We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room small, dark, smelled of the kitchen...”
Review of Pelham House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pelham House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lewes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

My husband and I recently stayed here 2 nights for a wedding-- and were sorely disappointed by the quality of the room. For the £150.00 per night we were charged, I expected more than the VERY small, VERY dark room tucked under the eaves we were given--no view, too small for anything other than a bed, no shower in the bathroom, poor lighting throughout, cheap wood shelving and kitchen smells permeated the room. We would have been better off at a Travelodge! Worth about £55, maybe, a night at most! We complained and were given an upgrade for night 2 (and a complimentary glass of cheap prosecco for our trouble). To be fair, room #2 (one of their suites) was worth £150-- not combined price of the 2 rooms we paid!-- and I left feeling as though Pelham House had taken the proverbial p%ss.

Room Tip: If you are shown the room we were given, complain. Let's say they were not surprised when we co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 288Maisie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PelhamHouseLewes, Front desk and Reservations Manager at Pelham House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2012

Dear Guest,



Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay at Pelham House Hotel, we are sincerely sorry that you were disappointed with your experience and that we did not meet your expectations. At Pelham House, we strive to ensure that our guests have as pleasant a stay as possible and therefore we appreciate all the comments and feedback we receive as this helps us to identify any issues and further improve our service.



As Pelham House is a sixteenth century building all of our bedrooms are very different and each is individually designed to reflect the unique nature of the venue. We are continuously updating and refurbishing our bedrooms and improving our facilities to ensure that our guest’s stays are as comfortable as possible and we rely on guest’s feedback to ascertain what we are doing right and what areas need attention. From your description, I cannot be certain which bedroom you stayed in on your first night with us. However, I would like to apologise if the decor and fittings did not meet our usual standards.



As a standard procedure, if any of our rooms fail to meet our guest expectations we always do our upmost to find an alternative bedroom and whenever possible provide a complimentary upgrade. As we were fully booked on the first night of your stay with us we were unable to offer a more suitable bedroom until the second night. I understand that this alternative arrangement came too late for you to fully benefit from the upgrade and therefore, I can understand that you left disappointed.



I would like to take this opportunity to offer you my sincerest apologies. We never like a guest to leave disappointed and always hope that we can turn around a bad experience. Therefore, should you choose to stay with us again please contact me directly so that I can personally oversee your reservation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,072)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

887 - 893 of 1,072 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2012

Almost excellent. Located in the centre of town within easy access to shops and tourist attractions. A classical georgian building with excellent public areas, bar and restaurant. We were only there one night but enjoyed an excellent evening meal. (No Mitchelin Star yet but could well earn one in the future). The breakfast was the best choice we have ever seen in this class of hotel, with a superb buffet selection of fresh fruit, yoghurts, cerials etc. Very good choice of hot breakfasts, well cooked and presented.

Sadly, our room was in a converted garage/stable block, located across the car park from the main house (surprisingly quiet). Newly decorated in a modern style, it was a good size with comfortable bed. Limited wardrobe and storage space (we were on a 15 day tour of UK, so lots of luggage). Only real critism was water seepage and damp around base of shower. We would have prefered to have been in a more traditional room in the main house, but did not make this clear when booking.

However, when booking we did request a car parking space and were very disappointed to find that no space had been reserved for us. We were sumarily sent to park at the railway station, some distance away by a harrased car parking attendant. Hotel management did apologise later when they had checked our booking and made amends with free drinks at dinner.

Apart from the carpark attendant (in fareness he was trying to deal with a load of wedding cars at the time), every member of staff were friendly and welcoming. Service was excellent and professional. We will certainly recommend Pelham House and will stay there again.

Room Tip: If travelling by car, phone hotel in advance to confirm parking reservation. If prefered, ask for ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We have stayed at PH for 3 years whilst visiting Glyndebourne Opera. We have always been pleased with the accommodation and indeed the breakfast, however the one gripe is the service which appears to have gotten worse this year.
If you are going to advertise your hotel as suitable for Glyndebourne surely you would understand that virtually all guests will need to be leaving at about 2.30-3.00pm and that folk would want to get into their rooms beforehand?
Also the next morning the service at breakfast was slow due to the lack of staff. Those on duty were swamped and did their best, but it was noticeable that there appeared to be a lack of care from management about the situation.
However having said all that, we would hope to return next year, so that should tell you something!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles_Annette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

After being told like many other people on here that the car park was fully booked we saw that it was half full all night and in the morning obvioulsy being kept for dining guests. We stayed here whilst attending a wedding 10 minutes away so really just needed a room for the night. Our room was on the upper floor of the converted garage block and is too small to charge the rates they do. Hotels should not be allowed to charge these rates for a room that is not suitable for two adults. The breakfast was very good and service was great but it is a shame about the room.

Room Tip: Stay in the old building not the garage block
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TGM73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

This has become our place to stay when coming to Glyndebourne. The house itself was a private home and then the HQ of Sussex Council, and it retains some elements of both: a wood paneled room used for the breakfast room with carvings from the 16th century, and the office of the head of the Council with a wall of glass-fronted wooden cabinets (room 9). The rooms facing the gardens are lovely, with a beautiful view of the downs. Beds are comfortable. The restaurant is excellent, again with views on the garden; in summer, eating outside is a wonderful experience. Art on the walls and sculpture in the gardens are exhibitions prepared by the hotel's own curator. Staff are friendly and helpful. Rooms are furnished with a (for us) pleasing mix of contemporary fittings and random antiques,not the standard chain-hotel look. It's a boutique, after-all! There are a few negatives: it is essential to reserve parking space as there are few spots, and things can get noisy when there is a wedding.A few of the less expensive rooms are a bit pokey. There are no rooms with bath. The superior rooms are well worth the cost. Overall, this hotel is the best value for money in the area, and a home away from home for us.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlexaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

The two of us stayed on one of their sunday night deals. This it has to be said represents extremely good value, @ £55 each for 3 course supper / room / breakfast. The food we had was absolutely first rate, with some very creative touches that worked brilliantly - the chef 'Glen Lester' apparently used to work at Terre a terre in brighton which is a well respected vegetarian resaurant.
The only reason why i'm not giving this a 5 is that the standard bedrooms although quite decent, weren't anything to get particularly excited about..... however upon arriving & finding the room we'd requested not to be the one we had thought we were getting (ie there was no bath in it) i went down explained & asked the receptionist if there was any possibility of another room which did have a bath. He promptly handed me another set of keys and said - i think you're gonna like this.... It was fantastic ! and only upon leaving did we discover that we'd been put in the bridal suite (amazing bath Huuuuuuge! in a room like a belltower with tons of light - windows on two sides)
And this is where this hotel supremely gets my vote as during another conversation with a diferrent receptionist on shift he explained that their policy is really always to try and upgrade people's room if it's at all possible and a better one happens to be standing empty - this really a nice thoughtfull touch i liked. The staff we met were all extremely friendly & theres quite a few pieces of art around and about the place including a great mural on the high ceiling of the lobby picturing people tightrope walking accross the divide.
They've got a super lovely little courtyard garden outside (more 3d art pieces dotted around) an if you go in summer it's a totally delightful english pastoral setting to sit in and have breakfast.
Lewes is an interesting quirky place with some quite good little boutiquey shops and a whole host of excellent real ale pubs some of which have regular live music.
We had a great stay at Pelham house - loved it.

Room Tip: Ask if there's any possibility of being upgraded when you get there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bathdaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

I love going to this restaurant, which is in the Pelham House hotel. It is right in the heart of Lewes, yet is so quiet and peaceful, it could be out in the countryside. I have always found the meals to be excellent, and very reasonably priced. I particularly enjoy eating in a delightful oak panelled room, and outside there is a huge terrace, facing a large garden, with beautiful views of the South Downs beyond it. The staff are always friendly and helpful and it is a joy to go there for either a meal, a drink, or just a coffee. One of my favourite places. The town itself is very lively and interesting, but does have a serious problem with parking, which is very expensive. I usually go there by public transport, but if I have ever had to drive there, I have booked a table and a parking space, in their limited parking area, well in advance. It is a nuisance, but that is problem to all of Lewes at any time.

    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Hendrik W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewes
0.3 mi away
The Shelleys
The Shelleys
#2 of 7 in Lewes
407 reviews
2.3 mi away
Newmarket Inn
Newmarket Inn
#4 of 7 in Lewes
261 reviews
6.3 mi away
East Sussex National
East Sussex National
#1 of 2 in Little Horsted
1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
The Forge
The Forge
#1 of 1 in Halland
176 reviews
6.3 mi away
Horsted Place
Horsted Place
#2 of 2 in Little Horsted
246 reviews
11.5 mi away
Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelham House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelham House Hotel

Address: St. Andrews Lane | East Sussex, Lewes BN7 1UW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Lewes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lewes
Price Range: £54 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pelham House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pelham house offers 36 individually designed bedrooms that blend the best of modern fittings and comfort whilst preserving many original historic features of the building. All rooms are fitted with contemporary handmade oak furniture, remote controlled TVs, phones and high speed data points and have en-suite baths or luxury showers, a range of natural toiletries and comfortable beds with crisp white linen. Most bedrooms overlook our pretty south facing garden, framed by views towards the South Downs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Stayforlong S.L., Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pelham House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelham House Hotel Lewes, East Sussex
Pelham Hotel Lewes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing