We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Blue Door Barns

Blue Door Barns
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Blue Door Barns
Little Lodge bedroom The Sailor's House
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
Blue Door Barns
Little Lodge bedroom
The Sailor's House
The Nook
The Snug, the Blue Door Barns treatment room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Lewes, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ossie47
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect”
Reviewed 5 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

So just returned from my second stay at Blue Door Barns. Both times were very different - both amazing! The first time, my husbamd and I had a romantic weekend in The Nook abd Bryony and Emma could not have been more helpful with local information and places to visit etc. The setting, barn, breakfast in “the big house” was wonderful and we relaxed completly.

The second time, I hired all the accommodation for my birthday celebrations with 12 friends and from start to finish everything was perfect and Bryony and Emma were on hand before and during our stay to make
Sure it all went well.All the barns are so cosy and well-equipped. The beds and bed linen are SO comfy and the decor is quirky and tasteful.
On this visit, we had dinner in the big house and it was lovely - beautiful room with candles and a roaring fire. Our drinks were topped up and the food was delicious.
After dinner, Emma lit the fire round at the barns and we carried on the party there!
Breakfast was beautiful the next day and we went for a bracing walk in the next village.

I cannot fault Blue Door Barns and am already planning a summer visit!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Mar 2018
Thanks for your lovely review. We hope to see you again soon. Best wishes - Em & Bryony
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect, restorative break”
Reviewed 12 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Blue Door Barns couldn’t have delivered more - I spent a few days here on a quick break before heading back to work for a new year. Bryony and Emma were fantastic hosts from start to finish - delicious breakfasts in a beautiful setting, warm conversation and full of excellent recommendations. Two horse rides and two treatments were no trouble at all for the hosts to organise (Stephanie Slade’s facials are definitely worth calling out, quite special), and they all round made it so easy for me to enjoy the few days. I return to the big smoke totally energised, with a clear head and a car full of Lewes flea-market finds, and plotting for the next trip. Can’t wait, and thank you so much.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jan 2018
Thank you so much for being a lovely guest and we are so thrilled it was the restorative break you needed. See you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JWAtry
Province of Barcelona, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful shabby chic, done in style & character.”
Reviewed 28 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Very friendly welcoming hosts.We stayed in 'Little Nook', very cosy, stylish & comfortable, set in a stunning courtyard - definitely worth a stay!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Oct 2017
Thank you for your kind comments and we are so thrilled you had a lovely stay. We hope to see you again. Kind regards - Bryony & Emma
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Blue Door Delight”
Reviewed 10 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Lovely quirky cottages. Clean and comfortable. Loved the courtyard with log burner. Helped make a special wedding weekend perfect.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Aug 2017
Ah thank you for your kind words. We hope to welcome you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurence...
1 review
“Fantastic stay, wonderful riding”
Reviewed 26 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We had a really excellent stay at Blue Door Barns. The accommodation was beautiful and very peaceful and we were really made to feel welcome. For us the best thing about Blue Door Barns, other than the tranquility, was the ease of booking our riding through Bryony rather than having to arrange it ourselves. We had an hour's lesson at Bevern Bridge Stables with Michelle, who was a wonderful instructor, before heading out on the second day for a 1.5 hour hack across the South Downs. It was such a beautiful ride, with excellent horses and we had a couple of opportunities for a full gallop across the countryside which was exhilarating. After our rides we were able to refuel at some of the lovely local pubs including the Ram Inn, Firle and the Blacksmiths Arms, Offham, both of which serve great food. All in all we had a wonderful stay, made all the better by the helping hand of Bryony and the staff.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jul 2017
Thank you for being perfect guest. We so enjoyed having you to stay - and those gallops were fantastic! Hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
psandhu1
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay!”
Reviewed 20 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

I stayed here for two nights- the first night with my mum before my wedding and the next night with my husband! Bryony and emma ensured that the lodge was in 5* condition- clean and luxurious. The bed was lovely and comfortable and the rain shower was a dream. Beautiful and tasteful decor yet homely.

Checking in and out was super easy.

Thank you! We will be coming back for a little treat in the near future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jun 2017
Thank you for your lovely review - and do come and stay soon. We'd love to have you here again. Maybe your anniversary? x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoebe901
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Quite disappointing - no sleep!”
Reviewed 18 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We had been really looking forward to visiting this place as it looked really nice on the website. However on arrival and after staying a night we were quite disappointed. The Little Lodge is advertised as accommodating four but to be honest it was quite tight with 2 of us. The bed is not a full sized double, there is no standing shower (or screen around the bath so water goes everywhere) and some of the doors are split doors which does show the small size. The rooms were nicely decorated, and it's in a relatively good location for visiting Sussex attractions, but we barely got any sleep. This was mainly because the lodge is on someone's driveway so there were cars going past in the night including one which stopped with full headlights on directly outside the bedroom window. There were also flashing lights directly opposite the window which were impossible to sleep through as the blind didn't block them out, and a loud extractor fan right next to the bedroom. When the people in the lodge next to us came back we could then hear everything in their lodge too. These felt more like designed outbuildings than luxury accommodation so for the expensive price it is just a bit disappointing. There is also no view - it was a hot day but the lodge is totally in shade because of the property opposite overlooking it, and from the living room all you can really see is the car park. There is also no privacy as all the lodges are very close together. The hosts when we booked it were very nice and helpful, but all in all this was not what we were expecting after looking at the website. Having breakfast as an expensive add-on is also not great given the standard of the accommodation. There were some tea and coffee sachets and a small amount of milk (not even a half pint) but no welcome bottle of wine of anything like that. All in all this just wasn't what it said on the website and sadly, we didn't feel it was worth the money.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jun 2017
Hello there

We are very sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay and that you were disturbed. There were other guests staying over the weekend who I noted came back at 11.30 so sorry they disturbed you but we do say that we are a cluster of barns around a courtyard which we also show on the website. Just for reference the bed in the Little Lodge is a standard double from Feather & Black - it is definitely not smaller than this. And with regard to the milk, we always put this size bottle of fresh milk in for guests for tea and coffee, rather than the horrid UHT sachets that you often get.

We were also sorry you didn't enjoy the outside space - you had the place to yourself on the Saturday night as the other guests were at a wedding but I guess you went out and so didn't light the fire in the courtyard or go for an alfresco meal in the courtyard. We did also set you private patio up for you that night with views over the fields but again sorry this disappointed.

It was lovely to meet you by the way and we hope our directions to The Ram Inn got you there. Thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards - bryony
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing