We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional accommodation and hospitality”
Review of Berkeley House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lewes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Berkeley House
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Lewes
Certificate of Excellence
U.K.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Exceptional accommodation and hospitality”
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Wouldn't normally stay in a B&B after bad experiences in the past, but did so here overnight in late January 2014 on a friend's recommendation.

The accommodation has obviously been thoroughly refurbished to a very high standard, with top quality, modern furnishings and fittings - whilst still retaining its character. Great en suite facilities,plentiful hot water, controllable central heating, Tv and (free) Wi Fi, comfortable bed and good drawer / cupboard storage.

Relatively quiet central location, not far from several public car parks - limited street spaces immediately outside (all metered).

Breakfast, served in an open plan kitchen / dinning room, was excellent with a very full range of food and beverages.

Owners were very friendly and obviously intend ( and succeeded in my case) to provide a first class stay at modest cost.

Nb.May not suit the very elderly or infirm as there is no lift.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Colin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda D, Owner at Berkeley House, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Thanks so much for your excellent review, Colin. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and that we've helped to restore your faith in the British B&B. Come again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
65
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Stayed for a weekend break. Very friendly. Breakfast was excellent with lots of choices. The Blue room is a little small but nicely done out & has an excellent bathroom - tea & coffee in the room. A lovely town & the location of Berkeley House couldn't be better.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ShonaMcP M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda D, Owner at Berkeley House, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Thanks so much for your lovely review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again at some stage in the future. Happy Christmas both!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chamonix
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed at Berkley House over a weekend for a wedding early sept 2013. There was a number of us and I think I speak for everyone when I say the experience was great. Very friendly welcome, clean and comfortable accomodation, excellent full english. Nothing was too much trouble for Amanda she was always very cheerful which is always a pleasure in these situations. We stayed in the basement flat for two nights which was great especially for recovering on the sunday after the wedding, on the sofa in front of the TV with snacks (little kitchenette provided with the essentials already stocked in the fridge!) newly renovated shower,
roomy and beautifully done. All in all one of my best B&B experiences every. Well done!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tom b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda D, Owner at Berkeley House, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thanks so much for your lovely comments, Tom. It was an absolute pleasure to have you to stay. Looking forward to the next wedding! All the best, Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

Adam and Amanda only took over this B&B in February and are refreshingly welcoming, interested, interesting and nice. It is a very central location in a fascinating small town that is an architectural wonder. Our room was comfortable and quiet (at the back) although a bit on the small side. We felt like house guests rather than paying boarders and the breakfast was outstanding. Car parking is metered in the road but is easy and convenient. Coffee shop 60 yards away. We ate at the Kings Head, which I can recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StridingJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

I stayed at Berkeley House last week instead of the usual hotels in my price range in Lewes - and wasn't disappointed.

As a previous reviewer has said the place has been completely refurbished to a very high standard by the new owners - my room and bathroom was spotless. It's a great location right in the middle of Lewes but not on a main road.

Unfortunately I had to be in work very early so didn't get to sample the breakfast but judging by the other reviews here and the quality of Berkeley House, I will definitely stay for breakfast next time. No more just average Lewes hotels for me from now on!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank simonwakeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

A lot of reviews for this B&B pre-date the current owners, so don't be put off as it was completely refurbished when they took over. Berkeley House is a lovely regency house in the heart of Lewes with very friendly and helpful owners. The breakfast was fantastic and Amanda's granola yoghurt a real treat. The choice of what Amanda could conjure up would give anyone plenty of variety over a few nights' stay. Good restaurants, pubs and cafes are all within walking distance. Our room was compact but perfectly adequate for our three night stay and the wifi was a bonus. We hope this wont be the only time we stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bristoltraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We booked the appartment for two nights, which, with an 11month old baby was ideal. It meant we could put the baby to bed and still have an evening, even inviting old friends around for a take away in the living room. The appartment is small but perfect, cosy and well furnished. Although not specifically equipped for babies or young children, iit s entirely suitable. (We took our own mattress for the baby and it comfortably fitted in the bedroom.) Amanda was lovely with a warm welcome, and the fabulous breakfast in the morning made us feel very spoilt. Because we arrived Sat after 5pm and left Monday 9am we didn't have to adhere to any parking restrictions and found places on the high street or Albion street with ease. We shall definitely be booking Berkeley House again when we next visit Brighton area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JessRhian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewes
0.2 mi away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#4 of 8 in Lewes
784 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Shelleys
The Shelleys
#3 of 8 in Lewes
374 reviews
0.1 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#7 of 8 in Lewes
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
The Forge
The Forge
#1 of 1 in Halland
167 reviews
2.4 mi away
Newmarket Inn
Newmarket Inn
#5 of 8 in Lewes
238 reviews
6.1 mi away
East Sussex National
East Sussex National
#1 of 2 in Little Horsted
1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berkeley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berkeley House

Property: Berkeley House
Address: 2 Albion Street, Lewes BN7 2ND, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Lewes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Lewes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently refurbished and under new management from July 2013, we offer a high standard of accommodation in our elegant Grade II Listed Georgian townhouse, situated in the centre of the historic town of Lewes. We have a twin and a double room on the second floor, with excellent executive-style en-suite facilities. We have a further twin/double room on the first floor with separate private shower facilities. We also offer a self-contained apartment on our lower ground floor, comprising a double bedroom, shower room, sitting room and small kitchen where you can prepare a light breakfast or join us for breakfast upstairs.You can enjoy our quiet courtyard garden or perhaps take a break on our sunny roof terrace whilst enjoying views over the town. We aim to make your stay as comfortable as possible and offer a variety of breakfast options using fresh, locally-sourced ingredients whenever possible. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Berkeley Hotel Lewes
Berkeley House Lewes, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing