We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Wedding Venue!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Shelleys

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Shelleys
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Lewes
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfect Wedding Venue!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

We were lucky enough to have our wedding reception at The Shelleys Hotel in March 2014.

The planning and organisation by the team for the 12 months leading up to our big day was amazing.

Our party of 60 were looked after from the moment we arrived after our church wedding right through to the end of the evening. Many of our guests stayed at the hotel over our wedding weekend and the rooms, including our honeymoon suite were fantastic. The service from all the staff on the day was impeccable. The wedding breakfast was perfect with great food, which was commented on by all. The evening buffet was also of a high standard.

The position of the hotel at the top of Lewes high street is ideal, with plenty of parking for all our guests. Having guests from all over the country it was a great place for them to explore before and after the wedding day.

We couldn't have asked or hoped for any better and The Shelleys with all its amazing history, will always be a special place to us. We are looking forward to visiting the Shelleys again for our 1st anniversary!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank trendy_traveller86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Shelleys, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Goodness me, what a wonderful review and thank you so much

Natalie and her team were so pleased that they were able to help make your special day even better. Even the hotel itself is purring with delight and we are really looking forward to welcoming you back for your first anniversary

Looking after guests of your standing and kindness makes everything worthwhile
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    97
    59
    34
    26
See reviews for
39
195
17
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

I had the pleasure of staying overnight in Lewes and so glad I chose The Shelley's. Rooms are clean and spacious, staff are friendly and helpful, especially Jacque the receptionist. The afternoon tea in the gardens was sublime. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andykickit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Shelleys, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
We really appreciate this delightful review and thank you so much for your support of both the Shelleys and Lewes. Jacque is,needless to say, now on Cloud Nine

Afternoon cream tea at the Shelleys is such a guilty pleasure and hopefully we can tempt you again very soon

Thanks too for the lovely photos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

We came to Shelly's on Sunday, the staff could not be more helpful. We have a dog and wanted to have some lunch and the staff allowed him in the bar and even came him some water.

The food was amazing and the presentation was lovely.

Staff were so friendly and kind! Would go back any day for lunch or an evening meal! Thank you


Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Clairebassett26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Shelleys, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
We are so pleased you enjoyed your Sunday lunch and thank you for positing such a delightful review

Hopefully we can see you back again before too long or perhaps for dinner as Chef Chris has some beautiful food for you to enjoy

Renewed thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel charges £6 for a coffee !!! I strongly advise anyone wanting to meet friends fo a drink to avoid it at all costs. Its utterly disgusting. And the customer service is apalling. They are rude and arrogant and inept, and unwilling to provide reasonable resolution to perfectly justified complaints. DO NOT go to this hotel !!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Miles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Shelleys, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
This review is complete nonsense and not from one of our valued patrons. As with the price of anything, if the customer feels uncomfortable in paying, they should not partake

Representing our 200th review our earnest wish would have been for something meaningful
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

The room had mould growing on walls in the bedroom and bathroom. The shower ran luke warm. Breakfast was served up until 9.30 am, even at the weekend. After that no food was on offer. We were not made aware of this, however we still had to pay the full room with breakfast price when checking out. The receptionist was extremely rude and unhelpful when we disputed this and actually told my partner to stop talking when discussing. The service was terrible. I would not stay here again. Value for money was very bad. That said, the location is excellent.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank English1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Shelleys, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
This review does not make sense on a number of fronts and as such it is hard for us to comment meaningfully. As the vast majority of our reviewers have been kind enough to confirm, the Shelleys offers something different in the delightful town of Lewes and has a committed team

We have plans afoot to further improve the hotel and sincerely hope our guests will notice these enhancements in the months ahead
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreham-by-Sea, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed here on a one night break on easter sunday as a treat. Whilst it was nice it could have been better if the service had been better. When we checked in we had to wait 10-15 minutes whilst the receptionist was trying to sort out a problem with the computer accounts system on the phone, which made us feel a little second best in line of importance. The room was nice with a lovely view. A minor gripe was there were no decaff teabags to be found in the hotel and the kettle didn't work properly. When we asked about either no replacement could be found!
When we went down to dinner we were the first in the dining room and it was obvious that it was only one waitress on her own. Another two couples came into the dining room and were served with bread rolls before us and when we had asked for some on the third occasion we got a very terse response. The whole thing became a little comical with the other guests laughing and making comments. The starter were nice, but when my wife pointed out a large bone in the rabbit and mushroom soup, there was virtually no acknowledgement and it wasn't dealt with. The drinks we also ordered were wrong and had to be corrected. The actual food was lovely and the desserts were excellent, however it was spoilt by the service and If it gets to the point where I have to ask my wife to bite her tongue then something is clearly not right.

It was a good nights sleep, with breakfast in bed and a paper ordered. The paper didn't arrive with the breakfast (which I understand was the fault of the newsagents not the hotel) But when it did arrive it was simply left outside our door so we didn't find it until we were leaving.

We did make some constructive comments upon leaving, but felt that it wasn't really taken on board, as there always seemed to be a reason why something had happened, rather than a simple apology.

Finally the bill was incorrect with items on that we had not had, and unfortunately the receptionist struggled with the computer system again to correct it, taking a long time to check out.

It was a lovely clean hotel, with lovely gardens, parking and lots of character, however its the little touches in service that make the difference. Whilst we appreciate the staff may have been short because of the easter weekend (although not our fault as we're not paying for a reduced service) a smile or a simple apology costs nothing and goes a long way

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Shelleys, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you for leaving such a detailed review and please accept our apologies that you found aspects of your stay challenging

Shelleys has a great deal to offer and while our new manager Natalie and her team are making strong progress as recent reviews here confirm, there is always scope to do better and in so doing deliver a top notch service

In thanking you for your custom we hope you will be able to favour Shelleys with another visit in the fullness of time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Stayed for one night. Fantastic location, friendly service, comfy bed and very clean. A décor a little tired in places. Lovely building with great history. Breakfast was good. Could do with a better tea/coffee tray in bedroom. Own car park - which is a big plus!
We would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Garden facing rooms are nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JReevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Shelleys, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
From such a senior Trip Advisor reviewer we greatly appreciate your input and are delighted you enjoyed your stay. As you say Shelleys has so much to offer and sits comfortably in its surroundings

We will very shortly be attending to the points you mention in terms of refurbishing the soft furnishings, having sourced a local craftsman for this important work

Hopefully we can see you back at The Shelleys before too long and meanwhile renewed thanks for your support
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewes
0.3 mi away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#3 of 8 in Lewes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
2.0 mi away
Newmarket Inn
Newmarket Inn
#4 of 8 in Lewes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.3 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#7 of 8 in Lewes
3.0 of 5 bubbles 918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
East Sussex National
East Sussex National
#1 of 2 in Little Horsted
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
6.4 mi away
Horsted Place
Horsted Place
#2 of 2 in Little Horsted
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Lewes Town Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shelleys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shelleys

Property: The Shelleys
Address: 135 High Street, Lewes BN7 1XS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Lewes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Lewes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Shelleys 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step off the historic High Street in the beautiful county town of Lewes and into the peaceful tranquility of The Shelleys; an elegantly sublime 17th Century, family-run, country house hotel. The Shelleys offers discreet service, with high standards, within a uniquely calm ambience, with friendly staff who anticipate your every need. With nineteen luxury boutique rooms, all en-suite, each designed and decorated to reflect our Georgian origins and fitted with a television and Wi-Fi access; The Shelleys perfectly combines English tradition with contemporary luxury. Dating back to 1588, The Shelleys is a grade II* listed property – falling into the 4% bracket viewed as a “particularly important building of more than special interest” by English Heritage… Located close to Brighton and Eastbourne, this East Sussex hotel is the perfect venue for a change of scene. Whether it’s a weekend of rest and relaxation, a romantic break, or a base from which to explore the surrounding historical town and South Downs, you’ll find your every need is anticipated at The Shelleys. The a la carte lunch and dinner menu is available in the stylish award-winning Apostrophe Restaurant or on the brick-paved terrace overlooking our beautiful gardens. Morning Coffee & Afternoon Tea, Drinks and Bar Lunches are also available throughout the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Shelleys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Shelleys Hotel Lewes
Shelleys Hotel Lewes
Hotel Shelleys
The Shelleys Lewes, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing