We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and cosy - a home from home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lewes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Oakley Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 39 Lewes B&B and Inns
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Comfortable and cosy - a home from home”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I have not stayed in a B&B for some years, opting for instead chain hotels whenever I just need to stay over for one night. I have been missing out! Oakley is the perfect example of how more pleasurable it can be staying in a B&B rather than a generic chain hotel. For less money my friend and I enjoyed thoughtful touches such as wide range of clipper teas on the hospitality tray together with lovely biscuits, fresh milk and bottled water. The room was charming with a selection of local books about Sussex.

The bathroom had plenty of towels and an array of toiletries.

Our hosts Andy and Helen were warm and welcoming. We checked in early so we could get ready for a wedding and were offered a much needed cup of tea upon arrival. They made sure we had fresh milk upon our return in the evening so we could have a brew before retiring to bed after a long day.

Breakfast was generous and very good. It surpasses anything you would have at a chain hotel where there is normally an additional charge of £10-£15 for a rubbery English breakfast. There was a choice of cereals. There was also yoghurt, toast, fruit, fresh juice. The bacon and sausages were of excellent quality and the cafetiere of fresh coffee was delicious.

Keep up the good work! Your thoughtfulness and warmth made our stay 5 *

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LucyC915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    10
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
20
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Helen and Andy are fabulous hosts, really thinking of every little detail and comfort, even down to lovely free chocolates in the bedrooms. The house is very clean and comfortable, and Helen loves to chat about anything and everything -- it's so nice to be welcomed by such friendly folks.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MmmissD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Great location for seeing Lewe, with a map provided and an area overview given.

Made to feel very welcome with home made cake.

All breakfast produce locally sourced.

Bedroom was comfortable and clean. Lovely little extras provided as well. Great toiletry selection also.

Room Tip: Sleep quality only average as the bed was slightly too firm for myself. Otherwise property very quit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Shona P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2014

There aren't many b&bs in Lewes itself so it was great to discover that there was a new one and that it is a gem. Helen and Andrew have thought of all the little things that that make a difference, like good quality shampoo and lotion in the bathroom, and they are both friendly and helpful. They are happy to share their wealth of local knowledge and there were local history books in the room. Easy walking distance of everything in the town. I had a lovely time and will be back!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Andrew and Helen are wonderful hosts - friendly and welcoming. My room was very comfortable, clean, had tea making facilities and even a gift too! The bathroom was spotlessly clean, with towels and toiletries available. The breakfast was lovely - cereals, homemade jams, a great cooked breakfast and copious amounts of tea and coffee on offer. I cannot recommend the Oakley highly enough. Thank you Helen and Andrew!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 77Laura_P777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed here when visiting Lewes prior to an interview. Helen and Andrew were highly accommodating and really made me feel like a member of the family. Would definitely return and have recommended this B&B to family and friends. Thank you for a welcoming stay!

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank angiejones100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2014

A very pleasant b and b with welcoming hosts to a clean and well kept home - very comfortable room and bed with excellent tv and drinks making facilities; the bathroom has a lovely hot powerful shower and an abundance of towels and toiletries. A good cooked breakfast with plenty of choice set me up for the following day. The house is very handy for the station and town centre, and not far from the pub. I'll be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewes
0.4 mi away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#3 of 8 in Lewes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Shelleys
The Shelleys
#4 of 8 in Lewes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Lewes Town Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#7 of 8 in Lewes
3.0 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
2.0 mi away
Newmarket Inn
Newmarket Inn
#5 of 8 in Lewes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
5.4 mi away
Premier Inn Newhaven Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakley Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakley Bed and Breakfast

Property: Oakley Bed and Breakfast
Address: 19 Cluny Street, Lewes BN7 1LN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Lewes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Lewes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic Southover area, of Lewes, close to the town centre and railway station (only 40 minutes from Gatwick), this friendly, quiet guest house offers one double and one single room. Breakfasts include homemade preserves and local, organic produce. Special diets catered for. Free off-street parking and Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Oakley Bed And Breakfast Lewes, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing