We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing visit.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Lewes Arms

The Lewes Arms
Ranked #2 of 12 Nightlife in Lewes
Attraction details
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Disappointing visit.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Having been to this pub before and enjoyed the excellent ales, I returned recently with my husband and baby. It was a sunny day and the windows were open, the upstairs sun terrace was busy, but sadly we were annoyed by flies for the duration of our visit which was really irritating.

Our drinks were great and served by friendly staff, but our food was not great. We both ordered the Veggie Chilli, one with rice and one with chips. Portions were enormous but the food was tasteless and stodgy. Both came with side salads, but there was little love put into the salad. Giant uncut leaves thrown on the side of the plate doused in dressing with one piece of cucumber and a small slice of tomato.

Tables were a bit grimey and so was the highchair which we declined to use.

All in all I have been left with a negative image of a pub I once enjoyed to visit. Disappointed customer :-(

Helpful?
Thank SarahC09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    7
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Poznan, Poland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

Ate one of the best fish and chips I've ever had. Great friendly atmosphere. It's essentially a pub in a flat. Get the table by in the corner and read some old books.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hiphoppanonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Coast
Level Contributor
40 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Proper pub, proper beer, great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

We visited for lunch and were very happy with the beer, the excellent food and the friendly staff. The pub has a great atmosphere and is the real deal not some made over gastro-pub charging too much for too little!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank SouthCoastHarold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Go to Lewes for that ale”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

(Sadly) We had just had a short stay at The Lewes Arms and we enjoyed the local ale, it's just awesome; and this ale itself, is worth a trip to lewes. The staff is very friendly and served all the people with humor and happiness. I hope that we'll come back soon.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great pub great real ale great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

We visited on weekend of major concert in lewes and the pub was very very busy. The staff were happy and engaged all customers in a happy helpful way making the service first class. There was over one hour wait for food however with good beer on hand this was not a problem. The food was well worth waiting for and I would definitely recommend it. This is a proper pub and it was a joy to spend time there.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Spider W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Lewes Arms also viewed

Lewes, East Sussex
Lewes, East Sussex
 
Lewes, East Sussex
 

Been to The Lewes Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing