We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”
Review of The Dorset Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Dorset Inn
Ranked #14 of 39 Lewes B&B and Inns
Scarborough
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

Good value for money, just a few minor niggles (broken headboard, little mildew on grouting in shower). Very friendly staff, all helpful and shown way into room if arriving back later than 11pm. Excellent breakfast and good choice on evening menu, all home cooked. Brewery across the road a bonus with good beers on at the bar. Would recommend for touring Sussex, Lewes is lovely and well worth a visit. Will return again.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ploots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    35
    18
    5
    4
See reviews for
21
30
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Overall the staff were excellent and helpful. However, if you want to return after 11pm make sure you tell the staff as we found the entrance to the bedrooms locked at 11.15.
The breakfast and service at breakfast was good.
This is good value for money although some bleach and a toothbrush would not go amiss in the shower cubicle of room number 1.
Would stay again.

Clive and Jill Taylor
Cheltenham

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clive T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

This was the second time we had stayed at The Dorset after an evening at Glyndebourne. Rooms are good and breakfast is excellent. The only disappointment was that the bar closed at 10.30pm and we were asked to go to our room at 11pm.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caspermilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Modernised Georgian pub on the outskirts of central Lewes. The rooms were small but more than adequate. There was an excellent breakfast. Staff were friendly and helpful. All in all excellent value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simontheeditor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

I was kept awake until midnight by a banging door, and for the rest of the night by a relentless mechanical hum. Its a shame, because the location of the pub is good, and the room was quite comfortable and well decorated. I wouldn't come back and wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jopaco2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Considering what an interesting town it is, Lewes seems badly lacking in good restaurants and accommodation The Dorset could even be the best of the hotel/pubs, which is not saying a lot. But at £65 for a fairly comfortable room and an excellent breakfast, no complaint except that we decided against eating there in the evening because although the menu was quite inviting, the background music made conversation difficult.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hengist002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisbech Saint Mary, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
204 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

1,No it wasn't haunted it was Lewes Revellers. We stayed on a Saturday and Sunday might night in a larger room at the back which at £65 was good value except on the Saturday night we got very little sleep.
We woke at 12 ish to the sound of clattering underneath our room which I assume was by a stag or a hen party. Apparently the Dorset opens late on a Friday and Saturday so if you are thinking of staying on one these nights be warned. Also I think room 3 is over the toilets as we frequently heard a dyson like hand dryer go off. Also people were smoking out of the back of the pub smoking so we couldn't leave room window open both due to noise and smoke
2,The cleanliness was a little to be desired the carpet was red but there was a grey outline of dust in front of furniture and all around room.I cleaned up a dried on substance on the carpet which we found when we got there. There was a lot of dust of the chair and fireplace
Perhaps the cleaner does not get a lot of time and just whizzes through. A lot of bits were clean but generally the room was grubby
3,We thought the breakfast was fine for the money
4 Big carpark opposite we parked on the road for free opposite on the road on Sunday
The rooms are well decorated for the price

Room Tip: perhaps room on side would be quieter on Friday and sat
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FalmouthLucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lewes hotels
0.5 mi away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#3 of 8 in Lewes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Shelleys
The Shelleys
#4 of 8 in Lewes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
0.4 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#7 of 8 in Lewes
3.0 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Newmarket Inn
Newmarket Inn
#5 of 8 in Lewes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Lewes Town Centre
7.3 mi away
The Blacksmiths Arms
The Blacksmiths Arms
#1 of 1 in Offham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dorset Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dorset Inn

Property: The Dorset Inn
Address: 22 Malling Street, Lewes BN7 2RD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Lewes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Lewes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dorset, a traditional pub with letting rooms, is located in the heart of historic Lewes and is ideal for walkers and cyclists travelling the South Downs Way. All our rooms are en suite, we have secure cycle storage facilities, a roaring fire during the winter months and a sun drenched patio in the summer. Parking is also available in the large pay and display car park situated in between us and Harveys Brewery; its free after 5pm and all day on Sundays. We look forward to seeing you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Dorset Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dorset Arms Hotel Lewes
The Dorset Inn Lewes, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing