We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed!”

Webbe's at the Fish Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Webbe's at the Fish Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 108 Restaurants in Rye
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$80
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: If arriving by train - we are a short walk from Rye train station. If arriving by Bus, the main stop is near the railway station also, again short walking distance from us.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed!”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

After receiving many good reviews on this restaurant, we were uterly disappointed with our visit. Three of our fish dishes were beautiful but my husband ordered the surf and turf and was distraught. As he isnt a complainer at all it was very difficult for him to mention his dissatisfaction. The staff were bland and unhelpful and did very little to ease our dissastisfaction.
The steak was overcooked and the lobster tasted out of date and on complianing the staff were unhelpful. This was the one meal on our week away we were really looking forward to so were very much upset with this visit.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

890 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    522
    256
    72
    31
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Not your average cafe”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

The food is excellent - great flavours supporting fresh seafood and presented beautifully. The service is friendly enough, although the junior we had bring our meals set them down with an unnerving clatter. The surroundings are definitely 'cafeteria' not 'fine dining restaurant'. Not the right destination for a special occasion perhaps. Just go for great seafood.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank rickl566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potters Bar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great night with excellent service”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We went on a Saturday night, taking the penultimate table for the early sitting.

The service throughout was both fast and thoughtful, with them being very happy to give us time to linger between courses despite a busy night. We thought some of the best service we have had outside of starred restaurants, and much warmer than those...

The tempura starter is very well done and would be good to share for a table. My local crab was tasty, but their Harissa mackerel was brilliant - best thing I've eaten in ages. Fish and chips also very good.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Advisable to book”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

When we arrived at this restaurant only one other table was occupied but within an hour the place was full. The food was well presented and exceptional quality and taste. We shared a cheese board which had a good selection of cheeses but thought the price of £8.50 a little expensive. The staff were friendly and efficient. We had a very enjoyable dining experience.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank riverview00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“My favourite place in the world.”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

I've had a meal on every continent. Webbe's in Rye is my very favourite place.
Having worked in catering I appreciate working under the microscope in an open environment but these guys thrive on it. The food is always amazing. The service is always amazing. The atmosphere is always amazing. To produce an experience for such a reasonable price is amazing.

Don't go here to have a nice meal, you won't get one. You'll get an AMAZING MEAL!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Joseph-Santiago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Webbe's at the Fish Cafe also viewed

 
Rye, East Sussex
Rye, East Sussex
 

Been to Webbe's at the Fish Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing