We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WORST B&B EVER”

Orchard Bed and Breakfast In Lewes
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lewes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Orchard Bed and Breakfast In Lewes
Ranked #13 of 39 Lewes B&B and Inns
Ghent, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“WORST B&B EVER”
Reviewed 29 January 2014

This is probably the worst b&b we ever stayed at. We arrived at 4,45 pm after a long journey and we thought we had the address completely wrong. The garden we had to walk through to arrive at the frontdoor was a junkyard. At the frontdoor the garbagebags were welcoming us. There was no bell, so I had to knock several times, fearing that we would have to spend the night in the car as it seemed nobody home. After a while, finally Rick opened the door, seeming a bit surprised but very friendly I must say. We went to the room which was totally unprepared. No sheets, nothing. He asked if we could go and return a bit later but we were so tired so we decided to rest and leave in an hour to go for dinner. When we returned room was ok. Nice bathroom, shame host didn't know how to open the bathroom windom at first. My son didn't sleep at all as the bed was broken. Breakfast was so sad. Supermarket bread, 6 slices? some jam and old cornflakes. We left hungry and unsatisfied. Some people run a b&b as if they don't care at all. This was a total disaster and not a nice start of our holiday in the UK.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann_Sofie_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
craboohlala, Owner at Orchard Bed and Breakfast In Lewes, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
We are very sorry you were so unhappy with your stay. We wish you had let us know at the time. No one has said our garden is a "junk yard " before. I note you also give the room and location average. The room is the second largest in Lewes and the bathroom is brand new and total luxury - think 2 person walk in shower and slipper bath!

If there was a broken slat in the bed - we could have fixed this given the chance - we also offered you a stand alone single room for the same price.

From my recollection the reason you arrived much earlier than the time stated - and earlier than our check in and having had guests the night before the room was being cleaned - hence bin bag on front door and room not ready. We had no notice of your early arrival time. We did not need to let you in at all at the time you arrived. our usual check in is 1600.

I object to the a) the totally adverse content of this review (the comments about the room particularly are absolute fiction) b) and the time it took to leave the feedback -(nothing mentioned at the time).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    5
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
13
14
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pythagorion, Greece
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located on a traditional road of lewes. The breakfast is everyday different and always exceptional. The administrator ( Mr Rich) and his lovely family were very hospitable. Me and my father we are thankful for this. The room is awesome with two comfortable beds and spectacular view. We are pleased indeed with this place.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Konsath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Really lovely place to spend a night on our visit to Lewes. Loved the free-standing bath and Victorian features. The room was so light and clean overlooking the charming garden. A short walk to all the quirky shops and streets of Lewes. Will definitely be booking the Orchard B&B for a longer weekend in the Spring.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We spent 2 wonderful nights in the orchard room over the August bank holiday to relax and celebrate our wedding anniversary. A beautiful room with a fantastic bath tub. Welcoming owners and a delicious, large breakfast each morning. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
1 review
Reviewed 10 September 2013

My 8 year old and I decided to "hang out " together for a weekend away from little sis and Dad ! We stayed at Orchard B&B for one night and had a wonderful time. The room was beautiful, sunny, airy, comfy and spotless and with an amazing en suite ( my daughter was blown away by a TV in the bathroom !!) The family could not have been more kind. My daughter spilled a glass of water in the bed and this was shrugged aside with the reassurance it was no problem at all - thank you for that as she was mortified!
We had a lovely time wandering around the shops and parks of beautiful Lewes that were all a amble away, we even borrowed a kiddie scooter from the B&B for fun ! We shall definitely return and hopefully for longer next time.... we may even invite little sis and Dad as there's plenty of room for a family !

Room Tip: Go for the big one with lovely bay window and ensuite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachel b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Have just arrived back after 3 days with Steve at Orchad B&B. Stayed in the Garden room, had a warm stylish furniture. Fantastic breakfasts, menu was fab, toasts and croissants with complimentary fresh fruit, yoghurts and ceareals. The owners made us feel extremely welcome. Cheap, clean and comfortable. Highly recommend, great location and great access to local attractions, thank you very much! Kate

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveKate1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We stayed for two nights in mid August (last weekend), and we are really glad we did.
My key criteria for a B&B are, clean with a comfy bed and curtains that are thick enough that I can sleep in in the morning. Oh and of course a decent breakfast - Orchard was spot on, on all counts. Our room was huge, with an ensuite bathroom, lovely and light. Breakfast was delicious, relaxed, and delivered to our room and check out on the Sunday was a generous midday.

St Anne's Crescent is about a 10 minute walk from the high street, and has a car park which is free on Sunday, and a couple of quid on Saturday making it the perfect base for getting to Glyndebourne, and exploring Lewes.

I looked at a number of B&B's in Lewes before settling on Orchard and I'm really glad I did, we will defiantly be going back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 819Tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lewes hotels
0.5 mi away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#3 of 8 in Lewes
800 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Shelleys
The Shelleys
#4 of 8 in Lewes
379 reviews
1.8 mi away
Newmarket Inn
Newmarket Inn
#5 of 8 in Lewes
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#7 of 8 in Lewes
962 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Forge
The Forge
#1 of 1 in Halland
170 reviews
4.7 mi away
White Lodge B&B
White Lodge B&B
#1 of 1 in Cooksbridge
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchard Bed and Breakfast In Lewes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchard Bed and Breakfast In Lewes

Property: Orchard Bed and Breakfast In Lewes
Address: 22 St. Annes Crescent, Lewes BN7 1SB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Lewes
Amenities:
Beach Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Lewes
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Orchard Bed And Breakfast In Lewes East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing