We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unrivalled attention to customer service.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Saltcote Place Rye

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Saltcote Place Rye
Ranked #1 of 38 Rye B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hertford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Unrivalled attention to customer service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

A quite unique experience where guests are effectively invited into the home of the proprietors Paul and Alan.
Nothing was too much trouble for them and they are totally committed to making their quests welcome.
Situated very close to the attractive and interesting town of Rye.
We will be repeating our experience later this year. It is very rare for us to return to a previous hotel or guest house.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank djdyment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    464
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
61
339
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

My partner organised the perfect surprise break for us over Christmas at this incredible venue and it will go down in history as one of my most treasured memories. No exaggeration! Alan and Paul are the PERFECT hosts with a wealth of customer service experience. Nothing was too much trouble for this "dynamic duo" and we felt utterly spoilt from the moment we walked through the door of their spectacular home. Saltcote Place is the most idyllic retreat with breathtaking views from every side of the building. Paul and Alan's attention to detail was faultless; they even placed a fully-decorated Christmas tree in our room to make us feel at home! Breakfast-time was a unique experience in itself and so perfectly presented that we often spent 3 hours at the table, relishing the hospitality. These two pros will astound you with their welcome and as well as being two of the most friendly and entertaining people I've ever met, they have great knowledge of the local area and its history. Salcote Place will "knock your socks off" and I can't wait until we can organise another visit. Thank you Alan and Paul for making our Christmas so extraordinary.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaztapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hythe, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

I booked Saltcote Place for a Birthday weekend treat for my wife. It will be a Birthday she will remember as we had an amazing experiance. Paul and Alan should be rightly very proud of the hospitality they provide. From beautiful rooms , amazing breakfasts and wonderful hosts the whole experiance was amazing. I would happily reccomend Saltcote Place to anyone wanting a memorable weekend.

Steve Walker

Room Tip: Ring Paul or Alan to help you pick the best rooms for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steven w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

The weekend we spent between Christmas and New Year at Saltcote Place was wonderful.

The first question you might think of is 'does it live up to all the great reviews?'. The answer is simple: yes and I'm nearly ashamed to think that I could have had doubts.

Alan and Paul, always helpful and full of attentions from beginning to end, will make your stay memorable, make you feel special and completely at ease at the same time. You are not only staying at their house, you will have the impression of sharing a small slice of your life and theirs, like friends, especially during the amazing breakfast.

The combination of the venue, attention to detail, exceptional service and flexibility from the hosts will make your stay in Rye a thing you will remember with no doubt and is exactly what I would call 'luxury' or 'special'.

To say that I recommend Saltcote Place is an understatement. See for yourself, you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JeanNC85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

Just returned from Saltcote Place with Alan and Paul as our hosts - we were made to feel extremely welcome and really felt they both enjoy what they do there. Breakfast was in one of the most beautiful kitchens you will ever see and cooked to perfection with fantastic service and attention to detail. We would definitely return and look forward to seeing their new dog!!!
All the best to Alan and Paul - keep up the good work

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ANIMALLOVERS_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greatstone-on-Sea
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

Alan and Paul, the owners, made a very important day, very memorable. It was our daughters wedding plus both parents forty-third wedding ans. on the same day.
We were made to feel so welcome nothing was a bother, details were mastered without a drama.
The venue is so special, un- equalled. The catering from canapés to a three course meal was without fuss. Staff service again moved amongst us so professionally seamless, graceful.
The firework display finale was a winner, the elevated home position meant you look at the display not up at it. The day was all the special with the cold dry,sunny conditions beautiful november day.
A very BIG thank you to Alan and Paul from Liz and izzy, our V.I.P.D.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful stay at Saltcote Place, the attention to detail in every aspect is second to none.

Paul and Alan were amazing - nothing is too much trouble, so helpful and obliging - it made our short break something to remember.

The suite was luxurious and generously proportioned, including turn down service, chocolates and night cap.

An unending choice for breakfast, cooked to perfection and served in a leisurely manner, allowing us the chance to engage with our hosts.

Perfectly located with only a short walk into Rye town centre, where there is an abundance of places to shop and eat.

No hesitation in recommending to anyone, if you are considering Rye as a place to stay this is a must!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rye hotels
0.8 mi away
The Hope Anchor Hotel
0.6 mi away
The George in Rye
0.7 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
The Mermaid Inn
#3 of 9 in Rye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Rye Lodge Hotel
Rye Lodge Hotel
#5 of 9 in Rye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Gallivant
The Gallivant
#1 of 1 in Camber
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,142 reviews
0.9 mi away
Willow Tree House
Willow Tree House
#2 of 38 in Rye
5.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saltcote Place Rye? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saltcote Place Rye

Property: Saltcote Place Rye
Address: Saltcote Place Saltcote Lane, Rye TN31 7NR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Rye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Saltcote Place Rye 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxed calm warm & quiet, Saltcote Place is all about you, our home is a country mansion overlooking Rye where we offer a very bespoke personal service. We are not a hotel. We enjoy the early discussions when you are booking and then work with you to help you create something rather special for your break. Exclusive use We offer exclusive use weekends for private family celebrations and whilst we offer Weddings it will always be exclusive to the Couple so if you see a wedding here then you will personally know the Bride or Groom as WE NEVER MIX GUESTS. We hope you enjoy Champagne breakfasts and don't mind complimentary decanters upon your return in the evening. No Children under 15 unless at a Wedding With regret we cannot accept children under the age of 15. Please always try to BOOK DIRECT with us as you will save the Online Travel Agency commission. You found us without them so you do not need to pay more for your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Saltcote Place Rye reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saltcote Place Rye Hotel Rye
Saltcote Place Rye East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing