We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best breakfast”
Review of Saltcote Place Rye

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Saltcote Place Rye
Ranked #6 of 39 Rye B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Staying at Saltocote Place was a pleasure from start to finish. From fresh coffee on arrival to the nightcap when we turned in each evening.

In the morning the best breakfast you could wish for served by the friendliest hosts, Paul and Alan. We learned a lot about the history of the house and of Rye and its surroundings and good advice on things to do and places to eat.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (496)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

253 - 259 of 496 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2012

We had the joy of staying at Saltcote Place as guests of the brides parents. It was our first visit but certainly will not be our last. The house was fabulous and the service outstanding. Saltcote is run by Alan and Paul the house being both their home and business. The welcome is a mixture of sophistication,informality and genuine warmth with service to match. Breakfast was served by both and was to die for with both ingredients and the manner of cooking all that anyone could wish for. The rooms are beautiful and comfortable and the gardens provide a quiet, restful escape with views of the Channel.



Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

what an amazing experiance me and my husband had at this beautiful mansion, from the moment we arrived on our wedding night it was a dream, petals layed across our bed, champagne on ice, fresh fruit and not to mention the chocolates all waiting for us on arrival, it did not stop there the breakfast was mouth watering and served like a true 5 star should be served, paul and alan made us feel so special serving us champagne with our breakfast it realy was a magical 2 days and to top this all off alan sang me the most beautiful song"unforgetable" as we was leaving..i can assure you if you stay here it really is an unforgetable experiance.. Amy and Dean x

Room Tip: we had an amazing view over rye from our room i think all rooms have a spectacular view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajdawes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Many 5 star hotels have a lot to learn from Paul and Alan. From drinks in the garden as their guests when we arrived, to organising a taxi and an excellent restaurant, and finally arranging an appointment at a clinic for a minor injury, their help was greatly appreciated. Fantastic accommodation - The Military Room - and a freshly cooked breakfast of our choice, with the dog, Java, waiting for us to finish. The hosts attention to detail was second to none. We will visit again and can recommend to anyone.
This has been dictated to me by Brenda and Gordon, my parents, who are not sufficiently computer-savvy to do it themselves!

Room Tip: We saw all the rooms and they are all excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theparticulars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

What a wonderful 5 star experience staying at Saltcote Place is. From the moment we arrived we were welcomed like old friends into the home of Paul and Andy. Nothing was too much trouble and the accommodation was quite exquisite with beautiful furnishings throughout and immaculate extensive gardens with the most amazing views.
We were treated like royalty with a breakfast to start the day fit for a king with lots of extra finishing touches to make our stay that little bit more special.
We certainly hope to visit again in the future. Phil & Jon

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philgbailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Our stay at Saltcote Place was a dream! Alan and Paul are absolutely charming, very professional but also very warm and fun too! They made us feel welcome from the minute we arrived. Their attention to detail is second to none and the house and grounds are beautiful! The breakfast was delicious and left us more than satisfied. Thankyou so much we have fond memories of our stay, we'll be back xxxxxxxxxx Zoe and John

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zoe h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Saltcote Place what a wonderful place, even better than the photos. On arrival we were welcomed by Paul, one of our hosts, who made us feel at home almost immediately by offering us tea and showing us around. Our room was beyond all expectations, being beautifully furnished whilst also being fabulously comfortable. Then came breakfast. A veritable feast was served, everything and anything you could imagine was available. Alan had cooked the food which was beautifully presented and tasted delicious.

From the champagne at breakfast to the night cap left in our room of an evening, Saltcote’s was the most romantic hideaway for the start of a new relationship.

Alan and Paul were perfect hosts, we can’t recommend them highly enough.

Derrick and Lianne

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lianne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rye hotels
0.7 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
0.6 mi away
The George in Rye
0.8 mi away
The Hope Anchor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Gallivant
The Gallivant
#1 of 1 in Camber
1,440 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rye Lodge Hotel
Rye Lodge Hotel
#5 of 9 in Rye
832 reviews
0.9 mi away
Willow Tree House
Willow Tree House
#1 of 39 in Rye
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saltcote Place Rye? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saltcote Place Rye

Address: Saltcote Place Saltcote Lane, Rye TN31 7NR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Rye
Price Range: £224 - £230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Saltcote Place Rye 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxed calm & quiet, Saltcote Place is all about you. Our home is a modest country mansion overlooking Rye where we offer a very bespoke personal service. We are not a hotel. We enjoy the early discussions when you are booking and then work with you to help you create something rather special for your break. 6 to 8 minutes walk will place you in the High St. Secure off street parking with charging FOC for electric vehicles. Exclusive use We offer exclusive use weekends for private family celebrations and whilst we offer Weddings it will always be exclusive to the Couple so if you see a wedding here then you will personally know the Bride or Groom as WE NEVER MIX GUESTS. We hope you enjoy Champagne breakfasts and don't mind complimentary decanters upon your return in the evening. No Children under 15 unless at a Wedding With regret we cannot accept children under the age of 15. Please always try to BOOK DIRECT with us as you will save the Online Travel Agency commission. You found us without them so you do not need to pay more for your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Saltcote Place Rye reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saltcote Place Rye Hotel Rye
Saltcote Place Rye East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing