it was very quiet when I was there but I am sure service would be equally good if it were busy. It's not a modern hotel, more a comfortable country house in the middle of town. My room had quality furniture, good bathroom and comfy bed. The only thing that could be improved is the terrible hair dryer attached to the wall in the bathroom. A hand held with good drying power is what's required.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Shelleys, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Thank you so much for visiting us from Exeter and taking the time to record such a positive review. Natalie and her team are on cloud nine as a result and are looking forward to your next visit

The Shelleys is something of an oasis along Lewes High Street and has a great deal to offer, as does the town itself

Renewed thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We stayed here a full four weeks while work was being done on our new house and we were sorry when the time came to leave. We had come to think of it as home. The people who work here - the cleaners, the bar and restaurant staff, reception and management - are wonderful without exception, and became like a family. Some have been here for a very long time and that kind of loyalty tells you much about the character of the place. It's natural and individual, quite distinct from the modern style of "bijou" hotel which has had the life squeezed out of it by design consultants. Every room is different and if you come regularly you can have fun choosing your favourite. We stayed in the suite at the far end of an intricate route that takes you through over four centuries of architectural history. The building itself is a joy. The food is excellent too. If you can't stay, at least call in to the splendid lounge for afternoon tea and enjoy the chef's homemade cakes and biscuits. We never intended to stay so long but the work took longer than expected and we would never have anticipated enjoying the time so much. We were genuinely sorry to leave and will keep in touch with those who we now regard as friends.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gevrey99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Shelleys, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

This is possibly the finest review we have ever received for the Shelleys and has made our day in so many ways. The long-serving members of staff are really touched and the whole team are surely on cloud nine given your generous praise

Hopefully when you are settled in your new home you can visit us again and perhaps enjoy an afternoon cream tea or dinner

With renewed thanks for your custom and delightful review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I absolutely love The Shelleys. It has a beautiful sun trap garden that is never busy, it's my favourite place to have lunch in Lewes.

The staff are very welcoming and friendly even if you are not staying at the hotel and the food is great, they do excellent sandwiches, cream teas and cake. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eyesnight00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Shelleys, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

What a delightful review and thank you so much

Shelleys has a rich history going back over several hundred years and has so much to offer, as indeed does Lewes. Natalie and her team are over the moon having read this and are really looking forward to your next visit

Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewes
0.3 mi away
Pelham House Hotel
2.1 mi away
Newmarket Inn
Newmarket Inn
#4 of 7 in Lewes
261 reviews
6.4 mi away
Horsted Place
Horsted Place
#2 of 2 in Little Horsted
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7 mi away
The Forge
The Forge
#1 of 1 in Halland
176 reviews
6.9 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,260 reviews
8.1 mi away
Imperial
Imperial
#27 of 43 in Brighton
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shelleys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shelleys

Address: 135 High Street, Lewes BN7 1XS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Lewes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lewes
Price Range: £85 - £228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Shelleys 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step off the historic High Street in the beautiful county town of Lewes and into the peaceful tranquility of The Shelleys; an elegantly sublime 17th Century, family-run, country house hotel. The Shelleys offers discreet service, with high standards, within a uniquely calm ambience, with friendly staff who anticipate your every need. With nineteen luxury boutique rooms, all en-suite, each designed and decorated to reflect our Georgian origins and fitted with a television and Wi-Fi access; The Shelleys perfectly combines English tradition with contemporary luxury. Dating back to 1588, The Shelleys is a grade II* listed property – falling into the 4% bracket viewed as a “particularly important building of more than special interest” by English Heritage… Located close to Brighton and Eastbourne, this East Sussex hotel is the perfect venue for a change of scene. Whether it’s a weekend of rest and relaxation, a romantic break, or a base from which to explore the surrounding historical town and South Downs, you’ll find your every need is anticipated at The Shelleys. The a la carte lunch and dinner menu is available in the stylish award-winning Apostrophe Restaurant or on the brick-paved terrace overlooking our beautiful gardens. Morning Coffee & Afternoon Tea, Drinks and Bar Lunches are also available throughout the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your The Shelleys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Shelleys Hotel Lewes
Shelleys Hotel Lewes
Hotel Shelleys
The Shelleys Lewes, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing