We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous hotel right off the top end of the town.”
Review of Pelham House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pelham House
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Lewes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Check in was courteous and welcoming. Take a moment to explore its numerous public rooms if you have to wait. From the garden, you’ll get a whole new aspect on the sheer size of Pelham House which isn’t immediately apparent from the reception entrance. You’d do well to pre-book the car parking on site here too, as spaces are quite limited.

Although our room was meant to be a superior room, the bathrooms were unnecessarily compact. This seems a bit odd as the rooms are vast and could easily accommodate a bathroom twice the size. They are well appointed though, with a large shower but again, the restricted layout meant that every counter and shelf was occupied with complementary products so there was nowhere to put your own toiletries but on the floor.

On a similar note, with such cavernous rooms, there was but one drawer between us and that was at the bottom of the armoire. These are lovely items of furniture, but not suitable for hanging long clothing in. They are not kind to the back or knees either – it’s no fun struggling to bend down to pull out a full width drawer at floor level. On top to that, the base was filled with all the kind of clutter hotels would normally put in drawers – if they had any – hairdryer, iron, table fan, etc...

Would have given 5 stars if it weren't for these small niggles, as their excellence far outweighs any little irritations.

Our room offered outstanding views from the bay windows across the garden and beyond where we spent time watching the sunset and enjoying the amenities the room had to offer, including tea, coffee and biscuits. Against the chill outside, this made for a relaxing respite from our stroll in the bitter weather earlier in the day.

Refreshed and prepared for dinner, we were thoroughly impressed with what was on offer. The quality, presentation and service are to be highly commended and it was excellent value for a 3 course meal.

The bar offers a good selection of wines too and is very comfortable to retire to for pre-dinner drinks or a nightcap before heading back up to our room - not so easy to negotiate after a few drinks with long sweeping staircase and sprung doors every few feet along the lengthy corridor! (Take note if you've more than just a holdall with you as luggage.)

Breakfast was a genteel experience with service to your table and a choice of freshly cooked options. Unfortunately, it wasn’t quite clear to us as to what the ‘routine’ for ordering was and we were a little confused about the self service items, but next time, I’m opting for the Eggs Benedict ...
.. and oh yes ... there will definitely be a ‘next time’ here.

Room Tip: Beds are broad and comfortable with soft pillows and sheets, but our double was 2 singles pushed tog...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank viviko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PelhamHouseLewes, General Manager at Pelham House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your comments.
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed you stay with us and that you definitely plan on a return visit. We will certainly be very happy to welcome you back to Pelham House.
Although you have kindly noted that the positives far outweigh any negative aspects of your stay I am disappointed to hear of the shortcomings that you experienced as it is, of course, always our aim to provide 100% customer satisfaction!
As a listed building, we are slightly restricted with any major developments on the bedrooms and en-suites. However, you have raised some very just and important points on the practicalities of the room, particularly in regards to shelving and storage space, which I have taken on board entirely and will be sure to look into. I thank you for making these points known as it is primarily through customer feedback that such issues come to light allowing us to then take steps to improve our service!
I look forward to your next stay with us.
Best Wishes
Paul Morgan, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (849)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

620 - 626 of 849 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2013

Stayed here for one night as I had business in Brighton the next day. Good value and generally a nice hotel. I had room 24 across the courtyard, the room itself was OK but the shower room was a bit small. Breakfast excellent. As noted elsewehere there is limited parking at the hotel, but ample parking on the streets nearby which is free from 6.00pm to 8.00am. To avoid having to go and feed the meter before 8.00am you can buy the parking ticket the night before for an hour or two to give you a chance to enjoy your breakfast. I will stay again when heading to the area, perhaps hope for a larger room / bathroom next time in the main building.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian-SK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PelhamHouseLewes, General Manager at Pelham House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. We are keen to hear feedback from all our guests whether they stay with us on pleasure or business and so your comments are very much appreciated.
I am very happy to hear that your enjoyed your stay and I hope that despite the short comings of the room that you mentioned, you found it to be comfortable and that you were well rested and fed for your busy day ahead.
We do have a variety of room types across both the mews building and main house so please feel free to contact our reservations department directly next time business calls you to the area and we will endeavour to allocate you a more ideal room (reservations@pelhamhouse.com)
Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back
Kind Regards
Paul Morgan, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Exactly as I pictured, infact exceeded our expectations. We chose this as we had a gift voucher to use which included a 3 course dinner and also breakfast. Food was excellent and as it was included, we treated ourselfs to a bottle of locally produced sparkling wine from Bolney. The hotel also has some lovely grounds, which would be lovely on a warmer. Will definitely consider a return visit.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rich850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PelhamHouseLewes, General Manager at Pelham House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to share you experience at Pelham House.
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stayed and had a lovely meal (it really is a lovely gift, I am sure you would agree!)
Our restaurant manager strives to provide an exciting and varied wine list which includes wines from across the world and local producers. Supporting local businesses is very important to us so I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your bottle of sparkling Breaky Bottom.
Thank you again for your lovely review.
I hope we will have the chance to welcoming you back again in the future.
Kind Regards
Paul Morgan, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Stayed here twice in last 6x months - both times, delicious food, breakfast delicious, staff perfect - and rooms also great, love staying over - even though we only live a few miles away!....Be back soon!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PelhamHouseLewes, General Manager at Pelham House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2013

Thank you so much for this lovely review!
Lewes is indeed the perfect place to escape the hustle and bustle of everyday life, and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next getaway.
Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!
Best Wishes
Paul Morgan, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Just spent a wonderful weekend in this beautiful hotel right in the middle of Lewes Town.

I can honestly say that there was nothing we didn't enjoy - the service was tremendous in all areas of the hotel. It was attentive, professional and jovial at the right times, and nothing was too much trouble.

Try Afternoon Tea with a glass of locally made sparkling wine, great value at £17.95 per head - maybe a couple more sandwiches would have been nice, but we were particularly hungry.

Breakfast is a real treat and it was nice to be able to order main dishes at not have to serve yourself from Chaffing Dishes that dry everything out.

Our rooms were well presented and very clean.

Great location for the castle and the shops

Room Tip: The rooms do vary in price, but we had one of the cheaper ones (room 14) and we loved it. Top floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeSmith8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PelhamHouseLewes, General Manager at Pelham House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2013

I am so pleased to hear that your enjoyed your weekends stay with us.
Your kind comments on the staff, afternoon tea and breakfast service are most appreciated and I am delighted to be able to pass this praise onto the team.
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review.
Warm Regards
Paul Morgan, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Treated ourselves to a night away and were not disappointed. The hotel has lots of character and is perfect for exploring Lewes. We were given a large room overlooking the garden and the staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. The food, both at dinner and breakfast, was excellent.
We are a retired couple and regularly take advantage of out of season offers. This one was by far the best we have had so far. We'll be back!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PelhamHouseLewes, General Manager at Pelham House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write this review.
I am delighted that you enjoyed one of our winter promotions and we are honoured to hear that this is best one you have experienced yet! That comment really has made my day.
We are always running various offers throughout the year and so I hope we will see you again in the future.
Warm Regards
Paul Morgan, General Manager and all the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

This was our second visit to Pelham House and we were not disappointed. We had a large double room on the first floor overlooking the garden with a huge bathroom. The dinner in the evening was excellent as was the service which was both attentive and efficient. Throughout our stay we had wonderful food and we are planning to go back with friends for lunch in the near future. Our thanks go to the chef and the staff throughout the hotel for making us feel so welcome and making our short stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Probus34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PelhamHouseLewes, General Manager at Pelham House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2013

One the best feelings for the hotel staff is welcoming back returning guests and it is always a pleasure to hear of these visits so I thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review.
I have passed on your thanks to all the staff including our Head Chef and his team.
We look forward to welcoming you back again, whether it is another getaway or a spot of lunch with friends.
Kindest Regards
Paul Morgan, General Manager and The Team at Pelham House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewes
0.3 mi away
The Shelleys
The Shelleys
#3 of 8 in Lewes
397 reviews
2.3 mi away
Newmarket Inn
Newmarket Inn
#5 of 8 in Lewes
254 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Forge
The Forge
#1 of 1 in Halland
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
8.0 mi away
The Avondale
The Avondale
#2 of 2 in Seaford
100 reviews
6.3 mi away
Horsted Place
Horsted Place
#2 of 2 in Little Horsted
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelham House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelham House

Address: St. Andrews Lane | East Sussex, Lewes BN7 1UW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Lewes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Lewes
Price Range: £50 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pelham House 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pelham house offers 36 individually designed bedrooms that blend the best of modern fittings and comfort whilst preserving many original historic features of the building. All rooms are fitted with contemporary handmade oak furniture, remote controlled TVs, phones and high speed data points and have en-suite baths or luxury showers, a range of natural toiletries and comfortable beds with crisp white linen. Most bedrooms overlook our pretty south facing garden, framed by views towards the South Downs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pelham House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelham House Hotel Lewes
Pelham Hotel Lewes
Pelham House Lewes, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing