We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little find”

Little Cottage Tea Room and Gardens
Ranked #4 of 8 Coffee & Tea in Lewes
Price range: US$1 - US$16
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Welcome to the Little Cottage Tea Rooms nestled in the beautiful village of Glynde within the South Downs National Park. This is a delightful setting for enjoying morning coffee with a croissant, a light lunch or indulging in a traditional English afternoon tea, served with pretty vintage cups, saucers and teapots, as well as warming soups, baked potatoes, pies and pastries through the winter months. We are committed to using high quality ingredients from local suppliers. The tea room is ideal after a walk in the country side, a visit to Glynde Place or before the opera at the famous Glyndebourne Opera House. The tea room is fully licensed and available for private parties and functions whatever the occasion, so whether it's a hen party, a birthday party or any other special event you can be sure it will be an elegant occasion.
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Originally found this place via LivingSocial and SO glad I did.
I've been back about 3 times since and it never fails to please.
Always an every changing array of cakes, beautifully presented on vintage china and fantastic value for money.
Only criticism would be, that because the water comes from an urn for the teapot, its always been on the tepid side...so you need to drink your tea quick.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Miss1michelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie B, Owner at Little Cottage Tea Room and Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

We are delighted you found us, thank you for your review. Please do let us know if the tea is a little tepid, we always happy to replace it was a fresh hot pot of tea. We hope to delight you with more tasty cakes next time you visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
There are newer reviews for Little Cottage Tea Room and Gardens
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 52 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2014

Afternoon tea in the garden with friends. Sunny day. Deal included glass of bubbly, anti pasti, scone and cakes. Drink refills. Excellent value.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dizzydi_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie B, Owner at Little Cottage Tea Room and Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Thank you for your review DizzyDi, its great to hear you had a relaxing afternoon with friends at the Little Cottage Tea Room. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

I visited this tea room today and they weren't too busy, though the staff were all running around like headless chickens (probably with the festival weekend). We took a seat out in the garden and had to wait about 15 minutes to be served, yet a few tables that arrived after us were served before us. We ended up going inside to order and then had to wait another 15 minutes for a tea and coffee. Again, we had to go inside to ask about it and when I did the lady simply said 'it's coming!!' , and no apology for our wait whatsoever. Also when drinking my tea, at one point I swallowed something rather large. I'm not sure what was in the teapot but it definitely shouldn't have been there. We left after that, they seemed too stressed for me to tell them what happened with my tea. However the garden was lovely, and the tea room has huge potential, but the service is completely lacking in all aspects.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jade B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie B, Owner at Little Cottage Tea Room and Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

We are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed by your recent visit to our tea room. As you mentioned, we were exceptionally busy with the festival weekend bringing 15,000+ visitors to our otherwise sleepy village. However, this does not excuse poor service, so we apologise unreservedly. We would have welcomed the chance to rectify the situation if you had made us aware at the time and really hope that we another opportunity to show you we can be so much more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We chanced upon this little tearoom during a walk in The Downs. The garden looked inviting and the menu just what we wanted straightforward food with a bit of style.
We sat under a shady weeping birch in an attractive garden, and relaxed. We were welcomed warmly by a friendly chatty lady. Our sandwiches (very reasonable at £4.95, we thought) were rfreshly made in lovely artisan rolls, accompanied by a nice salad, homemade coeslaw and potato salad and vegetable crisps. Our tea was served in a pot with a tea cosy - very sweet.
This is a little place run by people who want to satisfy their customers and provide delicious simple food in a pleasant environment. Well, Ladies, for us, you succeeded in spades! We'll return to sample some of your home-made cake that we had no space for this time!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gill I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie B, Owner at Little Cottage Tea Room and Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

We'll have plenty of homemade cake ready for your next visit. Thank you for such a lovely review, it gives us great satisfaction to feel we are providing a great service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Great service from the moment we stepped through the door to moment we left. Attentive, friendly abd very welcoming. I have had some shocking service in some tea rooms, this was by far the best, EVER.

The afternoon tea was worth every penny. Fantastic anti-pasta to start, followed by superb glass of proseco and possibly the best selection of cakes, cream teas and open sandwichs. Truly blown away by the selection and quality. The tea was oretty damn good too.

Debbie, the proprietor, served us and couldnt have been more helpful, charming and just lovely.

As for the tea room itself, it was so pretty. We sat in the garden with views of the Sussex countryside.

This place is a must. I definitely will be coming back. Amazing.

Thank Affy G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Debbie B, Owner at Little Cottage Tea Room and Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

We are so pleased you enjoyed your afternoon tea, thank you for your review. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travellers who viewed Little Cottage Tea Room and Gardens also viewed

 
Lewes, East Sussex
 
Lewes, East Sussex
Lewes, East Sussex
 

Been to Little Cottage Tea Room and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing