We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Black Horse Inn
Nearby Hotels
White Lodge B&B(Cooksbridge)
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$166
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$102
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$104
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
YHA South Downs(Lewes)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (30)
Filter reviews
30 results
Traveller rating
11
12
2
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
11
12
2
2
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 30 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Have been an occasional drinker in the Black Horse and pleased to see it taken over by friendly new management. Was impressed by the look of the new menu and went for a Sunday roast, but was disappointed, the food was not seasoned at all and made with no TLC and the gravy was awful. One of our group had the ribs which looked nice but they weren't ribs just bits of pork belly! Bit cheeky! They need to get rid of those god awful tall tables in the front bar and replace with smaller tables (this has been commented on by several people I know) and it will have a much better ambiance. Other wise, staff are very friendly and beer selection great, just a few tweaks and bit more effort with the food and it could become a more regular drinking establishment for me and my friends! Every pub in Lewes needs to remember they are competing with the Snowdrop for food, which is hard to top!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank LewesMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

Looking for somewhere for Sunday lunch on the way to Brighton and found this gem. Why is this not my local pub!! Great imaginative menu, wonderful food and great selection of beer. Very friendly bar staff and wonder clean place. Free parking in the road on Sunday

Stayed: January 2014
Thank Harrisbadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

This pub is gorgeous and cosy with two open fireplaces, but the best thing about it is the food. We came with a large group for Sunday lunch and all our meals came out at the same time and tasted amazing. Most pubs only offer roasts on Sundays, whereas the menu here has a choice of different roasts (all piled high and cooked perfectly), plus loads of other tasty stuff like gnocchi, curries, etc. We also ordered desserts to share on our table (including sticky toffee pudding and an orange creme brûlée), and they were all ridiculously good.

We're from Brighton, but will definitely be making regular trips into Lewes to eat here.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Thank Kelly76_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Being local we have been in here a few times for a drink but with an uninspiring and meat based menu have never eaten before. Word of the new chef and menu made us try again and we were pleasantly surprised. There is now a wide range of interesting food choices to suit all tastes with some creative twists all at reasonable prices. It was good to see lots of veggie and vegan options and all looked interesting takes even if based on common dishes. Prompt food and service and a good range of beer including local based breweries.Definitely worth trying again now they have changed the menu.

Room Tip: Not applicable
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveFunne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Amazing food, I loved the sound of the Stuffed & Roasted Garlic Phesant Kiev & the wild blackberry and apple crumble, serfved with ice-cream or custard Or BOTH! :)
Kitchen's spotless, shame about the alcoholics that work here! The only thing that lets this place down is the staff. Rude and obnoxious, even as far as calling a local lady, "the witch". Hopefully after a staff changeover the chef can really get this place up & running. Good Luck :)

Room Tip: Don't Bother
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank princessfionapants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews