We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not great, but not fawlty towers” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Newmarket Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Newmarket Inn
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Lewes
Midlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not great, but not fawlty towers”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2009

We stayed for one night and it did the job - reasonable sized room with comfy bed, quite a good breakfast. The room really needed tarting up though - it had dubious stains on the walls (blood? coffee?) and a small hole (ex electric?) filled with newspaper. The owner was quirky, but polite to us. I thought it was quite expensive for what it was, though.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dottyp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    77
    34
    27
    27
See reviews for
38
66
14
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2009

The worst customer service ever from the woman who served us at breakfast. Everything was too much trouble. I hate camping but would rather camp on a rocky outcrop than face her again on a Sunday morning.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank ABBKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lewes hotels

Newhaven
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2009

We only went for a carvery lunch which was very tasty, almost as good as home made. The ingredients were of a very high quality. We would go again. The people seemed very friendly but we were very appreciative of the good food and said so.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank angela003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2009

We used this hotel on a stag trip where around 8 of us stayed after a night in Brighton, and despite the cleanliness and 'adequate' food the service from the owners was horrendous! The Landlady was so rude in the morning when we were late for breakfast (we didn't get any and had to wait for lunch) that i wondered whether my hangover had kicked in and nothing made sense or i dreamt the Devil was running a pub. She blatantly ignored us all for the majority of lunch and believe it or not refused at least 6 of us paying in notes as they didn't have any change!! What? Not only that but she had the most annoying way of pretending not to hear you that it was pathetic. Do give it a miss if you're a young crowd . . . . . they won't like you.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ianc2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2009

The staff do their best to counteract the appalling rudeness of the manager. He is abrupt, unwelcoming and a certainly a contender for the Basil Fawlty Wooden Spoon award. The roasts available are good but the ordering system is muddled and confusing. You pay a flat rate on Sundays, are given a ticket for a hot lunch or a plate for a cold lunch, are told that there is no waiter service if you are sitting outside and in the next breath are told that the waitress will bring your order out. Don't even think of mentioning a group booking to him, you will firmly be told NO, while the other staff desperately try to intervene with a friendlier approach indicating that they have been let down by groups in the past who bring their own food and drink. The A27 roars past in front of the pub but there is attractive seating at the back.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eucalyptus44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2009

First class service, extremely pleasant atmosphere, no negatie points, quiet, and perect for a romantic getaway as it is close to al sorts of lovely places! The food i also exqusite and reasonably priced. Recommend to all!!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tashyxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2009

After reading the reviews on this place I was slightly apprehensive about our impending stay at the Newmarket Inn.

But on arrival we were pleasantly surprised by the warm welcome and the general atmosphere of the place.

The bar was very quiet and was actually closed after we arrived, but in all fairness, it IS January so not expecting a busy place anywhere.

The room was absolutely lovely as was the bathroom which had an amazing shower! Tv and dvd player in the room also which was fantastic.

Breakfast was included in the price of the room and was just the right portion size....we also ate dinner there which was promptly served and we thoroughly enjoyed the whole meal.

All in all a great place to stay if you are looking for a quiet little spot with not many other people.

The only things that let it down were the fact that the bar was closed early on fri and sat nights but understandable during cold winter months, but still frustrating when we came back for a quiet drink before bed! And yes, it is on a dual carriageway but to be honest, I'm used to road noise so it didn't affect our enjoyment at all, although I can understand why some people may feel it spoils the experience. It really isn't that loud and we didn't hear a single train go by but we were on the roadside of the hotel!

I would and have already recommended this hotel to my friends but I think u have to make your own decisions on this one!

For the price, I think its very good value for money, you get what you pay for..........

  • Liked — The room standard
  • Disliked — The early closing of the bar!
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chillyears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewes
1.0 mi away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#3 of 8 in Lewes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Shelleys
The Shelleys
#5 of 8 in Lewes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
1.0 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#7 of 8 in Lewes
3.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Premier Inn Newhaven Hotel
6.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,342 reviews
5.0 mi away
White Horse Hotel
White Horse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rottingdean
3.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newmarket Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newmarket Inn

Property: Newmarket Inn
Address: Old Brighton Road | Ashcombe, Lewes BN7 3JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Lewes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Lewes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Newmarket Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Newmarket Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newmarket Hotel Lewes
Newmarket Inn Lewes, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing