We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great find in a pretty town”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lewes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Oakley Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 39 Lewes B&B and Inns
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
“A great find in a pretty town”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

A family situation meant we needed to find accommodation in Lewes quickly, and we found the newly opened Oakley B&B.
despite the sad reason we had to come to Lewes we were touched with the kind reception we received from Helen and Andrew.
Our room was lovely and comfortable and our host couldn't do enough for us, even made some special arrangements for us which made our time much bearable.
The food was great, yummy english breakfast with all the trimmings.
Would definitely recommend and will definitely come back to make a touristy visit to Lewes and will definitely stay at Oakley B&B.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    10
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
20
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Timmins, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 October 2013

What a beautiful town with a jewel of a B&B. the host were so kind and generous and very knowledgeable of the area and its vast history. Easy commute by train to London and Brighton with the station only 5 min walk away. The room was comfortable and the food yummy. Cant wait to say at the Oakley B&B again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kcameron60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Great location in close proximity to the railway station and central to all amenities. Run by a wonderful couple who catered for all my needs. Highly recommend Oakley and will definitely stay again. Reasonable rates with wonderful food, catering for all needs. The couple were even willing to show me some of the local historical sites and of course the local entertainment.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Five star! Can't recommend this guest house more highly. It is in a fantastic location in the characterful area of Southover. The owners, Helen and Andrew, were wonderful. On arrival I was greeted like a friend and was made to feel at home, One of the many pleasant surprises about staying here is that they have an extensive of knowledge of the history of the local area and were more than happy to impart a wealth of information which enhanced my visits to the local landmarks. Oakley is within easy walking distance to Anne of Cleves Museum, The Priory of St Pancras, the Norman Southover church and the beautiful Grange Gardens. It is also close to the High Street and Lewes castle. My room was gorgeous. It was spotlessly clean, modern but full of character and beautifully furnished with a very comfortable bed. Can heartily recommend the delicious breakfast. Try the homemade preserves! The best I've had! There are even a couple of pubs nearby. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LynnfromOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewes
0.4 mi away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#3 of 8 in Lewes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Shelleys
The Shelleys
#4 of 8 in Lewes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Lewes Town Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#7 of 8 in Lewes
3.0 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
2.0 mi away
Newmarket Inn
Newmarket Inn
#5 of 8 in Lewes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
5.4 mi away
Premier Inn Newhaven Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakley Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakley Bed and Breakfast

Property: Oakley Bed and Breakfast
Address: 19 Cluny Street, Lewes BN7 1LN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Lewes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Lewes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic Southover area, of Lewes, close to the town centre and railway station (only 40 minutes from Gatwick), this friendly, quiet guest house offers one double and one single room. Breakfasts include homemade preserves and local, organic produce. Special diets catered for. Free off-street parking and Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Oakley Bed And Breakfast Lewes, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing