We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best B&B We've Ever Encountered”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Saltcote Place Rye

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Saltcote Place Rye
Ranked #1 of 38 Rye B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Best B&B We've Ever Encountered”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

My husband and I have stayed in many B&B's in Europe and the United States. Our experience at Saltcote Place was the best of all. We were there for three days and could easily have stayed longer. Our hosts, Paul and Alan, were so welcoming and gracious. The house and grounds are gorgeous. Our breakfasts were delicious. Paul and Alan went out of their way to take care of us. We did not have a car, so we walked wherever we could, and they called a taxi for us whenever we needed one. Once they called the pub where we were having dinner to ask them to see to it that we got "home" safely. Their suggestions for where to go and what to see were absolutely on target. The little touches were charming and fun, including the towels formed into the shape of elephants! We feel as if they are friends and still keep in touch.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grandot112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    469
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
61
343
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

Just spent a glorious weekend at Saltcote Place. Everything was perfect, from the delicious champagne breakfasts, to the cosy room with chocolates by the bed and glasses of port waiting for us after dinner, fluffy bathrobes, gorgeous gardens, and perfect hosting by Paul and Alan. We felt very much at home, but at the same time the whole experience was so glamorous. This place definitely deserves all its TripAdvisor accolades and I recommend it without hesitation to anyone who would like to spend a wonderful few days with someone special.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarmenL0nd0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
99 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

Saltcote Place is a bit of a treasure, due in no small part to the superlative hosting skills of its owners Paul and Alan who looked after us so wonderfully on our two-night break.

Never intrusive, they were welcoming and very thoughtful, and made us feel like we were staying with dear friends or relatives. Their home, perched in pretty grounds, on a ridge with views stretching over Rye to one side and Romney to the other feels tranquil and comfortable, and it is clear they have put great care and love into every detail of the place having restored the Chateau style building to its former glory and filled it with their antiques.

In the generously sized rooms there are thick fluffy towels and robes, heritage Floris toiletries, good quality hairdryers, high thread-count sheets, fresh fruit and flowers, chocolates and mineral water - these little touches feel so carefully considered. Everything is faultless.

Breakfast is a communal affair, served usually at 9am, seated at the large dining table in Alan and Paul's grand Smallbone-style kitchen, surrounded by antique vases, flowers, cherubs, crystal, and delightfully camp crockery with not a teaspoon out of place. Alan, in a pressed white apron cooks a choice of hot dishes whilst Paul glides in and out of the room, topping up freshly pressed coffee, juice (and Champagne if it's a weekend) and serving toast and pastries with a pair of silver tongs and a cheesy joke here and there for good measure! It all feels beautifully civilised, traditional and proper, yet convivial at the same time.

Rye itself is lovely. Our hosts gave us great restaurant tips, and made sure the restaurants looked after us too - we were given complimentary champagne at one restaurant because Paul had called ahead and informed the restaurant we were their guests.

There is ample parking on-site in their secure, gated grounds, and Rye is a short 10 minute walk away (although uphill on the way back!)

To stay at Saltcote Place is not cheap, nor should it be - it is worth every penny. It feels like a treat to stay in such lovely surroundings, and a delight to be so well looked after by such lovely hosts.

Room Tip: Telephone to make your booking so you can discuss which room you would like, rather than booking onl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WilliamsLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

Our visit to quaint and historic Rye was totally upstaged by the stay at Saltcote. The house and our suite were perfect, uniquely presented by our hosts we had a memorable stay that was both very comfortable and welcoming. The attention to quality was impressive. Thank you Alan for the wonderful eggs Benedict and the kindness and courtesy of your hosting. Saltcote Place was the highlight of our trip to the south coast.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lydd
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

what a gorgeous place, the house and grounds are amazing and the view is unreal. was such a perfect day and you couldnt of picked a better venue, also the hosts where brilliant. i must say ot was the ideal place to have the wedding. the house was stunning and a beautiful back drop for photos.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lydd, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

I was lucky enough to photograph this amazing venue at a wedding this year. The hotel is beautifully decorated in every room with manicured gardens and spectacular views across Romney marsh and Rye. Paul and Alan are wonderful hosts ensuring everything ran smoothly and making the day just that little bit more special. I hope I will be lucky enough to work here again someday in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rye, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

Wow what can we say! Me and my new husband made the best decision ever when we decided to have our Wedding at Saltcote place. We had the most amazing weekend and can not thank Paul and Alan enough! Both me and my husband and our family were smiling all day long and will remember the day forever! We were made extremely welcome and received so much help and support from Paul and Alan to make our day perfect! The food was great and there home is stunning and the views are breath taking. Wish i could do it all again! Highly recommended and a stunning home and wedding venue. The Suites were out of this world, and can not wait to return on our 1 year Anniversary.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rye hotels
0.8 mi away
The Hope Anchor Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
The Mermaid Inn
#1 of 9 in Rye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
0.6 mi away
The George in Rye
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Rye Lodge Hotel
Rye Lodge Hotel
#5 of 9 in Rye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Gallivant
The Gallivant
#1 of 1 in Camber
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
0.9 mi away
Willow Tree House
Willow Tree House
#2 of 38 in Rye
5.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saltcote Place Rye? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saltcote Place Rye

Property: Saltcote Place Rye
Address: Saltcote Place Saltcote Lane, Rye TN31 7NR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Rye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Saltcote Place Rye 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxed calm & quiet, Saltcote Place is all about you. Our home is a modest country mansion overlooking Rye where we offer a very bespoke personal service. We are not a hotel. We enjoy the early discussions when you are booking and then work with you to help you create something rather special for your break. 6 to 8 minutes walk will place you in the High St. Secure off street parking with charging FOC for electric vehicles. Exclusive use We offer exclusive use weekends for private family celebrations and whilst we offer Weddings it will always be exclusive to the Couple so if you see a wedding here then you will personally know the Bride or Groom as WE NEVER MIX GUESTS. We hope you enjoy Champagne breakfasts and don't mind complimentary decanters upon your return in the evening. No Children under 15 unless at a Wedding With regret we cannot accept children under the age of 15. Please always try to BOOK DIRECT with us as you will save the Online Travel Agency commission. You found us without them so you do not need to pay more for your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Saltcote Place Rye reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saltcote Place Rye Hotel Rye
Saltcote Place Rye East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing