We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A classy hotel”
Review of The Shelleys

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Shelleys
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lewes
Reviewed 9 November 2009

Spent three nights in one of their Superior rooms (Room 17) in this lovely Georgian building.. Spacious room with view of the garden. Very quiet. Good dining room. Helpful reception.

Lewes a great historical town, close to Brighton, Glyndebourne and Arundel.

Try the Newick Park Hotel for a wonderful lunch in the countryside outside Lewes. Walk the downsfrom the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArnoldOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (407)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

376 - 382 of 407 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2009

From the moment of my arrival I was treated with great care and attention. The rooms are lovely and well proportioned and it was a joy to have a full range of toiletries to use. The breakfast was excellent and there was no supplement for the smoked salmon. I was pleasantly suprised at how comfortable the beds were. I had a front facing room and there was no noise at all.

My only complaint, as mentioned previously, is the lack of tea and coffee in the rooms. It is provided complimentary BUT only up to 10am. I arrived late and felt like a cup but didn't fancy paying the price they charged so went for a glass of water instead.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kharker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2009

On arrival we were a little concerned as the hotel is right on the High Street however we were checked into Room 10 overlooking the rear garden which did not suffer from any traffic noise. Delightfully decorated and well maintained room and very clean bathroom - nice touch to supply bathrobes. The only disappointment for us was after a long drive we were ready to relax and make ourselves a cup of tea however there were no drink making facilites in the room. On phoning reception to enquire we were told we only had to ring if we required drinks (no reference was made to us having to pay individually for each cup and it was one of those embarrasing situations where we didn't like to ask). I admit there is no reference on the website to tea and coffe making facilities being supplied but I think most people would presume when paying £145 per night you should expect a couple of teabags/coffee in your room. This wasn't the case - on checking out the following morning we were charged £5.00 for the 2 cups and 50p for having them delivered - thank goodness we didn't order anymore! This is my only gripe (and I know some would feel a minor one) but surely most guests would prefer the privacy of their room rather than having to ask for room service just for a cup of tea. The dining room was beautiful and breakfast was delicious, the waiting staff were very efficient and attentive. I would have given a 5/5 rating if tea/coffee making facilities were supplied free of charge.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank slinketh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2009

This is the fourth year we have stayed at Shelleys, primarily to visit Glyndebourne. Like a previous reviewer, we stayed for 2 nights in room 17 which, at £215 per night has several downsides: significant noise travel from the room above (especially when inconsiderate wedding guests return at 1.30am), a set of chairs and table directly outside the bedroom window for public use and the most awful view over a dumping ground at the back of the hotel. We too noted the lack of what used to be excellent tea / coffee making facilities. On the plus side, the room itself was large and lovely and so was the bathroom. The bedlinen and towels were also of fine quality. We note also that the hotel has been improved in terms of internal and external decoration. Afternoon tea was very pleasing with freshly baked cake and scones with plenty of home-made preserve and cream. Breakfast was also very good with some lovely options and excellent bacon, sausage and eggs.
Dinner was not the best experience. There was no 2 or 3 course fixed price option (as stated in the bedroom information) and the a la carte was limited. The beef advertised on the menu turned out to be lamb. I too was surprised by the 'crayfish spring roll' and this really is not what would be expected. The menu needs to have clear descriptions of the food. The pork main course consisted of well cooked, tasty pork loin with some bits of saute potates, a few wild mushrooms and about a teaspoonful of carrot puree. The wine list is extremely limited for this class of hotel. In the dining room there were groups of wedding guests (the weddings were elsewhere) and the intimate atmosphere previously encountered was lacking.
As far as service was concerned the staff were friendly and tried their best but they lack training and experience. When we checked out the credit card machine was not working and we were asked to pay either by cheque or obtain cash from a cash machine. An alternative was to pay by bank transfer using the hotel's computer or, when we protested, to send a cheque when we arrived home. Any business needs to have a backup for this problem. I hope that the above problems can be sorted out (especially dinner) so that we might decide to return to this well-located, characterful hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kjl24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2009

what seemed the start of a lovely evening ended very disappointing !i've visited Shelly’s beforehand while working for a Well know food magazine and was treated very well and had a lovely evening, however were do I start starter this time. THE STARTER crayfish spring roll, it had three small crayfish around the tile! And the spring roll was iceberg with grated carrot and cabbage! For my main, which was worded, pan fried salmon on a bed of citrus and herb Couscous and a tomato salsa. Well this was plated as follows 10 cherry toms cut in half, circled around a bowl with the blandest unseasoned Couscous I have ever eaten soggy almost steamed Luke warm fillet of salmon thrown on top! My husbands lamb how ever was cooked well but thrown on to mash that was unseasoned and watery with beans in a watery sauce which there wasn’t any thing to describe what they were, not even on the menu! The parsnips were raw and seemed pre packed very unpleasant indeed! We did complain with politeness and positive criticism no to be listened to and the plates ushered of the table so not to draw attention. We decided at this point to leave.
the bill firstly arrived £140 plus which included the salmon which was then removed bill as I refused to pay for it the bill then came to £104 I was still hungry and very cross at how we had be treated, then to add insult further we were chased out loudly being told we had only paid £85 and words can not explain in what manner this was dealt with .not of the profession kind any way.. After an argument they checked again and the missing £20 was behind the bill!! All we got told was an evening at Shelly’s is what YOU make it!!!! How may I ask could (I) of made it any better!!! Disgusting no wonder it lost awards, I will be writing my review in my column of the good eating guild for Sussex shortly a totally horrendous evening!! Discussed

12  Thank melaniewiggett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Shelleys135, Manager at The Shelleys, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2009

We are sorry that this guest did not enjoy their experience at The Shelleys, although would like to clarify a few points.

We serve a "spring roll" which is a lettuce leaf filled with Crayfish Tails and Julienne Vegetables. This is one of the most popular dishes on the menu and no complaints have ever been made about the dish. However, we can understand some concerns, and are consequently in the process of re-wording the menu so as to cause as little confusion as possible. Regarding concerns about the "Salsa", we marinate the tomatoes in flavoured Olive Oil, which is a modern take on classic Salsa.

In the rare instance that a guest is not enjoying a dish, our policy is to offer to remove the dish efficiently causing as little discomfort as possible, and further to invite the guest to choose any other dish on the menu, including altering a dish to suit their taste.

Whilst we are proactive in the training & development of our employees to ensure that we endeavour to meet the high expectations of our guests, we unfortunately are unable to mitigate against all aspects of human error. In the instance whereby a restaurant attendant would miscalculate a payment due to monies slipping down the side of a bill and consequently being out of sight, we can only apologise to the guest for any discomfort caused... “Nobody’s perfect”! What we can assure is that we will take the necessary steps so that such an incident does not occur in the future.

We do not tolerate abuse of our staff under any circumstances, and in any such instance, the guest in question would be invited to leave by a Duty Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2009

This hotel used to be full during the Glyndebourne season but no longer. We paid £215 including breakfast for our double room and the same for a Twin room for grown up "children". The rooms are mostly lovely but we too miss the tea/coffee in the rooms with pretty china and a great selection of teas. Our room, 17, was by the back staff entrance and we were woken early by doors banging. Lunchtime bar service not good. We did not eat in the restaurant. At least the breakfast was ok and waitress efficient.The whole place is now lacking in atmosphere as almost empty and something is just not right. Very sad as we have been going there nearly every year for a long time.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank luka99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2009

We booked this hotel for a weekend as we had a wedding on the Saturday but wanted to discover a bit more of this part of the world.

On the plus side it's a pretty hotel and our room (9 - a superior double) was lovely and absolutely huge. Lewes is beautiful and has lots to offer for a ocuple of days pottering about.

On the down side the room didn't have a full length mirror and the shower made a screaming type noise - which we reported but nothing was done. There are no longer tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms but rather you can call for tea of coffee - which was nice but a bit intrusive and we were charged for one service of tea (£7.50) which I didn't spot until later.

We paid £300 for two nights which included 3 course dinner for both of us on the Friday (charged at £19 for 2 courses and £25 for 3 courses) we were the only people in dining room so there was very little atmosphere and there was a radiator plonked in the middle - the potatoes tasted of salmon which was on the menu, nut we both ordered lamb! The cheese plate which was an additional £2.00 was clearly straight out of the fridge which for brie etc was disappointing. This was the same on the continental breakfast when the ham was also tasteless.

Overall it was fine - but not for the price we paid - it feels like the hotel thinks a bit too much of itself and may be better going back to basics.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DaisyMitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewes
0.3 mi away
Pelham House Hotel
2.1 mi away
Newmarket Inn
Newmarket Inn
#4 of 7 in Lewes
261 reviews
6.4 mi away
Horsted Place
Horsted Place
#2 of 2 in Little Horsted
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7 mi away
The Forge
The Forge
#1 of 1 in Halland
176 reviews
6.9 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,260 reviews
8.1 mi away
Imperial
Imperial
#27 of 43 in Brighton
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shelleys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shelleys

Address: 135 High Street, Lewes BN7 1XS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Lewes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lewes
Price Range: £85 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Shelleys 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step off the historic High Street in the beautiful county town of Lewes and into the peaceful tranquility of The Shelleys; an elegantly sublime 17th Century, family-run, country house hotel. The Shelleys offers discreet service, with high standards, within a uniquely calm ambience, with friendly staff who anticipate your every need. With nineteen luxury boutique rooms, all en-suite, each designed and decorated to reflect our Georgian origins and fitted with a television and Wi-Fi access; The Shelleys perfectly combines English tradition with contemporary luxury. Dating back to 1588, The Shelleys is a grade II* listed property – falling into the 4% bracket viewed as a “particularly important building of more than special interest” by English Heritage… Located close to Brighton and Eastbourne, this East Sussex hotel is the perfect venue for a change of scene. Whether it’s a weekend of rest and relaxation, a romantic break, or a base from which to explore the surrounding historical town and South Downs, you’ll find your every need is anticipated at The Shelleys. The a la carte lunch and dinner menu is available in the stylish award-winning Apostrophe Restaurant or on the brick-paved terrace overlooking our beautiful gardens. Morning Coffee & Afternoon Tea, Drinks and Bar Lunches are also available throughout the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your The Shelleys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Shelleys Hotel Lewes
Shelleys Hotel Lewes
Hotel Shelleys
The Shelleys Lewes, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing