We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST FOOD EVER.....(thanks to new chef)”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lewes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Black Horse Inn
Ranked #39 of 40 Lewes B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Amazing food, I loved the sound of the Stuffed & Roasted Garlic Phesant Kiev & the wild blackberry and apple crumble, serfved with ice-cream or custard Or BOTH! :)
Kitchen's spotless, shame about the alcoholics that work here! The only thing that lets this place down is the staff. Rude and obnoxious, even as far as calling a local lady, "the witch". Hopefully after a staff changeover the chef can really get this place up & running. Good Luck :)

Room Tip: Don't Bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank princessfionapants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (30)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 30 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2013

This pub has changed in all aspects recently. well decorated, clean toilets, excellent food, friendly staff and good value. Recently I have had two meals at this premises, and neither disappointed. The menu is fresh and the equal to anything in Lewes at this time for pub food. There are several vegetarian options and several draught beers not local to Lewes. I had heard good reviews from friends and it seems they were right. I heard it does get busy with business customers during lunch times, but on each occasion I went the staff handled the orders efficiently. I hope the chef does not leave..

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alitalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Had a great lunch here today, all the food looked lovely and well priced. We had one meat dish, one veggie and one vegan. Brilliant veggie selection with lots of choice and chef happy to provide vegan dishes or make changes to make the veggie one vegan. Amazing! Can't wait to try the falafel burger next :) Thanks xx

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie_447388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

My first time at this pub and it was very enjoyable. The food was excellent (I had a steak pie from the 'specials', with trimmings), a pint of something local and a game of bar billiards. All for not very much.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank antony j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

There is a new chef here and he is really excellent. We had venison meatballs with creamy potato, kale, red wine sauce and all sorts of other marvellous things. It was a really memorable meal, one of the best I've had in this town. The men who run the Black Horse aren't very friendly, but the brilliant food and the smiling, hard working barmaids make up for them. PS: the toilets are the cleanest pub loos in a 50 mile radius.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jjosephineBright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed here and found it very reasonably priced and friendly. Most of all though we had a lovely evening in the pub (with open fires just lit). The food was far beyond expectations, really really top class stuff, and we will come and stay again if we get the chance. If we don't we'll certainly eat here when ever we pass through.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phillip g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lewes hotels
4.7 mi away
White Lodge B&B
White Lodge B&B
#1 of 1 in Cooksbridge
448 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Blacksmiths Arms
The Blacksmiths Arms
#1 of 1 in Offham
209 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Forge
The Forge
#1 of 1 in Halland
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pelham House Hotel
7.1 mi away
The BlackSmith's Arms
The BlackSmith's Arms
#1 of 2 in Halland
79 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Shelleys
The Shelleys
#3 of 7 in Lewes
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Horse Inn

Address: 55 Western Road, Lewes BN7 1RS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Lewes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Lewes
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Black Horse Inn Lewes, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing