We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Old Fashioned Pub with Good Food”
Review of Lewes Arms

Lewes Arms
Ranked #22 of 113 Restaurants in Lewes
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Description: This is a pub which serves food
Restaurant details
Description: This is a pub which serves food
London
Level Contributor
159 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“An Old Fashioned Pub with Good Food”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Visited The Lewes Arms with three friends whilst visiting the area. Had a good quality meal which was served quickly and was reasonably priced. Recommended !

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dazc459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    52
    12
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dartmoor National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
216 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Only stopped for a drink but food looked really good”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Enjoyed everything to do with this pub. Sadly we had a reservation to eat elsewhere or we would have eaten there as the food looked superb. People next to us had ordered a seafood mezzi and it looked diving. Service was good.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank CAHA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A real pub”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Few pubs that serve good food also achieve the trick of retaining the feel of a real community pub, The Lewis Arms does.

Great beer, excellent friendly service and a quirky mix of regulars. All in a genuine old and unpretentious building tucked away in a quiet side street.

One of my favourite pubs in Sussex.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wheelskeepturning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
92 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent local pub!”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We stop here every year when in town for Guy Fawkes Day (we're Bonfire Boys). Superb small local, welcoming staff, magnificent beer.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GeneR3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“One of my favourite pub experiences outside London”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

My husband, dogs and I stopped in here for Sunday roast after a country walk from Hassocks to Lewes. Cold, tired and very muddy we were welcome with open arms by both the staff and patrons alike.

We sat in the pub area and ended up chatting with everyone around us, who all seemed to be local to the area. Definitely one of the most friendly pubs I've ever been. The food was delicious and they even had a vegetarian roast which was so flavourful and came with such a wide variety of vegetables. My husband had the steak which came the biggest, homemade onion rings I've ever seen! It was also really reasonably priced with the Sunday roast only costing just under £10 (much cheaper than a lot of other country pubs we've been to and much better quality for the cost).

If we find our way back to Lewes on another walk I'd definitely stop in this pub again!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cyd C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lewes Arms also viewed

 
Lewes, East Sussex
 
Lewes, East Sussex
Lewes, East Sussex
 

Been to Lewes Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing