We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay in Lewes”
Review of Pelham House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pelham House
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Lewes
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great place to stay in Lewes”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Fairly quiet. Great room. Decent welcome upon arrival. Excellent value. A great place to pass time when it's pouring rain and cold outside.

Restaurant surprisingly good as far as quality and value. Skillful vegetarian dishes. Give it a try.

Room Tip: Room 7 was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PelhamHouseLewes, General Manager at Pelham House, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Thank you for providing this feedback. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
We hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Best Regards
Paul Morgan, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    222
    164
    91
    48
See reviews for
113
396
31
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We were invited to a cousins 70th birthday party at Pelham House. Read the reviews beforehand to get an idea of what to expect and we took special note of any disappointments. Now when I give a review I don't say things like 'Rock hard beds etc' as a downside because it's a personal thing. Some people like hard beds.
Now this visit. Arrived early on a stormy day but we were welcomed and the room was ready for us on the top floor. Nice clean room, not large, small tv, nice shower room. Great view to the South Downs. I suppose typical of a old country house hotel with history as opposed to a modern Premier Inn or whatever. Access not good if you are disabled but fine for us. Probably an 'Average' rating so far. The plan was afternoon tea, evening meal [pre-ordered] and breakfast. Tea was nice. Evening meal though, was something else. I've got to give a perfect score - absolutely perfect. The best hotel meal I ever had, enhanced by the great service from all the team. WELL DONE!! Breakfast was also good. I don't eat much in the morning but there was something for everyone on display. Now we're up to the 'Very Good' rating. If I had to find one negative [apart from the storms] it would be that there was only one towel for two people, but I know that if I had asked I would have been given another but better to have it there without having to ask.

Room Tip: If you are going to have problems getting up stairs, speak to the hotel first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PelhamHouseLewes, General Manager at Pelham House, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. I sincerely appreciate both your compliments and honest constructive comments.
I am, of course, most thrilled that you had ‘a perfect meal’ both in terms of the food and in service. I will be sure to pass this praise to both the chefs and waiting staff working on that evening.
I have taken on board you comment about having only one towel. It is true, as you say, that another would certainly have been provided on request but I completely agree that it should have been there already. This was an over sight on our part and I do apologise.
I very much hope that you will choose to visit Pelham House again in the future and we would be honored to welcome you back.
Many thanks again ,
Paul Morgan, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowthorne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

What a great hotel Pelham House is. Great rooms. Utterly fantastic service. The best kippers I have had in a very long while for breakfast (so skilfully filleted). Adjacent to Lewes High Street with all local amenities but absolutely no noise to disturb us. Parking at the hotel itself is limited but because of its proximity to the town that it is not a problem. Staff allowed us to load and unload outside the hotel. Reservation staff very helpful. Will definitely return for another stay.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear of the hotel overlooking the extensive grounds are preferable
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PelhamHouseLewes, General Manager at Pelham House, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
I am absolutely delighted to hear that you enjoyed you weekend escape to Sussex and am very pleased that you choose to stay at Pelham House.
I will be sure to pass you kind comments on to all the staff especially the kitchen who will be thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed the kippers.
We look forward to your return visit.
Paul Morgan, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We were told that people went to Pelham House for special occasions so hurried to book a night there... Not sure why we bothered. Rock hard beds and pillows, which aren't conducive to a good night's sleep. Disorganised service for afternoon tea which we'd pre-ordered but we stood around waiting for one of the 4/5 waiters to tell us where to sit as no one seemed to be in charge. Then stingy portions didn't help much. Breakfast doesn't match what it says on the website (no French toast) and is bog-standard. We asked for bathrobes and my boyfriend was given a child or lady's shortie version. Great! Definitely wouldn't bother again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcbeamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lewes hotels

Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

We arrived at midnight of our stay and was greeted by a friendly receptionist. We had only booked that day and paid £70 bed and breakfast and £60 for another room single occupancy. We stayed in the mews, not the main hotel, which we found delightful. I think those rates were higher but we booked last minute and weren't fussed where we stayed. We were warned about the small car park before we booked and were suggested alternatives, street parking and nearby train station. We were able to double park when we got there and left our keys at reception. The receptionist moved our car to a proper space when it became free and gave us our keys back promptly. The room was nicely decorated and the bed was nice and form. All facilities were brilliantly clean. Breakfast was in a beautiful oak panelled dining room. Tea/coffee and toast is served to you along with a cooked breakfast of your choice. Full English, eggs Benedict, eggs florentine, & vegetarian options are available. Our party had eggs Benedict and full English and all beautifully cooked. You can also choose from a fruit platter, cereals, granola and pastries which we had as well! . Staff were attentive and smart. Food reasonably priced i.e. From the light dishes and savouries Welsh rarebit £5.50, homemade scampi and fries £13.50, 100% beef burger and fat chips £10.50. Sandwiches served with fries from £6.50. We cannot fault anything and would definitely stay again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelGeekBabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PelhamHouseLewes, General Manager at Pelham House, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Many thanks for this fantastic review.
Hospitality and delicious food are our number 1 priorities at Pelham House so it gives me great pleasure to hear how much you enjoyed you stay.
We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Best Regards
Paul Morgan, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

I stayed at Pelham House for 6 nights due to my bathroom being refurbished at home. The room was reasonably comfortable. I was put in an attic room which is probably where the servants of the old Pelham House used to live back in the day. It was modern and bright and cheery. Not a brilliant view but then as"Basil Fawlty "once said "What do you expect? Herds of Wildebeest sweeping majestically across....."
On the first night I decided to dine in the restaurant and as you might expect for a high class restaurant the mains were mostly pheasant or grouse or something in a "jus".It was all too rich and heavy. I just wanted something simple like a lamb chop and mash! So I had something from the starters menu ( a goats cheese something or other) and a side dish of feta and ttomato salad. I thought "Yeah that will fill me up." I was sadly mistaken. The goats cheese came on a plate that could have accommodated a homeless family of four , there was that much room left round the edge and the feta and tomato salad was bland. I asked for bread to give me some starch to fill my growling tummy. This morsel came to a staggering £11-50. I ate out for the remainder of my stay. Not impressed.
I will say they left me biscuits nearly every day apart from one day when the room servicing people forgot and also forgot that I might require a clean face cloth as well. I had to leave a note. My request was fulfilled. Also they double charged me. I paid for the first four nights on my card and then decided to stay another three nights as my bathroom had not neared any sign of completion and my husband paid for the last three nights on his card. To our horror we discovered they had charged me for the four nights but taken the whole amount for seven nights from my hubby's card as well! I immediately checked my account and spoke to the manager who assured me that the payment they had taken from me was just a "Pre-payment" and it would be back in my account in a matter of a day or two. I thought "It had better be." It arrived back in my account as promised. This mistake should not have happened though. What if my husband had not had the money to cover the whole 7 days ? He would have gone into the red and incurred bank charges. Luckily , this was not the case. Bad marks for that against Pelham House.
Car parking was charged at an extra £6-50 per day and I thought my bay would be reserved. But no, I had to double park on two occasions and leave my keys with reception. Whoever parked my car, left the car in gear and I almost lurched into a wooden gate! Another bad mark. Yes I should have checked I was in neutral but I didn't. My bad is shared with their bad!
Good points? The bath was huge. I am 5ft 7 and fully stretched out I still could not touch the other end with my toes. If I had not wedged my foot against the side I would have floated off downstream!! (Surreal joke there readers).
Every day on my return to the hotel I found two nice mint chocolates on the pillow. Nice touch if not a little clichéd. I also was able to find a nice supply of hot chocolate sachets that now live in my work drawer should I fancy a cup. Tee hee.
Bad points. Bed hard as a rock. Carpet dirty with mud stains. The ghost. Every night I heard strange noises, bumps and bangs that were quite unnerving. One morning I awoke to find a cupboard opened. Every day when I returned to the hotel my radio was mysteriously playing . Was this a ghost or the cleaners? I will leave it for you to decide. One morning I awoke as I normally did during my stay at 6am to hear a tap, tap, tap, tap, tap. I put the light on immediately and sat up, listening, straining to hear where the strange sound emanated from. It sounded like it was coming from behind the beds' headboard. I put a brave face on the phenomenon and shrugged it off to save myself running out of the room in my night clothes. After all, I'm British!!
I told my work colleagues of this strange incident and they laughed at me. I however, am convinced my room was most likely haunted. The next morning, the receptionist asked could the maintenance man inspect my room. I asked, "why" ,naturally, and he told me that the room beneath mine had been flooded. Now if that is not mysterious , you tell me what is!! Come to think of it....perhaps it was the ghost that ate my biscuits and then used my face cloth to put over his/her head ( It was white after all) and float around spooking people as ghosts do!!
Would I stay again....maybe. It was okay. Glad to be home again though.

Room Tip: Top of the House you are away from the parties and functions that Pelham house regularly stages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gastr0dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewes, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We held our belated Christmas party in the wonderful oak panelled restaurant at Pelham House. The food and service could not be faulted (which in Lewes is rare indeed!) My starter was boudin blanc with Madeira and wild mushrooms and was delicious. For main I had Pheasant breast with potato rosti washed down with a Spanish Grenache from a short but excellently balanced wine list. One nice touch is that dishes which are gluten free are highlighted clearly. So many of my friends in Lewes have a wheat allergy so this is especially helpful. My colleagues all felt it was a first class dining experience, beautifully orchestrated by the dashing Spanish maître d.
We'll done Pelham House.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bishop405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PelhamHouseLewes, General Manager at Pelham House, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Thank you kindly for this first class review!
I am overjoyed to hear that the whole group enjoyed the Christmas party.
We hope you will be back with us again this year,
Kind Regards
Paul Morgan, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewes
0.3 mi away
The Shelleys
The Shelleys
#4 of 8 in Lewes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
0.0 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#7 of 8 in Lewes
3.0 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
2.3 mi away
Newmarket Inn
Newmarket Inn
#5 of 8 in Lewes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Lewes Town Centre
6.3 mi away
East Sussex National
East Sussex National
#1 of 2 in Little Horsted
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelham House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelham House

Property: Pelham House
Address: St. Andrews Lane | East Sussex, Lewes BN7 1UW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Lewes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Lewes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Pelham House 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pelham house offers 36 individually designed bedrooms that blend the best of modern fittings and comfort whilst preserving many original historic features of the building. All rooms are fitted with contemporary handmade oak furniture, remote controlled TVs, phones and high speed data points and have en-suite baths or luxury showers, a range of natural toiletries and comfortable beds with crisp white linen. Most bedrooms overlook our pretty south facing garden, framed by views towards the South Downs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotelopia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pelham House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelham House Hotel Lewes
Pelham Hotel Lewes
Pelham House Lewes, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing