We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dairy Cottage”
Review of Mill Laine Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lewes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mill Laine Farm
Ranked #23 of 39 Lewes B&B and Inns
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Dairy Cottage”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

The cottage was not at all what we expected from the photos on the website. The photos show a double bed, an extra bed has now been put in. The lounge photo has furniture impossibly arranged so that the space appears large but would be totally unusable blocking doors and kitchen area totally. One photo is not of the Dairy at all.
The kitchen area was cramped, unable to wash up at the sink properly or open the cupboard beneath. There was nowhere to store food and a bread bin balanced on a cupboard behind the TV. There were no tea towels or oven gloves and despite calling the contact number and leaving a message none ever appeared. The shower was only a hand held one over the bath. Several of the light bulbs were blown. The bathroom light fitting was broken and held together with masking tape.To top it all we arrived back one evening to a door (including the handle) coated with wet paint and no signs anywhere to inform us of this.
Not a cottage to be reccomended

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valtravels2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    10
    1
    2
    5
See reviews for
19
11
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2013

After having read few bad reviews of the dairy, I thought I would comment on our experience on last August bank holiday weekend.

I booked the cottage before I found out how bad the reviews of the the Dairy were. If I had read them before, I wouldn't have booked. I'm glad I didn't!

The dairy is a lovely small cottage. Very clean, cosy, comfortable sofa, lovely dining table with views to the fields. You see sheep, pigs, turkeys from there. The kitchen is small but has all you need for two people. There is a good selection of cookwere to prepare food if you need to. There is washing up liquid, hand wash, tea towels, kitchen roll and all I can think of you may need.

The bedroom is very big, with one small wardrobe and large chest of drawers. There is an aditional single bed and also a proper cot, which is miles better than a travel cot.

The bathroom is very clean and stocked up with plenty of toilet roll, hand wash, shower gel and shampoo.

We've been in many cottages in the UK and this is one of the best. It is for two people, and therefore is small, but you don't need anything else really.

Lovely trully 4 star accommodation with even welcome lovely scones and jam waitting for you at the dining table.

We'll book this cottage again when we get back to the area and will go for bigger cottages as our family grows.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prewit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, Shropshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 May 2013

These holiday cottages are right on the downs with great views for miles. We stayed in the granary and found it very comfortable and well furnished, I particularly liked the log burner which must be great for winter evenings. Everything was very clean and well appointed with a dishwasher and washing machine. The buildings are old flint buildings and were very picturesque surrounded by fields full of sheep, a lovely change from living in town.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh on Sea
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

The layout of these various holiday lets, surrounding a lawned courtyard area is excellent for various numbers of people. Whilst the barn is the largest place to seat greater numbers, the granary is lovely, with wonderful views over the downs. A torch is very useful (if not essential), as the little lane down to the main road is extremely dark on winter evenings, with barbed wire fencing to one side. Everything extremely clean, and well equipped, bus stop at entrance to property, to Lewes. Lovely walks right from front door. Great place for families, friends and walkers.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank travelliteleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We had a wonderful holiday with family including 2 children (4 and 2!) in Mill Laine's Stables and Dairy from 22 - 29 March 13. Both of the cottages are of superb quality and simply gorgeous - with all the modern amenities in cleverly rebuilt farmhouses. The Stables/Dairy is conveniently interconnected. We had to move the sofas to open up the space for the kids, and had a glorious time watching sheep feeding every morning. The cottages are very well appointed and have good quality kitchen tools.

The short walk to the farm shop, although a bit adventurous with toddlers, is a rewarding ending for meat lovers. The Harmer family has done an excellent job at making this holiday home very comfortable. I will highly recommend Mill Laine Farm to my friends and family. Thank you for catering to such a wonderful stay. Two thumbs up! :)

Room Tip: The Stable and Dairy are interconnected. The bedroom in the dairy is huge and can fit extra beds. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

This is a superb self catering property, the best we have experienced in the UK. We stayed in "The Barn", converted from an old barn and complete with exposed beams and high ceilings.

The location is up a lane along the side of a road, with a considerable climb off the main road. Therefore the property is very much in the South Downs.

Everything was totally clean and presentable. The farmhouse style kitchen is superb with a dual fuel range, fully equipped with a good range of simple white crockery (everything matches). Microwave, dishwasher and washing machine are also provided. (There is also a communal tumble drier in the laundry room close by.)

We had visitors around from the nearby University of Sussex and there was plenty of crockery and space in the kitchen and especially in the lounge area which features a log burning stove. This is a great feature for a winter's day or evening, although the gas central heating is excellent. The lounge has a good outlook over the adjacent South Downs through French windows. The lounge also has a DVD player with some DVDs provided and also jigsaws.

Whilst the property is advertised as a 6 person property, it could actually sleep 8 + baby. Accommodation comprises a downstairs master bedroom en-suite which can be configured as twin or double with a cot, a second downstairs bedroom with a double and single, and an upstairs loft room with 3 singles. Kids would love the loft room.

The owners are very helpful and live close by, but not so close that they are watching your every move.

The negative points:
The only serious flaw is the lack of a shower curtain or screen in the main bathroom, especially as the hot water temperature and pressure is excellent. (The en-suite in the master bedroom does however have a shower.) I consider a shower to be an essential, but a bath a luxury, not vice-versa. All that needs to be installed is a shower curtain or screen and a longer hose on the existing telephone shower. I would have thought that even the savings on gas for hot water would pay for this simple modification!

The french windows are of wood and consequently do let in a draught if there is a strong southerly wind, which is probably not too often. Pushing plastic bags in the gaps was a work-around.

An access gate must be opened and closed, but kids would love this task.

In wintry conditions access along the lane might be a challenge, but no doubt the very helpful owners would be able to assist with 4 wheel drive vehicle.

The Barn adjoins the Granary. If both were available the Granary might be preferable as there is an outlook from the kitchen as well as the lounge.

Room Tip: All 3 rooms are yours!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drumlough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We booked the Granary after research on the web for self catering accommodation near Lewes for several generations of our family. It is perfect. The Granary sleeps 8 comfortably. It is clean, well equipped and spacious. The owners have created an attractive and domestic home from home. The view from the living room and kitchen is lovely with huge windows looking over the Downs and the farm. The light is superb. The beds are comfortable though the single beds are quite narrow. The owners are kind, friendly, very helpful and accessible Our baby grandson was staying with us and the equipment they have provided for him has been excellent and of good quality. There were problems with the WiFi which they made every effort to sort out. Presumably the other reviewers' complaints about noise have reflected behaviour by other guests. The farm is quiet other than a little unavoidable cock-crowing at dawn. The dogs have been unintrusive. We have had a lovely holiday and are grateful to the Harmers for providing such a high standard of accommodation.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lewes hotels
0.7 mi away
The Shelleys
The Shelleys
#3 of 8 in Lewes
374 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#4 of 8 in Lewes
784 reviews
1.9 mi away
Newmarket Inn
Newmarket Inn
#5 of 8 in Lewes
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hill Road Studios
Hill Road Studios
#32 of 39 in Lewes
13 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Dorset Inn
The Dorset Inn
#15 of 39 in Lewes
89 reviews
6.9 mi away
Beechwood
Beechwood
#3 of 39 in Lewes
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill Laine Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill Laine Farm

Property: Mill Laine Farm
Address: Offham Road, Lewes BN7 3QF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Lewes
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Lewes
Hotel Class:4 star — Mill Laine Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Mill Laine Farm Lewes, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing