We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Shelleys

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Shelleys
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Lewes
Banstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Charming”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2010

Spent two nights at this very charming and tranquil hotel. The high point for me was that all the staff were pleasant, helpful and friendly without being over intrusive. I did have one minor dispute at the end which was dealt with poorly by the owner I believe, but am prepared to accept that as a one off misunderstanding.

The location is ideal as the main part of town etc is easily walkable but the hotel itself is in a fairly quiet area, despite being on the main road. The restaurant is very stylish and it's nice to be served breakfast instead of tolerating the ubiquitous buffet. On the first morning breakfast was excellent but on the second the food was barely warm although still of good quality, especially the bacon. We also had dinner on one night which was very good.

Our only slight gripe was that our room was not as warm as it should have been and the bathroom was positively cold. I sympathize with the owners as the large windows are very old and attractive and difficult to insulate but diving in and out of a cold bathroom is not much fun. I should say that it was a particularly cold weekend. The room also requires a bit of tlc on the decorating front, otherwise it was more than adequate with a super large comfortable bed.

All in all a really good weekend enhanced by the excellent staff.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lyeemoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    97
    59
    34
    26
See reviews for
39
195
17
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
sussex
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2010

Lovely hotel, great staff, well worth it in a lovely town. Also worth a visit for afternoon tea if you are visiting the town.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sussexlive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uckfield
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2010

Shelton Fernando, the Manager of the Shelley, came to the rescue of the local community hospital by providing accomodation for some of the nurses so that they could get to work their hospital shifts during the terrible weather. He even got up to make them toast and coffee as they had to get to work before the kitchen opened and offered to drive them to work in his 4 x 4. The nurses all said how amazing the hotel was - the only pity being that they arrived so late and tired they did not have time to really enjoy or appreciate what a wonderful hotel the Shelley is.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heathfield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2009

I took 3 children (two 12 year olds and a 15 year old) to a concert at the Brighton Centre last night, and we left at 11pm setting off for our 40 minute drive home to Heathfield.
Within minutes it started snowing, which rapidly turned into a blizzard and traffic was slip sliding around all over the place, it took us over an hour to get out of Brighton centre onto the A27, where I thought we'd be better off on such a major road - how wrong could I be! We eventually got stuck in the snow, but were lucky when a police van turned up and dug us out of the snowdrift and told us that there was no way we could get back to Heathfield. What to do?!!! He advised me to drive slowly and try to get to Lewes if at all possible and find a hotel. We eventually arrived, after a couple more scary incidents such as the children having to push the car up a hill for about 15 minutes, to a deserted Lewes at 2am, and through the heavy snowfall spotted the Shelleys hotel which we had never heard of. Coincidentally we were lucky to arrive at exactly the same time as the duty manager who had left for the night a couple of hours earlier and, unable to get home herself, had returned and was rousing the night watchman. When I told her our predicament they welcomed us with open arms, found us a beautiful room where they put down a sofa bed for the children and brought us hot chocolates. I could have cried with joy and relief. I have never been so grateful to slip into such a comfy bed in such a beautiful room. If I had realised beforehand that The Shelleys was a 4-star hotel I would not have even approached them in the first place because we would never have been able to afford their prices, but from the start they only quoted us a fraction of their normal rates and it was not until the following day did I realise just how generous and welcoming they had been.
So thank you thank you thank you The Shelleys - the children will never forget the night they went to see Paramore at the Brighton Centre and ended up being stuck in a showdrift then rescued by the staff of the most beautiful hotel they have ever stayed in...

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CatherineS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancs
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2009

Again my stay at The Shelleys was faultless! They apparently have a new chef and the food was much better than previous... well presented and very tasty.
The rooms were as ever spotlessly clean and very warm on a cold night.
The gardens are being improved and come spring they will be blooming..
The only downside was the parking which due to falling branches from trees i was a little
wary of how safe it was... the owners are currently have a few major issues with the local
council regarding this - hopefully it will be resolved sooner rather than later. (I hope the council take note) this hotel is an asset to Lewes.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joolancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ottawa
Level Contributor
78 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2009

Spent three nights in one of their Superior rooms (Room 17) in this lovely Georgian building.. Spacious room with view of the garden. Very quiet. Good dining room. Helpful reception.

Lewes a great historical town, close to Brighton, Glyndebourne and Arundel.

Try the Newick Park Hotel for a wonderful lunch in the countryside outside Lewes. Walk the downsfrom the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArnoldOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2009

From the moment of my arrival I was treated with great care and attention. The rooms are lovely and well proportioned and it was a joy to have a full range of toiletries to use. The breakfast was excellent and there was no supplement for the smoked salmon. I was pleasantly suprised at how comfortable the beds were. I had a front facing room and there was no noise at all.

My only complaint, as mentioned previously, is the lack of tea and coffee in the rooms. It is provided complimentary BUT only up to 10am. I arrived late and felt like a cup but didn't fancy paying the price they charged so went for a glass of water instead.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kharker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewes
0.3 mi away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#3 of 8 in Lewes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
2.0 mi away
Newmarket Inn
Newmarket Inn
#4 of 8 in Lewes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.3 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#7 of 8 in Lewes
3.0 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
East Sussex National
East Sussex National
#1 of 2 in Little Horsted
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,139 reviews
6.4 mi away
Horsted Place
Horsted Place
#2 of 2 in Little Horsted
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Lewes Town Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shelleys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shelleys

Property: The Shelleys
Address: 135 High Street, Lewes BN7 1XS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Lewes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Lewes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Shelleys 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step off the historic High Street in the beautiful county town of Lewes and into the peaceful tranquility of The Shelleys; an elegantly sublime 17th Century, family-run, country house hotel. The Shelleys offers discreet service, with high standards, within a uniquely calm ambience, with friendly staff who anticipate your every need. With nineteen luxury boutique rooms, all en-suite, each designed and decorated to reflect our Georgian origins and fitted with a television and Wi-Fi access; The Shelleys perfectly combines English tradition with contemporary luxury. Dating back to 1588, The Shelleys is a grade II* listed property – falling into the 4% bracket viewed as a “particularly important building of more than special interest” by English Heritage… Located close to Brighton and Eastbourne, this East Sussex hotel is the perfect venue for a change of scene. Whether it’s a weekend of rest and relaxation, a romantic break, or a base from which to explore the surrounding historical town and South Downs, you’ll find your every need is anticipated at The Shelleys. The a la carte lunch and dinner menu is available in the stylish award-winning Apostrophe Restaurant or on the brick-paved terrace overlooking our beautiful gardens. Morning Coffee & Afternoon Tea, Drinks and Bar Lunches are also available throughout the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Shelleys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Shelleys Hotel Lewes
Shelleys Hotel Lewes
Hotel Shelleys
The Shelleys Lewes, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing