We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Saltcote Place Rye

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Saltcote Place Rye
Ranked #1 of 38 Rye B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bexleyheath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

What a wonderful 5 star experience staying at Saltcote Place is. From the moment we arrived we were welcomed like old friends into the home of Paul and Andy. Nothing was too much trouble and the accommodation was quite exquisite with beautiful furnishings throughout and immaculate extensive gardens with the most amazing views.
We were treated like royalty with a breakfast to start the day fit for a king with lots of extra finishing touches to make our stay that little bit more special.
We certainly hope to visit again in the future. Phil & Jon

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philgbailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    469
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
61
343
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rye, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

Our stay at Saltcote Place was a dream! Alan and Paul are absolutely charming, very professional but also very warm and fun too! They made us feel welcome from the minute we arrived. Their attention to detail is second to none and the house and grounds are beautiful! The breakfast was delicious and left us more than satisfied. Thankyou so much we have fond memories of our stay, we'll be back xxxxxxxxxx Zoe and John

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zoe h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

Saltcote Place what a wonderful place, even better than the photos. On arrival we were welcomed by Paul, one of our hosts, who made us feel at home almost immediately by offering us tea and showing us around. Our room was beyond all expectations, being beautifully furnished whilst also being fabulously comfortable. Then came breakfast. A veritable feast was served, everything and anything you could imagine was available. Alan had cooked the food which was beautifully presented and tasted delicious.

From the champagne at breakfast to the night cap left in our room of an evening, Saltcote’s was the most romantic hideaway for the start of a new relationship.

Alan and Paul were perfect hosts, we can’t recommend them highly enough.

Derrick and Lianne

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lianne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

Our hosts Alan and Paul made our stay extra special. We have stayed in "posh" hotels before but we have never felt like we were at home as we did at Saltcote Place. Wonderful, wonderful hotel full of beautiful items. First rate facilities, absolutely 5 star.

Alan even entertained us with his singing on our last night! He is an excellent singer too. We will never forget our time with them and hope to visit again at some time.

Ray and Kate Spencer.xxx

Room Tip: They are all beautiful so no problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

We have just returned from a two night stay at Saltcote Place. Alan and Paul made us feel very welcome, it really was like being a guest in their home. Saltcote Place is a beautifully restored mansion a 5-10 minute walk from Rye town centre; it’s in a peaceful and pretty location. We were blessed with fantastic weather and were able to sit in the garden to enjoy the lovely view across Kent. The breakfast choice was varied, tasty and very filling. However, whilst we enjoyed our time there, in future we would opt for the anonymity and 24 hour service of hotel accomodation rather than a home stay. This is expensive 5* accomodation and our high expectations (set by Tripadvisor reviews) were not entirely met. We would feel more comfortable discussing issues with hotel staff rather than being in someone’s home where there is risk of causing offence. Whilst Saltcote Place isn’'t suited to our preferences Alan and Paul will continue to enjoy huge success. And deservedly so.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Redhead2405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

Beautiful house, beautiful grounds, beautiful people. Alan and Paul made us feel so very welcome and special. I felt like a celebrity! The rooms were amazing - perfect in every detail. The food and ambience were excellent. I would definitely recommend Saltcote Place to anyone with a discerning nature. Would definitely love to go back there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

We were lucky enough to be booked into Saltcote by family whilst attending a wedding In the area, so we weren't sure what to expect, but after doing some research on the net, we knew that we were in for treat. However, nothing could have prepared us for such an amazing experience! To start with, the house itself is absolutely gorgeous, set in beautiful grounds with stunning views. It's incredibly well presented, with lots of interesting furnishings, paintings and objects to look at. From the moment we arrived, we were treated like royalty, and it became apparent that nothing would be too much trouble for out hosts, Alan and Paul. Our breakfasts were delicious, and huge, with so much choice - fruit, cereals, toast, or fry-ups, and copious amounts of juice and tea or coffee, which we ate in the kitchen and enjoyed the company and humour of our hosts. Our rooms were pure luxury and the attention to detail was beyond compare. We were quite devastated to have left this morning, but I hope that we will return...soon! Everybody needs to spend some time at Saltcote. Thank you so much Alan and Paul, you are by far the best hosts ever xxx

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rye hotels
0.8 mi away
The Hope Anchor Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
The Mermaid Inn
#1 of 9 in Rye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
0.6 mi away
The George in Rye
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Rye Lodge Hotel
Rye Lodge Hotel
#5 of 9 in Rye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Gallivant
The Gallivant
#1 of 1 in Camber
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,177 reviews
0.9 mi away
Willow Tree House
Willow Tree House
#2 of 38 in Rye
5.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saltcote Place Rye? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saltcote Place Rye

Property: Saltcote Place Rye
Address: Saltcote Place Saltcote Lane, Rye TN31 7NR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Rye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Saltcote Place Rye 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxed calm & quiet, Saltcote Place is all about you. Our home is a modest country mansion overlooking Rye where we offer a very bespoke personal service. We are not a hotel. We enjoy the early discussions when you are booking and then work with you to help you create something rather special for your break. 6 to 8 minutes walk will place you in the High St. Secure off street parking with charging FOC for electric vehicles. Exclusive use We offer exclusive use weekends for private family celebrations and whilst we offer Weddings it will always be exclusive to the Couple so if you see a wedding here then you will personally know the Bride or Groom as WE NEVER MIX GUESTS. We hope you enjoy Champagne breakfasts and don't mind complimentary decanters upon your return in the evening. No Children under 15 unless at a Wedding With regret we cannot accept children under the age of 15. Please always try to BOOK DIRECT with us as you will save the Online Travel Agency commission. You found us without them so you do not need to pay more for your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Saltcote Place Rye reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saltcote Place Rye Hotel Rye
Saltcote Place Rye East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing