We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Shelleys
Nearby Hotels
US$240
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Lewes Town Centre(Lewes)(Great Value!)
US$105
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$97
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White Horse Hotel(Rottingdean)
US$172
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Horsted Place(Little Horsted)
US$218
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
East Sussex National(Little Horsted)
US$167
US$155
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bull(Ditchling)
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Forge(Halland)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (412)
Filter reviews
412 results
Traveller rating
167
111
67
36
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
167
111
67
36
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssuperior roomlovely hoteldrawing roomhigh streetold buildingpublic roomsbeautiful buildingcomfortable roomscar parkwedding receptionbreakfast was excellentstayed one nightan overnight stayafternoon teafull englishsconesglyndebourne
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
193 - 198 of 412 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Nice location. Comfortable rooms but a bit down at heel. Needs (several) licks of paint and a general refresh. Has that musty smell you used to get in old hotels 20 years ago. Garden is somewhat unkempt we did not try breakfast or any other meal.

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor room overlooking garden as smoke from garden terrace can be annoying
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toby B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Shelleys, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

This was a disheartening review, more so given the substantial and numerous programs running across the hotel in terms of various improvements. These works include an important overhaul of the garden, attending to the soft furnishings throughout the hotel to upgrading the guest WIFI in the ground floor guest areas

While Shelleys is perfectly placed for Glyndebourne, the hotel has a great deal more to offer and we greatly appreciate the support of our longstanding patrons

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

It was all nice enough, however what we really noticed ( we were two couples) was the boiling hot towel rail. It churned out heat even through the night, and made everything hotter than we would have wished. I am sure the management could save loads of cash , which could then be spent in refurbishing some of the slightly threadbare carpet. It was a nice hotel with decent staff, and just right for Glyndebourne.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoandEric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Shelleys, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

We always appreciate hearing from senior Trip Advisor reviewers and were really pleased you both enjoyed the Shelleys and Glyndebourne - they make a perfect combination

The towel rails are linked to the hot water system and this is something which has our attention albeit juxtaposed against the issues of working with such a historical building and legacy plumbing systems

Hopefully we can see you back at the hotel before too long when you will notice further improvements

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I paid £100 for a night for a friend's wedding, I believe for a wedding it is a beautiful setting if you hire the whole building. Rooms are large and feel spacious, unfortunately on the Sunday morning there was no hot water, the concierge had to turn the boiler back on which has cut out, I guess a quirky feature of the hotel, but you would expect more for the price. Breakfast was a disappointment, a long wait and cold toast, this may have been because there were a large number of people to cater for, but they should either know how to cater this or manage it by doing sittings.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LovingOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Shelleys, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

We like hearing from Senior Trip Advisor reviewers and sadly on the day in question, there was a minor outage with the boiler which was quickly corrected. Even so we apologise for the challenge this caused

We were delighted the wedding was such a success and since your stay in March, Natalie and her team have made sound progress on all fronts so we are confident next time you visit you will notice further improvements

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We have stayed at the Shelleys before and felt that on this occasion the standard, although good, was not quite as high as previously. This is a lovely building in a splendid location and with delightful gardens but I felt this hotel was starting to lose its country house hotel ambience and the price charged was not reflective of the standard one would expect for the price.
Small details matter. So it was not impressive to have to request toast three times at breakfast before the lone waiter served us. The room, although clean, had a slightly odd smell - stale air freshener? Reception was rather lacklustre.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Herodotos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Shelleys, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

We always like hearing from senior Trip Advisor reviewers though were sorry to learn your stay, on this occasion, did not match your last visit. For this we are truly sorry and I know that our manager, Natalie, would like to reach out to you and learn more about your experience

Shelleys has a great deal to offer but you are right to say the 'little things' make a big difference and we are working diligently on this aspect - for example renovating the soft furnishings and turning our attention to the garden together with an ongoing focus on delivering an unmatched individualised service

Your conituned support is much appreciated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I booked Shelleys sometime before our stay as it looked convenient for Glynebourne. We are a well travelled couple in our 60s and have stayed at numerous hotels all over the world. However, this is the first time we have reviewed for trip advisor.We arrived to find this small hotel was hosting a wedding. Unfortunately, the reception was under our bedroom. Had we been informed about the wedding, we would not have booked to stay. The hotel was completely taken over by wedding guests so after being taken to our room we left to see the town. We'd had a long drive and would have liked a rest in our room but the noise was too loud! We were told the disco planned for the evening, would be turned off at 11 but at 11.15 my husband had to ring down to complain. It was turned off. However, the fire doors and room doors banged until late as the hotel has poor noise installation.
Sadly, the poor reviews below are, in our view, accurate. Shelleys is a beautiful building in dire
need of some renovation and updating. The curtains in our room were coming away from their fittings and there was a broken window pane. The bathroom curtains looked as though they had been borrowed and slung up as a temporary measure! The room was clean but had a strange odour that wasn't pleasant. The breakfasts are poor - my husband's red fruit compote had clearly only just thawed out. He asked if they had any croissants on our second morning but when they arrived they were stale. On a positive note, the staff on at breakfast were polite and charming and my boiled egg was fresh. Sadly the toast was of the cardboard variety- there are so many decent breads around these days! The fruit juices are almost certainly from cartons of some sort!
The garden also looks as though it would benefit from some professional gardening. The tired patio needs weeding and the planting is unimaginative. Debris from the wedding was still in evidence the next morning when we looked round the garden. I do not expect a response, other than defensiveness from management as this seems the tone they have taken with any criticism. This is the closest to Faulty Towers we have stayed in! Shame, as it is in a good location.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank caroline s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Shelleys, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

This review and the one preceding it are clearly linked and while we are sorry these guests found aspects of their stay challenging, regrettably we cannot identify nor agree with the thrust of their critique

The majority of our guests are very satisfied - we delight in hosting them and welcoming them back year in year out. It is clear that we would have struggled to meet these guests particular expectations, regardless of what we did, which is truly disheartening

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews