We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly exceptional venue!”
Review of Saltcote Place Rye

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Saltcote Place Rye
Ranked #1 of 40 Rye B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston upon Hull, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“A truly exceptional venue!”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I recently attended what I can only describe as simply the best wedding! This venue is superb. The owners (Paul and Alan) are delightful and the perfect hosts. The staff are fantastic, the views are tremendous and the grounds and house are truly exceptional!

Very annoyed my friends found this place before me, as I don't think it can be out done and my wedding will have a lot to live up too!

Ed

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    477
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
62
349
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

The hotel was a great location within walking distance of the village centre and all the excellent restaurants and galleries. Service at the hotel was simply superb and the food exquisite. We were made to feel most welcome by our hosts Paul and Alan.

Room Tip: Galleries in Rye are superb. Some wonderful restaurants and the village has real charm
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank BobfromSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

We were lucky enough to be guests at a wedding at this wonderful wonderful home of amazing hosts Paul and Alan. Opulence in the extreme blended with exacting detail makes thus venue one of the finest around. With specular views and perfectly manicured gardens , the only negative thing to be said is why have I never been here before !

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We arranged to stay for two days at Saltcote Place. What a wonderful place it turned out to be. The house was beautiful and situated in a very quite part of the country but very close to Rye and Camber Beach. The hosts Paul & Alan were excellent and their service was second to none. Our room was clean and as advertised. Breakfast was fantastic and it goes on and on. We fully recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank aafB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Beautiful house, charming hosts and the tastiest breakfast ever! Thank you Alan & Paul for treating us like royalty and all the little extras you gave us to make us feel really relaxed and spoilt. Highly, highly recommend a stay at Saltcote Place.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Hannah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

My husband and I enjoyed a fabulous weekend at the Saltcote. Paul and Alan were fantastic hosts, welcoming us with wine and providing great advice about what to see and where to eat in Rye. The house is huge and newly renovated with elegant finishings and stylish antiques. We stayed in the penthouse apartment which has a gorgeous living/dining space, kitchen and 2 bathrooms. After a day of walking around the town and a great dinner we found a nightcap waiting for us in the room. The breakfast was fantastic, with fruit and yogurt followed by eggs Benedict, eggs with smoked salmon, full English, waffles, and may other choices. We enjoyed sharing a breakfast table with the other guests as well. We'll definitely return to Rye and will be staying at the Saltcote!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lobstergirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here for the weekend with 2 of our teenage daughters - it was lovely. We were offered a glass of wine after a long day of work/ travel, there were chocolates in the bedrooms, Paul and Alan had organised restaurant bookings (with complimentary champagne!), there were nightcaps, the breakfast menu was extensive and the food delicious (with multiple courses!), the house and views are beautiful... what more could you ask for? It was my husband's birthday and they found ways to make him feel special. The house is a short walk from Rye and an even shorter walk from The Globe Inn (which was brilliant). If you're thinking of booking, make sure you call directly for availability and rates. Thank you Paul and Alan for a wonderful weekend getaway - we need to return to do some more exploring!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah6666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rye hotels
0.7 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
The Mermaid Inn
#1 of 9 in Rye
949 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rye Lodge Hotel
Rye Lodge Hotel
#5 of 9 in Rye
754 reviews
0.6 mi away
The George in Rye
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Hope Anchor Hotel
2.7 mi away
The Gallivant
The Gallivant
#1 of 1 in Camber
1,287 reviews
0.9 mi away
Willow Tree House
Willow Tree House
#2 of 40 in Rye
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saltcote Place Rye? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saltcote Place Rye

Property: Saltcote Place Rye
Address: Saltcote Place Saltcote Lane, Rye TN31 7NR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Rye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Saltcote Place Rye 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxed calm & quiet, Saltcote Place is all about you. Our home is a modest country mansion overlooking Rye where we offer a very bespoke personal service. We are not a hotel. We enjoy the early discussions when you are booking and then work with you to help you create something rather special for your break. 6 to 8 minutes walk will place you in the High St. Secure off street parking with charging FOC for electric vehicles. Exclusive use We offer exclusive use weekends for private family celebrations and whilst we offer Weddings it will always be exclusive to the Couple so if you see a wedding here then you will personally know the Bride or Groom as WE NEVER MIX GUESTS. We hope you enjoy Champagne breakfasts and don't mind complimentary decanters upon your return in the evening. No Children under 15 unless at a Wedding With regret we cannot accept children under the age of 15. Please always try to BOOK DIRECT with us as you will save the Online Travel Agency commission. You found us without them so you do not need to pay more for your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Saltcote Place Rye reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saltcote Place Rye Hotel Rye
Saltcote Place Rye East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing