We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Living out of a suitcase in comfort!”
Review of Pelham House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pelham House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lewes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Just stayed for 4 nights at this hotel in the heart of Lewes.Lovely location,beautiful gardens,friendly helpful staff and a great breakfast. BUT whilst room was clean,comfortable and well equipped there was no chest of drawers to put your clothes away.In fact there was only a bar wih a few hangers in one corner along with iron,ironing board and far,so for duration we had to put suitcase on collapsible rack which partially blocked door. Just a pity really and I dont reckon its worth paying more for a deluxe room just for a couple of drawers!! Should have been there anyway.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Byron U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PelhamHouseLewes, General Manager at Pelham House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

I am very happy to hear that you had a pleasant 4 nights stay at Pelham House and hope you enjoyed out beautiful town!

I whole heartedly take on your comments on the lack of drawers. We are continuously refurbishing the rooms and therefore appreciate feedback like this.

I hope you will visit us again in the future!

Kind Regards

Paul Morgan, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,072)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

657 - 663 of 1,072 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014

My third trip to Pelham House, Lewes and the Sussex country side. Really like the hotel, its right of the middle of things position, very helpful staff and its grounds...good value with one of the special offers. Lewes is interesting...great character...and then there's the Harvey's pub!!! Excellent circular walks right out of Lewes...all in all brilliant.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank footprint99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PelhamHouseLewes, General Manager at Pelham House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at Pelham House on 3 separate occasions now! We love nothing more than welcoming back guests and hope we will have the pleasure of seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards

Paul Morgan, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Great location but the rooms are not really up to the price tag and certainly the quality of some of the staff is way below what you would expect at £250 per night.

We booked dinner but cancelled after being left standing for a full five minutes at the reception point.

If you can get rooms at a discount then perhaps worthwhile otherwise I would not stay here again

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wheelskeepturning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PelhamHouseLewes, General Manager at Pelham House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

I am very sorry to hear of your disappointment and am particularly concern that you felt the price of the room was too high both for the quality of the room itself and the service received.

I would very much like to speak with you directly regarding this and should you wish to discuss this in more details please do not hesitate to contact me at the hotel.

Kind Regards

Paul Morgan, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We were on a Glyndebourne weekend and many people recommended us to eat here. We were disappointed.

Positives: (1) the service was friendly, (2) the patio and dining room were nice (not outstanding), and (3) the presentation of the food was up to the standard of a very good cookery book.

Negatives: in our view (1) the bread (brown or white) was not good and didn't taste fresh, (2) the menu was really disappointing, and (3) the portion sizes were very small.

Returning to the menu, there were only four choices for main course: steak, ox cheek, lamb medallions, or fish soup. My partner had the lamb - there were 3 medallions, they were miniscule, and the fat rind was as big as the meat itself; luckily she doesn't eat much. I hadn't planned to go out for a bowl of soup as my main course, but not liking beef or lamb there was no other option (apart from leaving). The soup arrived in a dish roughly the size of an airplane food container, accompanied by a large slice of dry brown bread. It didn't taste of much.

Overall, we came away feeling that we liked the staff but that the meal had really just been a waste of money. If they improved the menu we'd consider coming back.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank quickbrownfox999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Pelham House Lewes

Stayed on the 31st May 2014 Room No.6 £260.00 for one night

Good Points
1. Beautiful House
2. Lovely town
3. Wonderful staff
4. Fabulous gardens
5. Comfy bed.

I could go on and on.

Bad Points
1. Not told that you had to reserve one of the approx ten parking spaces
2. Very noisy extractor fan in the poorly fitted out bathroom (extractor fan kept going for about 15 mins not good in the middle of the night )
3. No black out blind on the windows sun up about 4am.
4. Could hear the extractor fan and the bath running in the next door room and also the staff moving the tables ahd chairs around (loudly) in the garden first thing in the morning. (I know that it is probably a listed house, however, there are very good secondary glazing available that is
in keeping with period properties.
5. When the menu says Eggs Benedict, shouldn't it be just that, plural?

All said and done it is a lovely hotel. I just felt that we left there with the feeling that we had paid a little too much for the room, rather that leaving saying that it was well worth the £260 for one night.
If we'd of be able to of said that, the hotel would of had its 5 stars.

P.S. if you could remove the planning office you'd get 5star ++ ( i know thats not your fault)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paula6644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PelhamHouseLewes, General Manager at Pelham House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Many thanks for this review. I appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback and have taken on board entirely both the good and the bad points you have made.

Firstly, I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the beautiful town of Lewes, our wonderful building and staff and found the bed to be comfortable.

I am of course disappointed to hear that there were other areas which hindered your enjoyment of the whole stay and would like to offer my sincere apologies for this.

With regards to the car parking we are extremely limited as we are located right in the middle of this beautiful, old market town and therefore we try our utmost to advise everyone of parking at the time of booking. I can see that your reservation was made on line and thus this information should be on your confirmation letter so I am very sorry if this was not a clear as it should be and I will certainly look into it as a matter of priority. In terms of the extractor fan and black out blinds I have now passed this feedback to our maintenance team who will look into both points and improve these areas for future stays. Likewise, I take on board your point on eggs Benedict and will discuss this with our head chef.

Once again, I thank you for your feedback and hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the future.


Kind Regards

Paul Morgan, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We had a standard room with a big window overlooking the gardens and it was great value for money. Queen size bed was comfortable, the room was quiet and everything was spotlessly clean. Breakfast was very good and a reasonable price, made all the more enjoyable because we were able to sit outside in the sunshine to eat it. The Hotel is within easy walking distance of Lewes Castle and the shops. We paid for parking at the Hotel and were glad that we did so because the surrounding roads are mostly narrow and busy. This is a beautiful hotel. We will return - and the next time we will book a table in the dining room for dinner. The menu looked very interesting.

Room Tip: There are rooms in an annex overlooking the car park. We were pleased that we were in the main build...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelenN903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PelhamHouseLewes, General Manager at Pelham House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you for your review and I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future and, if I may say so myself, the food is excellent so definitely reserve a table!

Best Wishes
Paul Morgan, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

My Wife and I decided to have an evening meal at Pelham House for our 9th wedding anniversary and when we arrived we were looked after by Ben and had a drink in the comfortable bar area, relaxing on one of the comfy leather sofas. Ben asked if it was a special occasion which it was and when we reached our table there were two complimentary glasses of Champagne, which was a very kind special surprise. The food was fantastic, and what you would get at a 5 star establishment, the chef is obviously very passionate about the food he prepares. We will be returning soon for a meal with our family and also fancy the afternoon tea sat outside in the lovely garden. Many thanks to all the staff at Pelham house for making our wedding anniversary so special. Rich and Babs Russell

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 270barbara1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PelhamHouseLewes, General Manager at Pelham House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Rich and Babs,

I am overjoyed to hear how wonderful your meal was with us and please allow me to congratulate you again on your wedding anniversary!

I will be sure to pass your feedback to Ben, our restaurant manager, the chefs and of course, the rest of the team who will be thrilled to hear that they were able to make your special day!

We look forward to welcoming you and your family in the future.

I wish you all the best,
Paul Morgan, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewes
0.3 mi away
The Shelleys
The Shelleys
#2 of 7 in Lewes
407 reviews
2.3 mi away
Newmarket Inn
Newmarket Inn
#4 of 7 in Lewes
261 reviews
6.3 mi away
East Sussex National
East Sussex National
#1 of 2 in Little Horsted
1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
The Forge
The Forge
#1 of 1 in Halland
176 reviews
6.3 mi away
Horsted Place
Horsted Place
#2 of 2 in Little Horsted
246 reviews
11.5 mi away
Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelham House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelham House Hotel

Address: St. Andrews Lane | East Sussex, Lewes BN7 1UW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Lewes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lewes
Price Range: £54 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pelham House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pelham house offers 36 individually designed bedrooms that blend the best of modern fittings and comfort whilst preserving many original historic features of the building. All rooms are fitted with contemporary handmade oak furniture, remote controlled TVs, phones and high speed data points and have en-suite baths or luxury showers, a range of natural toiletries and comfortable beds with crisp white linen. Most bedrooms overlook our pretty south facing garden, framed by views towards the South Downs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Stayforlong S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pelham House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelham House Hotel Lewes, East Sussex
Pelham Hotel Lewes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing