We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pelham House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$167
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$92
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$104
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$96
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White Horse Hotel(Rottingdean)
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Horsted Place(Little Horsted)
US$254
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
East Sussex National(Little Horsted)
US$156
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$137
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bull(Ditchling)
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Forge(Halland)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,091)
Filter reviews
1,091 results
Traveller rating
325
291
237
145
93
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
325
291
237
145
93
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsexecutive roompanelled dining roombubble and squeakparking spacehigh streetbridal suiteeggs benedictsouth downswine liststreet parkinglovely gardenfull englishthe main houseshower roomsalmonlarge roomcentre of town
Filter
Updating list...
881 - 886 of 1,091 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2012

I was due to stay here 23/10/12. On arrival I was asked if I had 'booked' a parking space...I hadn't as my company had booked the hotel and having travelled up & down the country for many years it has been my experience that you tend not to have to book a parking space at a hotel with a car park. I was then informed that they could squeeze my car in but I would have to pay £6.50 to park overnight. I presume they think they can get away with this little scam. I went to my room and phoned The Shellys (just round the corner) booked a room there and returned to the reception & booked out. I have given the hotel a 'poor' marking for this reason. To be fair, my room and the hotel looked pretty decent and I'm sure I would have enjoyed my stay in other circumstances...I am just not going to be ripped off.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
2  Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PelhamHouseLewes, General Manager at Pelham House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide these comments and I am sorry to hear of your disspointment with your recent stay. We have contacted you directly to offer a personal apology and to try and recify the situation. Please do not hesitate to contact me at the hotel should you not receive this or wish to discuss the matter further.

Kind Regards
Paul Morgan, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We stayed at the hotel for one night in October, whilst visting Lewes for a friend's birthday party. We ate lunch in the hotel upon arrival, but not in the evening.

Overall impression of the hotel was very good. It is a beautiful building. The dining area we had lunch in was perfectly fine, although we noticed that there was another very attractive room which we presume is used for evening dining, and if we went again I think we would try to eat in that dining room. The bar was small but perfectly adequate.

Lunch was good, although they did get my drink wrong initially (the waiter dealt with this very quickly and professionally) and I made a special request about my pudding which was not dealt with, which was a bit of shame. Despite this, a very pleasant lunch and the starters in particular were very good.

We took breakfast in our room the next morning. It was a bit of a challenge given the room size (see below) but we were very impressed with the quality. Often, if you take room service breakfast, it turns up soggy and/or cold, but the breakfast we had seemed hot, fresh and just right (even the poached egg!).

The main downside to our stay was the size of the room. We booked a standard double and it was TINY. The bathroom was also very small indeed, with only a shower and not a bath (in fairness the hotel website does say "bath or shower"). It did not matter too much to us as we were staying only one night, but the room would not be suitable for longer stays. In particular, the wardrobe was only big enough to take a small amount of items, and there was no other space (e.g. drawers) in which other items could be stored. The room did have a TV, but this is very small, so if your hotel stay involves laying in bad to watch a film, it is not really suitable. If you are planning on staying for more than one night, you would definitely need to book a bigger room.

Our room was also very noisy, from both inside and outside the hotel (it was a necessity to have the window open a crack as the room was so hot). People in the corridor sounded like they were in the room, and the next bedroom's door was so close it was difficult to tell if someone was knocking on their door or yours. I also found the bed quite hard, so neither of us got a good night's sleep.

We had left it too late to book a car park space at the hotel, so had to park in the railway station car park. It is very close, but the walk to the hotel is uphill, so when choosing your overnight case you might want to pick the one with wheels!

Despite the failings of the room, I still rate the hotel as four stars because overall it is a beautiful place, and the staff were very friendly and professional.

Room Tip: Don't go for a standard double if you are staying more than one night - too small.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jomajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Myself and my husband got married at Pelham house, the staff were fantastic, they went above and beyond to help. The night before the wedding, they set up a family suite for myself and all my bridesmaids, and the night on the wedding we stayed in the bridal suit, which was beautiful. The food was exceptional, and the gardens are beautiful. All staff are friendly and extremely accommodating. Fantastic 2night stay. Wonderful day, I would defiantly recommend for all couples looking for wedding venues, but also just as a little get away, wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kat N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PelhamHouseLewes, General Manager at Pelham House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2012

Dear Reviewer,
Congratulations on your recent wedding. I hope that married life is treating you well.
I would like to take this moment to thank you for choosing to celebrate your wedding at Pelham House and to say how delighted I am that we were able to make the day the special occasion that you both deserved.
I hope you will visit us again soon.
Best wishes for the future from all at Pelham House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Pelham House is a lovely building situated a few feet from Lewes high street. Firstly we found the staff at the hotel to be friendly and pleasant, nothing was too much trouble. Parking was not an issue even though we did not reserve a parking space (they only have a few spaces and they are tight and £6.50 a night) we parked on the road below the hotel, a hundred or so yards down a steep hill. It is free to park on the road after 6pm and before 8am and only took a waddle down the hill at 0800 to put a 90p ticket on the car to cover us whilst we dressed and had breakfast. No problems at all.

Our room was in the attic, an executive room which had a king size bed, well furnished and clean. We found two faults though which mean I would choose a room elsewhere in the building next time. The shower room was small and the shower itself had black/mouldy grout and sealant which really looked a miss when everything else looked very slick. The second problem we found was due to the age of the building and the fact the room is high up facing down a steep hill towards the downs, the problem is when the wind blows the windows rattle and bang so loudly it kept us awake for hours one night.

Breakfast is good quality indicated by not using cheap and nasty bacon and sausages with their cooked breakfast and decent coffee. We did not have dinner here but it looked lovely.

It is also worth noting that the hotel is a wedding venue so the cost of our room for the Saturday night was really expensive compared to Thurs and Fri. The noise from the wedding party stopped at about midnight so was not an issue for us on the noise front.

We will stay again but not on the top floor and will avoid Sat night as it is not worth the cost.

Room Tip: Avoid Sat nights and the top floor if it is going to be windy.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank familyPalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PelhamHouseLewes, Front Office Manager at Pelham House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2012

Dear Reviewer,
I would like to thank you for taking the time to write this review and to provide your comments.
I am pleased that you had an enjoyable stay over all. However, I was disappointed to hear from your description that the cleanliness of the bathroom was below our usual standards. I can assure you that this has now been addressed and I thank you for bringing it to our attention.
We are a popular wedding venue and so it is true that prices on the weekend can be higher to those during the week. However, we run new offers throughout the year so for you next stay please speak with our front of house team who will be happy to let you know the best offers available.
On a final, positive note I am glad that you enjoyed breakfast and I promise dinner is as good as it looks...
We look forward to welcoming you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We had a lovely time celebrating my husbands birthday. The staff were really helpful, in particular...

Gave us a free room upgrade.
Gave us a late check out.
Let us park our car longer than we should have (parking tricky otherwise in Lewes).

Nice room. Gorgeous view of the South Downs.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EllieOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PelhamHouseLewes, Manager at Pelham House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2012

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your comments and I hope your husband had a wonderful birthday.
I am very happy to hear that you had a pleasurable stay. Whenever we can we try to offer these special extras to make our guests stay all that more enjoyable. Although this is not always possible we always endeavour to meet every request, so I am delighted to hear that we were able to assist you with everything that you needed.
I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Many Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews