We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel”
Review of Pelham House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pelham House
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lewes
Reviewed 4 June 2011

This is certainly one of the nicest places I've ever stayed and easily the best place to stay in Lewes. The buildings are mostly eighteenth century and all charming. The panelled dining room with original spooky carvings is one of the coolest I've ever eaten a meal.
The staff were all lovely and extremely helpful.
It's quiet, beautiful and handy for the station and for Glyndebourne.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jgkennaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (861)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

744 - 750 of 861 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2011

I went for 2 nights with my parents in May this year. Staff were really accommodating about the three of us sharing a room and they gave us a surprise upgrade on arrival so we overlooked the gardens, which were beautiful. Nothing we asked for was too much. The beds were comfy, the view lovely and the breakfast really tasty with a really good selection of hot choices all freshly cooked to order. It was quiet, but still had a nice atmosphere and is in such a good location. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: Room 5 was simply briliant - great bay window
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juliaharriman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2011

Excellent.Food good.Friendly staff.Expensive but paid for the quality.Being disabled i could not fault this hotel for their help.Please do check about parking but we did know.Will use again

Room Tip: Back first floor room 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janerussell55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2011

The setting of Pelham House and the gardens are very attractive and sitting out on the terrace in the early evening is lovely. Having said that there is a bit they could do to improve things. The service on the terrace is pretty chaotic and the staff are over-stretched. The rooms can be very small. Mine was OK for size but being in the attic I did keep hitting my head on low beams. When my neighbour had a shower it sounded like being next to the Niagra Falls so the sound proofing needs a bit work. The bed was very comfortable. The TV, like many others have mentioned, was tiny and pretty rubbish. My bathroom was surprisingly spacious although with an institutional feel.
I did not have much of a view out the window except of a large tree and there were lots of cigarette butts in the gutter that previous guests had obviously thrown there when illegally smoking in their rooms.
The food in the restaurant was very good and the morning fry up very good too.
It is close to be a really good little hotel and the age of the building does create some constraints but given that they need to work a bit harder on the rest of it.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MetalPigeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2011

We had been to the Pelham before for dinner and had a pleasant evening so we decided to stay for a night over the Easter weekend. Room rate was £150 for a standard double with breakfast.
Firstly on arrival we were told there was no available parking and we'd have to use the station carpark - although that would have expired at 4am and we couldn't pay ahead for the following day. We had visions of getting up in the early hours to buy a new ticket! So we paid £5 only to walk back and find out that we could have parked for free in the road just outside after 6pm on Saturday. Surely the reception staff should have known that!

Then we were shown our room. It was so small that there was not even space for a bedside table on one side of the bed and my husband bashed his ankle just trying to manoeuvre around the bed. The ensuite shower room smelt like a hospital loo (not what you'd expect from a boutique hotel). The wardrobe was made from MDF and painted and it looked like a pretty basic makeover, bland and everything squeezed out with all expense spared and then slap on some Farrow and Ball to call it boutique. The portable tv was very small and quite antiquated but that was not an issue for us were it not for the the rest of the room being so small too.

On the plus side a good selection of teas and coffees and lovely views of the terrace and garden.

We had drinks on the terrace outside as it was a warm and gorgeous evening. Service was slow and quite disorganised. We ordered our first drinks without a problem but waited about 20 minutes with empty glasses before any serving staff came out to take another order. We sensed that there was no floor manager. The waiting staff were friendly and once we got their attention, helpful too but they just needed organisation.

Dinner was very good - locally sourced ingredients and simple dishes but well thought out with just enough choices . Portion sizes and prices made it good value and overall it was a lovely dining setting and somewhat redeemed the failings of the room.

We wanted an early night so turned in early but then the wedding disco kicked in! We endured the music till midnight followed by sounds of drunken wedding guests spilling out onto the terrace below our window. This was despite our confirmation mentioning that there was nothing booked for the night we were there. Even so boutique hotel and late night wedding discos don't make a great marriage! Unless they can soundproof the venue, we'd avoid risking a night here unless you are a heavy sleeper.

The next morning we enjoyed a very good breakfast- nice wide menu choice and well selected ingredients with fast service too!

We mentioned on checking out that we'd had a disturbed night but the best the Duty Manager could do was just apologise that we had not been properly informed and overall seemed disinterested that we'd not had a pleasant stay because of the noise.

For the restaurant and dining, it is a pleasant place to be but for the room and quality of sleep, we regretted the Pelham as our choice and would not stay in the hotel again.

Room Tip: go for the restaurant but don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CDocking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PelhamHouseLewes, Manager at Pelham House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2011

Thank you for taking the time to bring these matters to our attention.
I am concerned that the standards you experienced were not as expected. It is our primary aim to provide each guest with a comfortable and enjoyable stay. Unfortunately on this occasion it would appear that we did not achieve this.
I have looked into all the issues you raised and would like to take this opportunity to express my sincere apologies and thank you for bringing them to my attention.

We have limited parking at Pelham House and offer the spaces on a first come, first served basis. We do try to advise guests in advance of the car parking, which is mentioned on the confirmation letter and also on our website. There are facilities at the train station car park to extend the length of the ticket, but I am sorry that you felt you were not given enough information.

The room you were staying in, is on the small side, however if you are ever unhappy about the room you have booked please report this straight to reception and we will always do our best to offer you an alternative, if we have the availibilty. We are currently in the process of refurbishing our bedrooms and replacing all televisons to bring them more up to date.

I will bring the matter of service to the attention of the Restaurant Manager to ensure that all staff are bought up to speed.

I can only apologise for the disturbance from the wedding, we do try to warn all guests in advance of events happening but it would seem we failed to notify you on this occasion.

I would like to contact you directly to discuss how we can resolve the issues that you had during your stay and to hopefully restore your faith in our lovely hotel.

It is with constructive comments such as yours that helps us maintain and improve our normal high standards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2011

We had a wonderful stay at this delightful hotel. The service was excellent, and the staff were very helpful and considerate. My husband and my elderly mother stayed for 3 nights and had a wonderful break Our rooms overlooked the garden and the South Downs. The garden has a wonderful terrace, and we were able to have breakfast and afternoon tea out there. We loved the tranquil garden with its changing display of sculptures. Easy to curl up with a book and a good cup of coffee in the sunshine. We were in the centre of Lewes so lots of opportunity to go browsing round the shops. Also very close to the South Downs for lovely walks and drives. The food was delicious, we loved the fantastic breakfast.. We liked the flexibility , with an elderly relative or lunch on the terrace, afternoon tea, a supper in the lounge or a wonderful dinner in the restaurant. Loved our stay and will be returning soon.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank strawberrywhip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2011

We booked 2 rooms for my birthday including a room for my daughter who was visiting form Holland. We had a lovely evening meal but neither room had hot water the next morning despite the outlandishly priced accomodation.
The receptionist did not answer my phone calls - too busy apparently - and failed to appease my failing humour. The duty manager listened and said all the right things and did not charge us for the meal the previous evening.
A voucher for a future visit was promised but has never arrived......
My recommendation ; give this hotel a miss.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuperhooperReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewes
0.3 mi away
The Shelleys
The Shelleys
#3 of 7 in Lewes
401 reviews
2.3 mi away
Newmarket Inn
Newmarket Inn
#4 of 7 in Lewes
258 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Forge
The Forge
#1 of 1 in Halland
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,236 reviews
13.8 mi away
Ashdown Park Hotel & Country Club
9.3 mi away
Best Western The Birch Hotel
Best Western The Birch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Haywards Heath
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelham House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelham House

Address: St. Andrews Lane | East Sussex, Lewes BN7 1UW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Lewes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lewes
Price Range: £40 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pelham House 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pelham house offers 36 individually designed bedrooms that blend the best of modern fittings and comfort whilst preserving many original historic features of the building. All rooms are fitted with contemporary handmade oak furniture, remote controlled TVs, phones and high speed data points and have en-suite baths or luxury showers, a range of natural toiletries and comfortable beds with crisp white linen. Most bedrooms overlook our pretty south facing garden, framed by views towards the South Downs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pelham House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelham House Hotel Lewes
Pelham Hotel Lewes
Pelham House Lewes, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing