We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply delightful tea rooms and garden!”

Little Cottage Tea Room And Gardens
Ranked #15 of 107 Restaurants in Lewes
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$17
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Welcome to the Little Cottage Tea Rooms nestled in the beautiful village of Glynde within the South Downs National Park. This is a delightful setting for enjoying morning coffee with a croissant, a light lunch or indulging in a traditional English afternoon tea, served with pretty vintage cups, saucers and teapots, as well as warming soups, baked potatoes, pies and pastries through the winter months. We are committed to using high quality ingredients from local suppliers. The tea room is ideal after a walk in the country side, a visit to Glynde Place or before the opera at the famous Glyndebourne Opera House. The tea room is fully licensed and available for private parties and functions whatever the occasion, so whether it's a hen party, a birthday party or any other special event you can be sure it will be an elegant occasion. August 2020 - the tea garden will be open for advanced bookings only for Afternoon or Cream Tea’s. Days and hours will vary depending on the weather.
Reviewed 27 August 2019 via mobile

Having spotted this little gem when walking last year, I put it in the memory bank for a treat for another day. We went on bank holiday Monday and had a great little spot in the very pretty garden. The service was cheerful and prompt and the food was delicious! I can’t wait to return and next time book the afternoon tea which looked wonderful! Lovely couple running both the tea rooms and shop.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank sunnyspells293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2019 via mobile

Found this hidden gem on trip advisor.
Since we did not pre order the special high tea, our options were sandwiches and scones, and tea of course. The food was fresh and delicious and the tea was good. The atmosphere was charming, in a nice green garden.
Highly recommended

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Tamarnad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2019

Gorgeous gardens at this little tearoom in the Post Office and Shop at Glynde. My husband said it was the best tearoom he'd been to. We did have a bit of a blip however, as I decided to email them and book a table for 4 for afternoon tea, not realising that afternoon tea meant the whole works i.e. sandwiches, selection of cakes, scones, jam and cream at £13.75 per person which they prepare specially in advance. Apparently you can't book if you are having their cream tea or tea and cakes. As it was my husbands birthday and we were going there especially I didn't want to get there and find it full up. However, I now realise that probably isn't a problem as there are lots of tables and chairs in the garden as well as inside although they had said inside was fully booked that day. We had a lovely time under the gazebo with the table laid prettily and luckily the sun come out. Jo the lady I had booked with realised we had made a mistake as we only wanted the cream tea for 3 and cake for one. All the cakes are gluton free and quite delicious.So we will definitely go again but remember not to book!

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Nadine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2019 via mobile

Found this place through trip advisor and so glad I did. Myself, mum and granny went for a birthday afternoon tea here and can’t stop raving about it. Food was lovely, staff were very friendly and setting is beautiful. Would love to go back

Date of visit: June 2019
1  Thank EmmaHendry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2019

Very friendly host to this really time tearoom with a back garden with tables.

Sandwich choice in the tea was good and all freshly made.

Cakes all brought in as kitchen too small to cope with baking.

About 12 teas to choose from, top up of pot offered.

Host very chatty so this place which is part of the post office is ideal for her.

Would we go back, yes

Date of visit: June 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GreyTrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Little Cottage Tea Room And Gardens also viewed

 
Lewes, East Sussex
Lewes, East Sussex
 

Been to Little Cottage Tea Room And Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.