We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Pizza's (Gluten free too if you want)” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hearth

The Hearth
Ranked #9 of 111 Restaurants in Lewes
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Kids, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Seasonal Closing - We are closed on Thursday 24 December and Reopen on Monday 4 January The Hearth is a wood-fired cooking space where guests are fed heartily and healthily by passionate people. We make authentic Neapolitan sourdough pizzas, using responsibly sourced flours from specialised millers, which are baked in our traditional wood fired oven. And then served to you. With a smile.
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Lovely Pizza's (Gluten free too if you want)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

We went to The Hearth for the first time recently - an an old bus garage with a rustic interesting feel. Very nice (gluten free) Pizza's, salads, mezze board. I had the GF pizza, the rest of the table had ordinary pizza's - we all loved the food!
You can either buy a wine or beer there, or bring your own (£4 corkage) - their wines are very good value (ex: Anjou / Pinot Noir, Viognier).
Very friendly service from the owner and very accommodating too.
We were fascinated with the hairdryer on the pizza making table - this is to stoke the oven - lovely touch!
Highly Recommend!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paulita124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    45
    9
    19
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simply brilliant pizza!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

Been here a few times now. Had my sons pizza making birthday party here which was great fun. Full of higglety pigglety furniture and even a little melamine. The pizzas are absolutely lovely, possibly best pizza ever. Service is improving and the staff are usually very cheerful.

The record player creates a great atmosphere.

Really lovely food! Well done Michael and team!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kidzkingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely delicious pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

We booked The Hearth at the recommendation of friends. The place is opposite Waitrose above the Old Bus Station Cafe in Lewes. I remember visiting the old greasy spoon there years ago, and it is fair to say they have transformed it without ruining the character of the building.
We were met by really lovely staff and felt very welcome. We got chatting to the owner, Michael, who built the oven and was happy to spend time telling me about it. (I tried building one in my garden years ago!) He is clearly very passionate about bread and pizzas and wood fired ovens. It was great to go to a place and meet someone real with so much enthusiasm for what he does.

We started with some spicy flat bread and I had a local beer (Long Man) The flat bread was so fresh and tasty, interesting to have something a bit more exotic on the menu than just olives!
I'm quite boring when it comes to pizza, I like a Pepperoni, but the waitress convinced me to try the special 'American Hot', it was the best pizza I have ever eaten. My partner had the vegetarian with vegan cheese, and our kids had their usual Margherita. The vegan cheese was a very big hit!
The waitress was fantastic with our kids, showing them the jukebox and handing out colouring pencils and some scrap paper. (so many places make you feel like you're being a nuisance when you have kids, not here, simply nothing was too much trouble).

I feel like this place is a real find. Fantastic value ( our whole meal was just under £30 for four of us)
A warm welcome, great food, fantastic service. What a great place. We will definitely be back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 881Julian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
240 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Fine pizzas, so long as you're not in a hurry”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

Set in a former bus station cafe, From the Hearth has the same sort of shabby-chic style that most independent Lewes cafes, restaurants and shops go for (Bill's has a lot to answer for), but given the location maybe it's more genuine than most. The menu is small and simple, but there's more than enough to satisfy most pizza lovers, although I would have liked a wider choice of drinks. Our visit was a weekend lunchtime, with about 50% of the tables occupied when we arrived, and the service was friendly (good to find, as it's not always the case in Lewes) but pretty slow, which suggests it's not the best place if you want to eat in a hurry, especially when it's busy. The wood-fired oven is quite small, which is maybe the reason for the slowness.
When your pizza does arrive, you'll feel it's worth the wait, and that the oven has really done its job. The bases are a lovely sourdough, fairly thin and very light. Things on top are fresh and good quality and work well with the base - I had what they called a "holy grail" which is the classic buffalo mozzarella and tomato, and it was terrific. I'd agree with one of the other reviewers that this is the standard of pizzas you'd expect in Italy - interestingly, this makes two places in Lewes where you can get such good pizza, the other being Famiglia, just up the hill from here.
In summary, if you like a great, authentic pizza, From the Hearth will certainly give you what you need, but I'd suggest you go when it's not busy. If they can get their speed up to that of Roman pizzerias, they'll really be on to a winner.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Really tasty pizza cooked in a wood-fired oven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

It's over a bus station, it's very casual but it has a lovely amosphere with the hearth as its heart. The pizzas are simply outstanding with fresh high-quality ingredients.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gallerylady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Hearth also viewed

Lewes, East Sussex
 

Been to The Hearth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing