We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Shelleys
Nearby Hotels
US$105
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$99
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$126
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$94
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$94
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White Horse Hotel(Rottingdean)
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Horsted Place(Little Horsted)
US$259
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
East Sussex National(Little Horsted)
US$156
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bull(Ditchling)
US$213
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Forge(Halland)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (417)
Filter reviews
417 results
Traveller rating
168
112
69
36
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
168
112
69
36
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssuperior roomlovely hoteldrawing roomhigh streetold buildingpublic roomsbeautiful buildingcomfortable roomscar parkwedding receptionbreakfast was excellentstayed one nightan overnight stayafternoon teafull englishsconesglyndebourne
Filter
Updating list...
377 - 382 of 417 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2010

Shelleys has a very homely period charm and provided the perfect location and setting for a magnificent wedding. The opportunity for exclusivity was very special and meant that the main wedding party stayed in luxury at Shelleys for the weekend. The chef and restaurant staff provided exquisite menus, fine wines, delicious breakfasts and good service throughout our stay. The cheerful and helpful staff took great care of all our guests, young and old! Andrew Hawkes, the Food and Beverage Manager helped us plan the wedding every step of the way and finally took full control of the event on the day. We cannot thank him enough. We look forward to our return to The Shelleys for other celebrations.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank motherofthebride58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2010

Please do not organise any event here. If you complain or something is not up to your expectations you will be met with pure contempt. Lessons in customer service are needed for the management. Non management staff are fine, but they will try to put you off any confrontation with management, almost as if they know this is a problem.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GratefulGul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Shelleys135, Manager at The Shelleys, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2010

Unfortunately due to limited capacity we have had to undertake a strict policy with regard to unauthorised car parking.

Whilst we prioritise the needs of our guests first and foremost, as our mission to ‘surpass the expectations of the customer’, we have to ensure that there is sufficient space for them to park.

Although we are very supportive of the local community and businesses, as key to developing a network for mutual betterment (e.g. see review dated 29 Jan 2010), we must stress that we are not in a position to provide ‘free’ parking to such organisations, for the reasons mentioned above. Consequently, cars parked without authorisation are clamped subject to a penalty of £100.

We are sorry that this reviewer felt let down by the management, although we are not in a position to compromise with regards to the use of our car park, especially when it is at the expense of guests who actually wish to use the facilities within the hotel.

We are always very appreciative of feedback, whether it be positive or negative, and view it as vital to the development of our service standards. However what we do not appreciate, are reviews written out of contempt, with the malicious purpose of attempting to damage our reputation, essentially when a reviewer has never used the facilities within the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2010

We was in Lewes because our son is a student in the University of Sussex, we found this hotel on the Internet and we liked it because:
The hotel is in a very good positition, in the center of Lewes, 10 min from the train station, 15 min and 15 £ by taxi from Brighton.
The staff was very friendly, we had a room quiet and big. They helped us with all informations that we needed (we are not from UK).
We would recommend this hotel and we will for sure return

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yafeEvian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2010

Spent two nights at this very charming and tranquil hotel. The high point for me was that all the staff were pleasant, helpful and friendly without being over intrusive. I did have one minor dispute at the end which was dealt with poorly by the owner I believe, but am prepared to accept that as a one off misunderstanding.

The location is ideal as the main part of town etc is easily walkable but the hotel itself is in a fairly quiet area, despite being on the main road. The restaurant is very stylish and it's nice to be served breakfast instead of tolerating the ubiquitous buffet. On the first morning breakfast was excellent but on the second the food was barely warm although still of good quality, especially the bacon. We also had dinner on one night which was very good.

Our only slight gripe was that our room was not as warm as it should have been and the bathroom was positively cold. I sympathize with the owners as the large windows are very old and attractive and difficult to insulate but diving in and out of a cold bathroom is not much fun. I should say that it was a particularly cold weekend. The room also requires a bit of tlc on the decorating front, otherwise it was more than adequate with a super large comfortable bed.

All in all a really good weekend enhanced by the excellent staff.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lyeemoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2010

Lovely hotel, great staff, well worth it in a lovely town. Also worth a visit for afternoon tea if you are visiting the town.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sussexlive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews