We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Nothing Too Much Trouble"”
Review of Saltcote Place Rye

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Saltcote Place Rye
Ranked #1 of 40 Rye B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
“"Nothing Too Much Trouble"”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Trip Advisor ratings are well justified, and more, judging by our three night break. Alan & Paul
are splendid hosts which is represented by the title of this review. The breakfast menu is a full
A.4 size of paper and if you eat only some of it you could be full for the day such is the quantity
and quality. Our room was spotlessly clean, with free wi-fi, a turn down service and nightcap provided at no additional cost and was quiet. The large surrounding gardens are well maintained
with extensive views over Rye and the surrounding area and well worth spending some time enjoying. My wife and I will certainly return.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Rother Valley suite which gets the some on both sides in the morning and is based...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank bowler15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    484
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
65
352
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 June 2014

¬We were looking for a special place for a special celebration and we certainly found it. Our hosts, Paul and Alan welcomed us to their home and made it ours too. The friendliness, thoughtfulness and attention to detail were second to none without being overbearing or intrusive. Their house is magnificent and the rooms immaculate with stunning views. Breakfast was the best we have ever had anywhere in UK.
Rye is charming with good restaurants to sit all tastes which Paul was happy to advise on.
Excellent, we could find no fault.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CatnapUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 13 June 2014

we loved staying here Alan and paul are very welcoming and made you feel at home and they were accommodating when we had to change the date due to family issues. and the breakfast was out of this world thank you both for a lovely stay and we would love to stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natashasharpe27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Thank-you Paul and Alan for a fantastic weekend. Attention to detail was excellent and we thoroughly enjoyed it. The house and its surroundings were stunning. Good advice on what to do locally and delicious cooked breakfasts. Thank you for making our wedding anniversary special!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Words simply cannot describe how amazing Salcote Place is. The attention to detail is superb and Paul and Alan treat you more like their friends rather than just guests, you are made to feel extremely welcome in their home. With no expense spared indoors and beautiful views of Rye and beyond you couldn't ask for more. A truly astounding place.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suva, Fiji
1 review
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Like no other accomodation we have experienced Salcote Place was the highlight of our recent trip to the UK.The hosts, Paul and Alan, make their stately home our own from the moment we entered through the controlled gates at the end of the private drive. With the finest attention to every detail and more beside we relaxed in the atmosphere created by antique furnishings and chandeliers whilst overlooking the historic walled cinque port of Rye in Sussex.
We shall return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank pacificredwing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suva, Fiji
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I would highly recomand this beautiful place, because the owners are the loveliest people i've come across and the place is stunningly beautiful, the service is unbelievable, do you know that you will get chocolate, fruits and nightcap in your room, well i have never come across any of this in any other hotel,and on top of that breakfast is to die for in the morning, and the view, oh my god i can't even mention it cause its just beautiful, so if you are looking for a place to stay in rye i highly recomand Saltcote Place Rye.

Room Tip: any room in the place is perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Temo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rye hotels
0.7 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
The Mermaid Inn
#1 of 9 in Rye
972 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rye Lodge Hotel
Rye Lodge Hotel
#5 of 9 in Rye
773 reviews
0.6 mi away
The George in Rye
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Hope Anchor Hotel
0.8 mi away
River Haven Hotel
2.7 mi away
The Gallivant
The Gallivant
#1 of 1 in Camber
1,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saltcote Place Rye? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saltcote Place Rye

Property: Saltcote Place Rye
Address: Saltcote Place Saltcote Lane, Rye TN31 7NR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Rye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Saltcote Place Rye 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxed calm & quiet, Saltcote Place is all about you. Our home is a modest country mansion overlooking Rye where we offer a very bespoke personal service. We are not a hotel. We enjoy the early discussions when you are booking and then work with you to help you create something rather special for your break. 6 to 8 minutes walk will place you in the High St. Secure off street parking with charging FOC for electric vehicles. Exclusive use We offer exclusive use weekends for private family celebrations and whilst we offer Weddings it will always be exclusive to the Couple so if you see a wedding here then you will personally know the Bride or Groom as WE NEVER MIX GUESTS. We hope you enjoy Champagne breakfasts and don't mind complimentary decanters upon your return in the evening. No Children under 15 unless at a Wedding With regret we cannot accept children under the age of 15. Please always try to BOOK DIRECT with us as you will save the Online Travel Agency commission. You found us without them so you do not need to pay more for your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Saltcote Place Rye reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saltcote Place Rye Hotel Rye
Saltcote Place Rye East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing