We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of this world...”
Review of Saltcote Place Rye

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Saltcote Place Rye
Ranked #1 of 39 Rye B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Out of this world...”
Reviewed 10 May 2012

... and the most magical weekend I have ever had.

I was swept away for a surprise weekend at Saltcote Place by my boyfriend at the end of April. We arrived on Friday evening, with the sun slung low in the sky, and the light skimming the Sussex hedgrows. Upon pulling up outside the big gates to Saltcote Place, I knew we had arrived somewhere wonderfully special. The building and grounds are spectacular, the former school cutting a striking figure amongst the immaculately kept grounds, which roll down to a small cliff, from where you can see for miles out across the endless green of the Romney marshes to the sea. The immediate sense of space and complete quiet was the perfect end to a busy working week in London.

We were greeted by Paul and Java (the enormous, but gorgeous rotty), who offered us complimentary drinks, lots of tips on where to visit in Rye, but more importantly the warmth of someone wholeheartedly welcoming you into their home. We were immediately put at ease and throughout our stay were treated like pampered friends, rather than guests, and this is one of the many things that distinguishes Saltcote Place from your average 5 star B&B.

We were shown to our suite, which was spotlessly clean, gloriously comfortable and brimming with beautiful little touches. The B&B annex has its own separate entrance, so as to ensure privacy and the sense of being able to come and go as we pleased, because, as well as being the friendliest hosts you could ever meet, Alan and Paul never invade your space, leaving you to chill out and enjoy the peaceful luxury of your surroundings.

A weekend of true relaxation had just begun and that evening, following a mouthwatering contemporary evening meal at The Ambrette in Rye, we fell asleep to the sound of nothing, save for the occasional gentle peacock call through the dark.

After a lovely long, comfortable sleep, we pottered down for a late breakfast (at our own specified time), where we met Alan, king of the kitchen, who rustled up the most delicious English breakfast I have ever eaten, sourced from local providers, and provided much breakfast banter. Together with fresh fruit, croissants, brioche, constant juice and coffee refills, the pleasant and hilarious conversation with our hosts meant that most of the morning had passed at the breakfast table, before we ventured out to Rye, armed with much local knowledge and anecdotes. There was plenty to see in the town and, in particular, we would heartily recommend the cream tea at Fletchers and a visit to the town model.

Sunday morning was much the same - a luxuriously lazy two hour breakfast with lots of laughs - save for afterwards we went for a stroll in the gardens and, against the backdrop of the breathtaking view, someone popped an important question. I can honestly say that, in my loveliest dreams, I couldn't have imagined a more fantastic place to get engaged, or two more wonderful and considerate hosts for such an important occasion than Alan and Paul, who (having been in on the act but having kept a very discreet distance) had left us champagne and strawberries to celebrate on the veranda. It was the gorgeous little gestures like this and attention to detail that puts Saltcote Place above and beyond all of the other first class places we have stayed.

So, if you are looking to visit somewhere you will treasure forever, you need look no further than here.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roadster25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    473
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
61
347
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Streatley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

My wife and I enjoyed a wonderful short break at Saltcote Place. Paul and Alan greeted us like long lost friends and provided a degree of attentive service and assistance unrivalled in our very long experience. The house is amazing with wonderful views, and Rye is only a short walk away. The bed was amazingly comfortable and I cannot recall such sumptuous breakfasts, even at the Marbella Club where you pay a fortune for the priviledge! Nothing was too much trouble - I arrived completely stressed out, and departed feeling relaxed and uplifted. Certainly hope to return! (nb: Would definately recommend the "Ambrette" restaurant in Rye).

Room Tip: All rooms are great (we had a conducted tour!).
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scampicat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

We had a nice stay at Saltcote Place Rye. The room is very clean and the bed is comfortable. Nice hosts. Recommended!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MClarke00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonita Springs, FL
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Beyond .... comparison!

You have to experience this! Paul and Alan make the term "customer service" sound not only cold but ridiculous. Think about this .... if you went to visit your long lost brothers and they treated you like only special family could, then you wouldn't describe how they acted as "great customer service". You'd tell just how warm they were and what a wonderful experience they made it for you.

Well, on a 1-5 scale for Warmth and Wonderful Experience Paul and Alan get a 6 !!!

Want to give someone you love a great experience ... try this !

We shall return !

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cooksbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

My wife and I spent a weekend at Salcote Place. From the moment you enter to the moment you leave, you are full of joy and admiration for this place. Alan and Paul are wonderful hosts. They have such a great sense of humour (Alan your anecdotes were fascinating and extremely amusing).

The place is a wonderful old mansion with period furniture kept in an immaculate way. Attention to detail is remarkable. The whole place has been done up with passion and love. The kitchen is a labour of love and is a must see.

We will come back. A great place to relax and within 10 mins walk to the centre of Rye. Oh, while you are there do try the Tuscan Kitchen.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MuffinMedway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

My husband booked a one night stay at the Saltcote as a surprise for my 50th Birthday. Well he really excelled in his choice of B&B! The attention to detail, comfort, hospitality and warm welcome was excellent. The hosts Alan and Paul really know how to give a friendly pampered experience. There was a complimentary bottle of champagne and a 50th birthday card waiting in the room. My husband had e mailed ahead to say that I really dislike lilies so they accommodated by placing 12 red roses in the room. The little touches made it so special such as the Belgian chocolates, fresh fruit, nightcap (baileys and port). The toiletries were Floris and included everything you could possibly need. The towels were fluffy and soft, the bed linen was crisp and pristine, the glasses were crystal and every inch of the room was spotless! There was also free fast internet.

Breakfast was probably the best we have eaten in any B&B or hotel. Alan and Paul were so attentive, nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was a three course affair, eaten in the most wonderful bespoke kitchen, The fresh fruit was presented as a work of art with creamy Greek yoghurt, then on to a full English with delicious quality bacon, ale and pork sausage (my husband had ostrich sausage), delicately flavoured sauté potatoes, tomato, beans, seeded toast etc. There was a wonderful selection of jams/preserves and to finish, lovely warm fresh croissants and Danish pastries, Choice of teas and coffee and fresh fruit juice............I could go on and on about the food! Thank you Alan for setting us up for the day!

The house is so beautiful, packed with tasteful and quirky antiques, it was like visiting a National Trust property, and it is obviously a labour of love for Paul and Alan. We ate at a local restaurant which was recommended by our hosts which was exquisite.......all in all a fantastic 50th, we will definitely be back. If you are looking for quality, warmth and an exceptional experience then don’t hesitate to book.......you won’t regret it!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynnetim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Perfect! We had the most lovely time.
From arrival up the tree lined avenue, being greeted by Paul and sitting for a cup of tea, it was fantastic.
Paul and Alan are such great hosts and the House is just impeccable and beautiful. We felt special from the moment we arrived. They made us feel so comfortable and went out of their way to help us with places to go/see and great restaurants to eat at.
Their breakfasts are just delicious and every little thing was thought of. They also added lots of lovely little extras, which really made our stay.
The room was lovely and so comfortable, with a look and furnishings which matched the rest of the house and was so tastefully decorated, with some great modern comforts.
Paul and Alan are a joy to be around and always left us with a smile on our faces and their dog Java is such a softy.
The history of the house, we found highly interesting and made us feel very privileged to be staying there. They have very sensitively and beautifully restored this house to not only a wonderful Bed & Breakfast, but a lovely home.
We definitely, without hesitation recommend this to everybody.
We cannot wait to come back.
Lots of love,
Amy & Luke Gilbert-Bray ;)

Room Tip: To be honest, all of their rooms are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rye hotels
0.8 mi away
The Hope Anchor Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
The Mermaid Inn
#1 of 9 in Rye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
0.6 mi away
The George in Rye
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Rye Lodge Hotel
Rye Lodge Hotel
#5 of 9 in Rye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Gallivant
The Gallivant
#1 of 1 in Camber
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
0.9 mi away
Willow Tree House
Willow Tree House
#2 of 39 in Rye
5.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saltcote Place Rye? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saltcote Place Rye

Property: Saltcote Place Rye
Address: Saltcote Place Saltcote Lane, Rye TN31 7NR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Rye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Saltcote Place Rye 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxed calm & quiet, Saltcote Place is all about you. Our home is a modest country mansion overlooking Rye where we offer a very bespoke personal service. We are not a hotel. We enjoy the early discussions when you are booking and then work with you to help you create something rather special for your break. 6 to 8 minutes walk will place you in the High St. Secure off street parking with charging FOC for electric vehicles. Exclusive use We offer exclusive use weekends for private family celebrations and whilst we offer Weddings it will always be exclusive to the Couple so if you see a wedding here then you will personally know the Bride or Groom as WE NEVER MIX GUESTS. We hope you enjoy Champagne breakfasts and don't mind complimentary decanters upon your return in the evening. No Children under 15 unless at a Wedding With regret we cannot accept children under the age of 15. Please always try to BOOK DIRECT with us as you will save the Online Travel Agency commission. You found us without them so you do not need to pay more for your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Saltcote Place Rye reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saltcote Place Rye Hotel Rye
Saltcote Place Rye East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing