We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“luxurious”
Review of Pelham House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pelham House
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Lewes
Leeds
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“luxurious”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We loved our stay here. The hotel is beautiful, the rooms are wonderfully appointed, the restaurant food is delicious as are the breakfasts. The staff were warm and friendly. The room was huge and we felt it was excellent value for money. What a gem of a find. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Semilina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    225
    171
    98
    52
See reviews for
115
412
31
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Notts
Level Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed here because we were going to Glyndebourne. The hotel is perfect for this purpose. We travelled with my 86 year old Mum. Unfortunately we were placed as far apart as we could have been - we were in the mews rooms and she was upstairs in the main house - a bit of a concern. The rooms were comfortable but some of the cleaning left a lot to be desired - no corners in Mums bathroom it seems! The reception and restaurant staff were lovely and the food was very good. Will visit again for Glyndebourne but will be more specific about rooms! I would avoid the mews rooms as they are dark and overlook the car park.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the mews rooms unless you are disabled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LDS5355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

This is a lovely hotel well situated in Lewes, however the first room I was given was overlooking the ventilation fans which meant I couldn't open my windows. The staff were very accommodating and moved me to another far superior room at the back of the main house overlooking the gardens - truly lovely. Breakfast was great and they have an espresso machine (at an additional cost) which made my day.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
245 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

What a lovely character full old house set in the heart of Lewes in beautiful grounds. We enjoyed excellent service a large quirky room with big windows and bed and very tasty breakfast and dinner Would certainly recommend it and hope to return

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skinsid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Pelham house

A good central location in the town centre with a bit of history added. Our room was a little small but with good facilities. It was let down by the bathroom which had a lot of dirt on the extractor fan and some of the grout in the shower was mouldy and dirty. It is so easy to keep these items clean if anyone can be bothered.

The staff were very good, friendly and efficient.

Parking was a problem with limited spaces. Their in room information states "a small charge" will be made. This is £6.50 per day and has to be pre booked. The recommended alternative is a 5 minute walk away in a station car park where you need to be careful when arranging the time period otherwise you might have a problem with penalties.

As we thought the car parking charge was excessive we decided to try the restaurants in town rather than give the hotel more of our money so we cannot comment on the food in the restaurant.

The hotel claims to give free wifi but don't believe it. It either did not work at all or was incredibly slow. We've had better service in supposedly third world countries and we can only assume it is a marketing con by the hotel to persuade you to stay there.

In summary the hotel was on one hand very good but on the other let the customer down.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Just stayed for 4 nights at this hotel in the heart of Lewes.Lovely location,beautiful gardens,friendly helpful staff and a great breakfast. BUT whilst room was clean,comfortable and well equipped there was no chest of drawers to put your clothes away.In fact there was only a bar wih a few hangers in one corner along with iron,ironing board and far,so for duration we had to put suitcase on collapsible rack which partially blocked door. Just a pity really and I dont reckon its worth paying more for a deluxe room just for a couple of drawers!! Should have been there anyway.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Byron U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PelhamHouseLewes, General Manager at Pelham House, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
I am very happy to hear that you had a pleasant 4 nights stay at Pelham House and hope you enjoyed out beautiful town!

I whole heartedly take on your comments on the lack of drawers. We are continuously refurbishing the rooms and therefore appreciate feedback like this.

I hope you will visit us again in the future!

Kind Regards

Paul Morgan, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
97 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

My third trip to Pelham House, Lewes and the Sussex country side. Really like the hotel, its right of the middle of things position, very helpful staff and its grounds...good value with one of the special offers. Lewes is interesting...great character...and then there's the Harvey's pub!!! Excellent circular walks right out of Lewes...all in all brilliant.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank footprint99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PelhamHouseLewes, General Manager at Pelham House, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at Pelham House on 3 separate occasions now! We love nothing more than welcoming back guests and hope we will have the pleasure of seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards

Paul Morgan, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewes
0.3 mi away
The Shelleys
The Shelleys
#4 of 8 in Lewes
368 reviews
0.0 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#7 of 8 in Lewes
934 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Forge
The Forge
#1 of 1 in Halland
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Newmarket Inn
Newmarket Inn
#5 of 8 in Lewes
234 reviews
7.9 mi away
Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant
6.3 mi away
East Sussex National
East Sussex National
#1 of 2 in Little Horsted
1,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelham House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelham House

Property: Pelham House
Address: St. Andrews Lane | East Sussex, Lewes BN7 1UW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Lewes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Lewes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Pelham House 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pelham house offers 36 individually designed bedrooms that blend the best of modern fittings and comfort whilst preserving many original historic features of the building. All rooms are fitted with contemporary handmade oak furniture, remote controlled TVs, phones and high speed data points and have en-suite baths or luxury showers, a range of natural toiletries and comfortable beds with crisp white linen. Most bedrooms overlook our pretty south facing garden, framed by views towards the South Downs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Pelham House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelham House Hotel Lewes
Pelham Hotel Lewes
Pelham House Lewes, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing