We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful and delicious - best Christmas treat ever”

Little Cottage Tea Room And Gardens
Ranked #15 of 107 Restaurants in Lewes
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$17
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Welcome to the Little Cottage Tea Rooms nestled in the beautiful village of Glynde within the South Downs National Park. This is a delightful setting for enjoying morning coffee with a croissant, a light lunch or indulging in a traditional English afternoon tea, served with pretty vintage cups, saucers and teapots, as well as warming soups, baked potatoes, pies and pastries through the winter months. We are committed to using high quality ingredients from local suppliers. The tea room is ideal after a walk in the country side, a visit to Glynde Place or before the opera at the famous Glyndebourne Opera House. The tea room is fully licensed and available for private parties and functions whatever the occasion, so whether it's a hen party, a birthday party or any other special event you can be sure it will be an elegant occasion. August 2020 - the tea garden will be open for advanced bookings only for Afternoon or Cream Tea’s. Days and hours will vary depending on the weather.
Reviewed 14 December 2019

We visited The Little Cottage Tea Room for Afternoon Tea to celebrate Christmas. We were warmly welcomed to our beautifully presented table - the tea room's festive decorations were equally lovely. We accepted the mulled wine (rude not to), which was yummy, followed by a fab range of teas. Delivery of our tea was truly a wow moment. The finger sandwiches were delicate, the homemade cakes were simply gorgeous (we tried vegan midnight chocolate and cinnamon-orange), with exceptionally good mince pies and Christmas cake too, but the gold star went to the the cranberry and orange scones - which were the best scones I've ever eaten. The Little Team Room was the best Christmas treat we could have wished for.

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jennygaitskell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2019 via mobile

Such a lovely little tearoom and we were made to feel very welcome. Freshly made sandwiches, beautiful scones and delicious cakes - yum. I will definitely visit again.

Date of visit: November 2019
1  Thank kazzerH141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2019

What a wonderful quintessential English Tea Room. Had a lovely Cheese Ploughman’s for lunch which was simple, in a very good way, with everything done to perfection. Cream Tea dessert to follow; warm scone, authentic and plentiful cream and jam. Pot of tea served with teapot, cup and saucer. The service is of the highest order; where nothing is too much trouble and everything is top quality. Strongly recommend as we will return, thank you.

Date of visit: November 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pete T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne G, Owner at Little Cottage Tea Room And Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2019

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review your feedback is invaluable to a small business like ours - glad I remembered the pickled onions at the last minute!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2019

We were lucky to visit on a beautiful summer afternoon. A very nice tea although I personally think two small sconces are nicer than one large one but a minor detail. Would definitely recommend this venue for a nice cream tea or lunch.

Date of visit: August 2019
1  Thank 795janew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2019

I got confused with my tea rooms and realised I had been communicating with the wrong tea room, as this was my second choice, I am so glad I had got the wrong or right tea room!!
Very welcoming, engaging & charming tea rooms with a cute garden and outside seating with shade or umberellas if needed. The cakes are stunning, some made in house others not but a variety of gluten free and vegan if preferred and super bone china tea cups. A lovely sunny day complemented our visit with our friends, newly weds, neighbours and dogs!

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lizybizy2410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Little Cottage Tea Room And Gardens also viewed

 
Lewes, East Sussex
Lewes, East Sussex
 

Been to Little Cottage Tea Room And Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.