We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another lovely stay at Pelham House”
Review of Pelham House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pelham House
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Lewes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

This really is a lovely hotel, I have family in and around Lewes so know the area well, and have now stayed twice at Pelham House and would definitely return. It's a beautiful location and a nice little hotel with friendly staff, good food and quirky rooms (which do vary in size).

Room Tip: I prefer the main house to the annexe, which I asked for at booking and got.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SebastienCale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PelhamHouseLewes, General Manager at Pelham House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your return visit to Pelham House and thank you for posting your comments.
We hope we will see you again soon when you next visit your family.
Kind Regards
Paul Morgan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (839)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

505 - 511 of 839 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2014

We spent one night in the main building this week and were very impressed with the hotel. We were pampered with a box of handmade chocolates in our room, the curtains were closed and mints left on the bed in the evening too. Breakfast was delicious...I loved the live yogourt and local pastries as well as the cooked English. We will return!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scottishmumof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PelhamHouseLewes, General Manager at Pelham House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

I'm very pleased your stay was so pleasurable and you plan to return.
The house is very different and has its own charm, so it is great to hear that you found it so beautiful.
I will make sure the breakfast team receive your comments about their breakfast service.
Thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We had a lovely birthday trip to Pelham House. Our room was a loft room with lovely views over Lewes and The Downs. Elements of the room needed a bit of a refurb; peeling paint in the bathroom and a shower tray which filled with a puddle of water slightly spoiled the feeling of luxury. Our dinner in the restaurant was a mixed experience; lovely service and surroundings but a fairly bland starter of pork rilletes. Overall though, despite the tiny grumbles, this is a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PelhamHouseLewes, General Manager at Pelham House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

I'm very please that you enjoyed your stay with us, the team are very happy to receive such warm feedback.
Simon and James who take care of the rooms constantly strive to keep on top of maintaining and decorating our historical building and I have noted the points that you raised.
I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Pelham House soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

First of all I should explain that this review is about the restaurant only, we didn't stay at this hotel as we stay with friends in Lewes.

What made our lunch (with the local friends) so memorable was the originality of the 3-course menu - very good indeed. There is also a nice, relaxed feel to the establishment and very courteous and friendly service.

I look forward to another visit to Pelham House

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimboLenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PelhamHouseLewes, General Manager at Pelham House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to post such complimentary feedback regarding your recent lunch.
I have passed on your comments to the Glenn and his kitchen team who are very pleased that you enjoyed their food.
We work very hard to look after our guests personally and to welcome them into Pelham House as if it is their own home.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

As I have a number of complaints, I thought it would be best to list them:
1. The "bed" I had the unfortunate experience of spending the night in seemed to be of the economy variety. You could feel the large metal strings through the fabric, and it was placed on a solid wooden board of wood. As a result I had a total of 20 mins sleep, not good when you have an important business meeting the next day. It didn't help matters that someone upstairs decided to Feng Shui their furniture in the early hours of the morning. I really hope it brought them peace and enlightenment!
2. No extra bedding in the wardrobe, not that unlimited amounts of bedding would have helped the lack of comfort experienced.
3. Off UHT milk which curdled the tea, I didn't even know this was possible until now. To their credit they did replace it.
4. I recommend the Venison haunch but my medium/medium rare steak was still mooing and had to be sent back to be cooked. Only about half of it was edible even on its return, the rest being gristle and fat. It left a bad taste in my mouth especially as it had a £5.95 supplement.
We have been offered partial discount, but it really ruined our trip to Brighton and prompted an early return home.

Room Tip: Don't let them put you in what appears to be converted garages, you might as well sleep in your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NellLJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PelhamHouseLewes, General Manager at Pelham House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

I am disappointed that your stay with us did not in any way meet your expectations.
I am satisfied that the list of contributing factors that led to such disappointment were discussed with the our duty manager upon departure, and indeed again when my reservation manager followed up later that day by e mail and telephone.

We will always try to resolve problems guests may have while still in house, if we do not capture these points we will always try to compensate accordingly and to the best of our judgement.
We have indeed had further communication and again offered a further gesture of goodwill as you were so unhappy with your stay.

On this occasion I will of course take on board the feedback and discuss matters with the team.
Once again I apologise that our hotel and offering did not meet your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Just stayed in a wonderful boutique hotel in Lewes. The staff couldn't have been nicer and the food & room were great.
there is a lovely personal feel to this hotel which makes you feel relaxed. This is one of our favourite stays.
We would recommend this to anyone who wants to stay in this historic area.

Room Tip: Room 4 is amazing,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Azilletraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PelhamHouseLewes, General Manager at Pelham House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Thank you very much indeed for such wonderful feedback,
I am very happy that your stay with us was so enjoyable and I do hope that the team and I have the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We booked 11 rooms and held a private dinner in their panelled room. Lovely, helpful staff, great rooms. They managed to cater for 28 adults and 6 kids without too much hassle, the service was a little slow but they had another function on that night too - so under the circumstances they did really well. Food was delicious, hard to do for so many at once - very, very reasonably priced set menu options and lovely canapes. Prior to the event, the staff were really helpful and ensured our party went well. Overall, a lovely place, reasonably priced in a great location.What's not to like. Go for a room in the main house with a view if you want a choice, the garden is lovely and the rooms are all really big.

Room Tip: Opt for one in the main house, first floor overlooking the garden - that said, many of the top floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bakingcakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PelhamHouseLewes, General Manager at Pelham House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

I am so pleased that you had such an enjoyable time at Pelham House.
I will pass on your comments to all of the team who contributed in making your time with us such a success.
I hope we have the opportunity to see you again in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewes
0.3 mi away
The Shelleys
The Shelleys
#3 of 8 in Lewes
394 reviews
2.3 mi away
Newmarket Inn
Newmarket Inn
#5 of 8 in Lewes
249 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Forge
The Forge
#1 of 1 in Halland
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant
6.3 mi away
Horsted Place
Horsted Place
#2 of 2 in Little Horsted
238 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 43 in Brighton
7,849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelham House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelham House

Address: St. Andrews Lane | East Sussex, Lewes BN7 1UW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Lewes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Lewes
Price Range: £57 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pelham House 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pelham house offers 36 individually designed bedrooms that blend the best of modern fittings and comfort whilst preserving many original historic features of the building. All rooms are fitted with contemporary handmade oak furniture, remote controlled TVs, phones and high speed data points and have en-suite baths or luxury showers, a range of natural toiletries and comfortable beds with crisp white linen. Most bedrooms overlook our pretty south facing garden, framed by views towards the South Downs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Pelham House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelham House Hotel Lewes
Pelham Hotel Lewes
Pelham House Lewes, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing