We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home from home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oakley Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lewes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Oakley Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 42 Lewes B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Home from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Andrew and Helen are wonderful hosts - friendly and welcoming. My room was very comfortable, clean, had tea making facilities and even a gift too! The bathroom was spotlessly clean, with towels and toiletries available. The breakfast was lovely - cereals, homemade jams, a great cooked breakfast and copious amounts of tea and coffee on offer. I cannot recommend the Oakley highly enough. Thank you Helen and Andrew!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 77Laura_P777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    10
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
20
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed here when visiting Lewes prior to an interview. Helen and Andrew were highly accommodating and really made me feel like a member of the family. Would definitely return and have recommended this B&B to family and friends. Thank you for a welcoming stay!

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank angiejones100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

A very pleasant b and b with welcoming hosts to a clean and well kept home - very comfortable room and bed with excellent tv and drinks making facilities; the bathroom has a lovely hot powerful shower and an abundance of towels and toiletries. A good cooked breakfast with plenty of choice set me up for the following day. The house is very handy for the station and town centre, and not far from the pub. I'll be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Wittering, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

Helen and Andrew are fantastic hosts. You will not find a more friendly welcome anywhere. Very comfortable and clean rooms and bathroom. Good recommendations of local restaurants. Great breakfast. Great location within easy walk of the town centre. We will certainly be coming back.

My only concern about giving too good a review is that they may not have space for us next time we want to visit! So, forget about all I have just said - it's a rubbish B&B - you really wouldn't like it :).

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Stephen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

As soon as we arrived Helen made us so welcome, our room was very comfortable and supplied with so many goodies it was so much more than we expected. My husband is dairy intolerant and dairy free milk and even biscuits were bought for him such caring people. The house is ideally situated within very easy walking distance of Lewes centre and there is ample free parking near by. We would definitely recommend Oakley B and B for its quality of service.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank stoursh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

My friend recommended this place and I'm glad that I've listen his advice.
It's very good price for what you are getting. Room was very clean same as bathroom.
Usual choice for the breakfast which I very enjoyed.
I would def recommend this place and if I ever come back to Lewes this is will be my first and only choice when it comes to book a room.

Thank you Helen and Andy for making me feel welcome.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank SpecialOne74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Litochoro, Greece
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

If you're looking for a place to say in Lewes you can't go wrong with the the Oakley B&B. Helen and Andrew are wonderful hosts with tremendous knowledge of the region. There rooms are warm, cozy and well equipped.

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank keiththewheeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewes
0.4 mi away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#3 of 8 in Lewes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Shelleys
The Shelleys
#5 of 8 in Lewes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
0.7 mi away
Newmarket Inn
Newmarket Inn
#4 of 8 in Lewes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#7 of 8 in Lewes
3.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
7.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
5.4 mi away
Premier Inn Newhaven Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakley Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakley Bed and Breakfast

Property: Oakley Bed and Breakfast
Address: 19 Cluny Street, Lewes BN7 1LN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Lewes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Lewes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic Southover area, of Lewes, close to the town centre and railway station (only 40 minutes from Gatwick), this friendly, quiet guest house offers one double and one single room. Breakfasts include homemade preserves and local, organic produce. Special diets catered for. Free off-street parking and Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Oakley Bed And Breakfast Lewes, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing