We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as it was”
Review of The Shelleys

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Shelleys
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Lewes
Shropshire,UK
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Not as good as it was”
Reviewed 23 July 2009

This hotel used to be full during the Glyndebourne season but no longer. We paid £215 including breakfast for our double room and the same for a Twin room for grown up "children". The rooms are mostly lovely but we too miss the tea/coffee in the rooms with pretty china and a great selection of teas. Our room, 17, was by the back staff entrance and we were woken early by doors banging. Lunchtime bar service not good. We did not eat in the restaurant. At least the breakfast was ok and waitress efficient.The whole place is now lacking in atmosphere as almost empty and something is just not right. Very sad as we have been going there nearly every year for a long time.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank luka99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    99
    62
    35
    27
See reviews for
43
201
18
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2009

We booked this hotel for a weekend as we had a wedding on the Saturday but wanted to discover a bit more of this part of the world.

On the plus side it's a pretty hotel and our room (9 - a superior double) was lovely and absolutely huge. Lewes is beautiful and has lots to offer for a ocuple of days pottering about.

On the down side the room didn't have a full length mirror and the shower made a screaming type noise - which we reported but nothing was done. There are no longer tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms but rather you can call for tea of coffee - which was nice but a bit intrusive and we were charged for one service of tea (£7.50) which I didn't spot until later.

We paid £300 for two nights which included 3 course dinner for both of us on the Friday (charged at £19 for 2 courses and £25 for 3 courses) we were the only people in dining room so there was very little atmosphere and there was a radiator plonked in the middle - the potatoes tasted of salmon which was on the menu, nut we both ordered lamb! The cheese plate which was an additional £2.00 was clearly straight out of the fridge which for brie etc was disappointing. This was the same on the continental breakfast when the ham was also tasteless.

Overall it was fine - but not for the price we paid - it feels like the hotel thinks a bit too much of itself and may be better going back to basics.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaisyMitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon UK
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 289 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2008

I stay here often and its always a delight, the staff are the jewel in the crown here, friendly and helpful. If you are looking for technical perfection you may have a few grumbles - the heating takes a bit of juggling to get the room temperature right. Breakfast is delicious but the service can be a bit haphazard, ive been known to finish my entire meal before the toast arrives. But these are relatively trivial compared to the overall feeling of gracious welcome.

Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank doomdoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 October 2008

I stayed at the hotel for a weekend in October with my girlfriend. I have to say the hotel was excellent, we enjoyed the food at both breakfast and dinner and the service in the reception and bar were also good.

Our room was a standard double which was well appointed and had a large bathroom and walkin closet.

Would definately stay again if I return to Lewes

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CheekySpoons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaftesbury, Dorset
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2008

Yesterday was a family wedding in Lewes: many of the wedding party stayed in the hotel and the post-wedding dinner and party were at Shelleys. (Why no apostrophe anywhere? No one seems to know.) Arriving at noon (the wedding was at 2:00) the receptionist said "check in is at 2:00". Eek! However, a short panic over, the wires got straightened out. The room was excellent: large, well-appointed with comfortable antique and antique-seeming furniture. There was an excellent view out over the garden-- a large one for Lewes, where space is at a premium. The marble-lined bathroom was large and spotless. Bidets, apparently, are standard kit too. Many different types of tea were in the tea-making kit.

After the wedding, back to the hotel for the dinner and partying. The staff worked well together and everything was coordinated clearly and sensitively. The food was good (it can't be easy feeding a large party) and well prepared. The vegetarians especially liked their food. (The roast lamb was excellent, too.)

The party in the evening went very smoothly and the food laid on during the evening was a cut above the usual.

The only point that the hotel might really be faulted on (aside from the crossed wires on arrival) was the fact that the television was clearly both a bit old and fairly primitive: only the basic analogue channels.

It would be a good place to stay for a longer time when visiting this part of the world. This is the second hotel in Lewes we have stayed at (the other was the Pelham) and, on the whole, we feel we would rather stay at Shelleys, even though the Pelham was a very good hotel indeed. The availability of good parking facilities, in particular, is a great plus for Shelleys.

  • Liked — The enormous bed.
  • Disliked — The receptionist who hadn't realized wedding guests were coming early.
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HenPen3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2008

Just returned from a two-night special deal break at the hotel which included breakfast, dinner one night and complimentary passes for Lewes Castle & Anne of Cleves House. Our room was very large, beautifully clean and overlooked the garden. Fine selection of teas/coffee and fresh milk and ice supplied every evening. The restaurant food was delicious and plenty of choice from menu for breakfast. The staff were courteous and very pleasant, the new owner has lots of enthusiasm to make improvements although I really couldn't fault it and I think it should be at least a 4*. Centrally located in the High Street with a car park which makes it great for exploring Lewes. Many other places a short drive away. Would definitately return here again it was a lovely break.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzannebrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2008

I have been staying weeknights Monday to Friday in this wonderful hotel in Lewes. The staff are friendly, polite and care for my every need. It is always clean and well presented. The rooms are absolutely excellent, with so much detail, right down to the tea selection, teapot cups, and ice bucket, which gets re filled by an evening room service. The food is another brilliant aspect of this wonderful hotel. I have my breakfast delivered to my room every morning, and it is prepared with such care (as is all of the hotels food), unlike some larger hotels where it's coked on mass. A good breakfast and general food selection too.

What more can I say, I recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Lewes!!

  • Liked — The Service
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank aca532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewes
0.3 mi away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#4 of 8 in Lewes
783 reviews
0.3 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#7 of 8 in Lewes
947 reviews
2.0 mi away
Newmarket Inn
Newmarket Inn
#5 of 8 in Lewes
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
The Forge
The Forge
#1 of 1 in Halland
167 reviews
6.4 mi away
East Sussex National
East Sussex National
#1 of 2 in Little Horsted
1,172 reviews
6.4 mi away
Horsted Place
Horsted Place
#2 of 2 in Little Horsted
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shelleys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shelleys

Property: The Shelleys
Address: 135 High Street, Lewes BN7 1XS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Lewes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Lewes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Shelleys 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step off the historic High Street in the beautiful county town of Lewes and into the peaceful tranquility of The Shelleys; an elegantly sublime 17th Century, family-run, country house hotel. The Shelleys offers discreet service, with high standards, within a uniquely calm ambience, with friendly staff who anticipate your every need. With nineteen luxury boutique rooms, all en-suite, each designed and decorated to reflect our Georgian origins and fitted with a television and Wi-Fi access; The Shelleys perfectly combines English tradition with contemporary luxury. Dating back to 1588, The Shelleys is a grade II* listed property – falling into the 4% bracket viewed as a “particularly important building of more than special interest” by English Heritage… Located close to Brighton and Eastbourne, this East Sussex hotel is the perfect venue for a change of scene. Whether it’s a weekend of rest and relaxation, a romantic break, or a base from which to explore the surrounding historical town and South Downs, you’ll find your every need is anticipated at The Shelleys. The a la carte lunch and dinner menu is available in the stylish award-winning Apostrophe Restaurant or on the brick-paved terrace overlooking our beautiful gardens. Morning Coffee & Afternoon Tea, Drinks and Bar Lunches are also available throughout the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Shelleys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Shelleys Hotel Lewes
Shelleys Hotel Lewes
Hotel Shelleys
The Shelleys Lewes, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing