We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful weekend.”
Review of The Shelleys

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Shelleys
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lewes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We have just returned home to Yorkshire from our daughters wedding at The Shelleys. The staff were attentive and most helpful in catering for my husband who is disabled.Our room was very comfortable with a huge bed and fine quality bed linen.The bathroom was spacious,clean and contained everything we required The food was delicious and great care was shown by all the staff setting up the rooms for the wedding,so that they were exactly as we had envisaged. The Shelleys is a wonderful historic building,with a delightful aura of faded splendour...... which is just the way it should be. A stay at The Shelleys proved to be cosseting,,calm,unhurried and reminiscent of a bygone age. If you want flat pack furniture and buffet meals then I suggest you book in at a Travel Lodge !!! We had a marvellous weekend ,the sun shone and everyone thoroughly enjoyed themselves.Natalie was kindness itself and couldn't have done more to make our special day perfect. I think she deserves a rise !!! Thank you all.

Room Tip: No ground floor bedrooms and no lift, Room 4 is the nearest room just at the top of the stairs. Plen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grannyang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Shelleys, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

We were humbled to receive such a thoughtful review and thank you so much. Needless to say, Natalie and her team were delighted that they could contribute in such a positive way to your daughter's special day

Shelleys has a great deal to offer and hopefully we can see you back before too long as we cannot wait to host you both again. You were stellar guests

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (403)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 403 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014

The location of the hotel is close to the Castle and on the extended High Street. However, it is quite a walk uphill from the station and a taxi is recommended if a train is used. This is a small hotel in a period building ...obviously once a grand private residence...with ample parking and a spacious lawn. Inside it becomes dispiriting and unwelcoming with poor quality furnishings and pictures in the publication areas. Only the fine stone floor gave hope of better things above. The bar is especially uninviting although the young German waitress was friendly and helpful. The bedroom we were allocated was acceptable although American guests would certainly find the double bed small. The adjacent bathroom was dated but clean and functional.

We asked about things to do in the area but the advice given on times for visiting the Castle...almost next door...was wrong.

The real disappointment came in the morning when the breakfast was very poor. And then, to cap a disappointing visit, when checking out, the manager denied all knowledge of loud noises from an adjacent room which affected our room in the late evening and early morning. This was rather like a mixture of an industrial scale coffee grinder mixed with a faulty old gurgling washing machine jumping up and down and on its last legs, and must have been audible in the reception below as well as our room. This hotel was not full and we should obviously have been put into a better and quieter room.

We left resolved not to return. This was not a happy hotel in spite of the valiant efforts by the waitress.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BudapestDavidandKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Shelleys, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

While we always appreciate hearing from senior and such prolific Trip Advisor reviewers naturally I am disheartened to read some of your comments. Unfortunately on check out you were not able to speak with our general manager Natalie so she was denied the chance of reaching out to you and gaining a better understanding of your concerns

The Shelleys sits comfortably in her surroundings and being a Grade II listed building, dating back to the Sixteenth century, she has her secrets and it may be that a temporary air lock was at play regarding the plumbing. Room Three however is one of our most popular and we must perhaps take issue with your remarks regarding the furniture as the overwhelming majority of guests say how well they accessorise the building

Feedback from guests is always valued and the opportunity it gives us to learn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

A stunning georgian building on Lewes high street. The staff couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful, particularly the lovely lady on reception who made me feel so welcome when I arrived.

Beautiful building and lovely large oak panelled bedroom. Comfy bed. Fast free WiFi

Very good breakfast with helpful friendly waiter.

Excellent value for money - I paid £90 for the room with free parking. A really good grand old English hotel in a beautiful location. Thank you. :-)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 634Ian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Shelleys, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Goodness me, what a wonderful first review for this month and thank you so much

Jacque on reception is absolutely tickled pink and really nice to have such positive feedback from a new Shelleys customer. Hopefully we can see you back before too long as both the hotel and our beautiful town have a great deal to offer

Renewed thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This hotel was a bit on the pricey side but was nice. Friendly staff and very helpful. The room was a bit dark, nice big windows, it was just the impression I got, perhaps the furnishings were a bit on the dark side. Bed comfy which is the main thing I guess.

Breakfast was lovely, good choice but it's one of those hotels where you feel you have to be quiet despite the super cheerful waiter.

Nice hotel just not our cup of tea.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Shelleys, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Many thanks for your feedback and really pleased you enjoyed your getaway to Lewes

As you say, the Shelleys has a great deal to offer and benefits from 19 individually designed bedrooms so please let us know the style of room you would like to try when you next visit. We want to make your next visit even better

Renewed thanks for your custom and kind words

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

A wonderful welcome in a very traditional town. Rooms are great we had a double just perfect. Breakfast was timely even under pressure.
Only thing that let us down was the bathroom was a little small though everything did what it was supposed to.
Morning staff need to a little less stuffy as getting room numbers is important, not many who stay there wont have already paid for breakfast. And well done on managing things when they went wrong.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a good bathroom, ours was very small
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NSS225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Shelleys, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

We always welcome feedback from senior Trip Advisor reviewers and thank you for such a succinct and balanced report. We will ensure our waiting staff are aware that if they do need to ask for information, this is done sympathetically. As you rightly say, with all of Shelleys 19 bedrooms bespoke it is important the guest lets us know what will make their stay extra special

Natalie and her team were skipping for joy having read your comments and it is great that Glyndebourne is up and running for the new season with some amazing performances lined up, all this in their 80th year

Renewed thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This was our third stay at Shelleys. As usual we were made most welcome by all the staff. The room was delightful overlooking the garden. Nice bathroom with really powerful shower. We ate in the restaurant one night and were provided with impressive food and friendly service. The breakfasts are all cooked to order. All this and free parking too!
Lewes is a lovely town with many places to visit and many independent shops.
I thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone who appreciates quality and good service. Needless to say we will be staying again.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the garden are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Shelleys, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Thank you for such a warm and heartfelt review. We are already looking forward to your next visit and really appreciate such a positive affirmation of both the Hotel and our lovely town

The staff are over the moon too and with good reason as nothing makes them happier than appreciative customers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

We were lucky enough to have our wedding reception at The Shelleys Hotel in March 2014.

The planning and organisation by the team for the 12 months leading up to our big day was amazing.

Our party of 60 were looked after from the moment we arrived after our church wedding right through to the end of the evening. Many of our guests stayed at the hotel over our wedding weekend and the rooms, including our honeymoon suite were fantastic. The service from all the staff on the day was impeccable. The wedding breakfast was perfect with great food, which was commented on by all. The evening buffet was also of a high standard.

The position of the hotel at the top of Lewes high street is ideal, with plenty of parking for all our guests. Having guests from all over the country it was a great place for them to explore before and after the wedding day.

We couldn't have asked or hoped for any better and The Shelleys with all its amazing history, will always be a special place to us. We are looking forward to visiting the Shelleys again for our 1st anniversary!

Stayed: March 2014
Thank trendy_traveller86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Shelleys, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Goodness me, what a wonderful review and thank you so much

Natalie and her team were so pleased that they were able to help make your special day even better. Even the hotel itself is purring with delight and we are really looking forward to welcoming you back for your first anniversary

Looking after guests of your standing and kindness makes everything worthwhile

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewes
0.3 mi away
Pelham House Hotel
2.1 mi away
Newmarket Inn
Newmarket Inn
#4 of 7 in Lewes
260 reviews
7 mi away
The Forge
The Forge
#1 of 1 in Halland
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Imperial
Imperial
#27 of 43 in Brighton
599 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Courtlands Hotel
The Courtlands Hotel
#31 of 43 in Brighton
481 reviews
8.3 mi away
Langfords Hotel
Langfords Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hove
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shelleys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shelleys

Address: 135 High Street, Lewes BN7 1XS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Lewes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lewes
Price Range: £78 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Shelleys 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step off the historic High Street in the beautiful county town of Lewes and into the peaceful tranquility of The Shelleys; an elegantly sublime 17th Century, family-run, country house hotel. The Shelleys offers discreet service, with high standards, within a uniquely calm ambience, with friendly staff who anticipate your every need. With nineteen luxury boutique rooms, all en-suite, each designed and decorated to reflect our Georgian origins and fitted with a television and Wi-Fi access; The Shelleys perfectly combines English tradition with contemporary luxury. Dating back to 1588, The Shelleys is a grade II* listed property – falling into the 4% bracket viewed as a “particularly important building of more than special interest” by English Heritage… Located close to Brighton and Eastbourne, this East Sussex hotel is the perfect venue for a change of scene. Whether it’s a weekend of rest and relaxation, a romantic break, or a base from which to explore the surrounding historical town and South Downs, you’ll find your every need is anticipated at The Shelleys. The a la carte lunch and dinner menu is available in the stylish award-winning Apostrophe Restaurant or on the brick-paved terrace overlooking our beautiful gardens. Morning Coffee & Afternoon Tea, Drinks and Bar Lunches are also available throughout the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your The Shelleys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Shelleys Hotel Lewes
Shelleys Hotel Lewes
Hotel Shelleys
The Shelleys Lewes, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing