We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Functional and great value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Regent Motel & Bar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Regent Motel & Bar
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Rye
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Functional and great value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights when attending a family party in Rye. Really helpful staff, efficient check in and out. The rooms are clean and comfortable with everything you need. Centrally located to explore Rye with lots of pubs and restaurants close by. My parents paid a bit extra and got to stay in a semi detached house across from the car park. Really good value for money and provided us with all we needed for a comfy and pleasant stay. One gripe was the shower was little more than a trickle.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank salmonjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    23
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
26
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cheshunt, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

We stayed here for 1 night, and found it to be great value for money, situated in the expensive part of town. The room was decorated to a modern standard, with a very comfortable bed and pillows, together with TV, tea and coffee making facilities plus other items to purchase via an honesty box system.

No breakfast or evening reception is available but this is good as keeps the prices low. The motel is centrally situated in the heart of this lovely place, with its own car parking spaces and also close to Rye Train Station. An information book in the room lists the local cafes and restaurants which was more than adequate, which suited us really well and would definitely recommend this motel to fellow travellers.

Room Tip: We had the double room No 7, which was a great size although front facing on to street, so could be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

Room, bed, TV, coffee/tee facilities, shower, gel/shampoo/towels. What else you need? Parking? There are too.
For the breakfast, you only have to walk arround the beautiful village. The Motel Regent is in the center of the town. Quite as simple. Could be perfect if you want to start the day early so you don't have to wait for breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Al_____362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herstmonceux, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
235 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

The Regent Motel is ideally situated in the heart of Rye. The room we had was spacious with a good en-suite shower. Spotlessly clean. Nice towels and products are provided. Staff are very friendly.
There are not many affordable rooms in Rye. This is a very good option.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed overnight and found the room to be a decent size, clean and most of all, super conveniently located for all Rye has to offer. It was pretty hot during our stay so open windows were essential; the downside of the convenient location when twinned with warm weather is the traffic and seagull noise.

No breakfast available but there are several places close by to go.

A pleasant stay but I think more than a night and the noise would drive you a bit mad!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DelighfulTea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

The motel is very basic with no breakfast but you get what you pay for - and the room whilst basic was clean with a great Mira shower! There are lots of places to eat breakfast or brunch in Rye so no breakfast was not a problem and in fact an advantage as Rye well worth a walk around to select from one of the many coffee shops/tea rooms. We found the lady on reception to be friendly and helpful. The seagulls make a racket so be warned! Rye is charming.

Room Tip: You might be better off with a room on the front as delivers start to the stores below the motel at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruby1064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

This motel is cheap and exactly what you need. I would definitely recommend to friends. The staff were friendly as well. I rather stupidly left my mobile phone there and they sent it back to me first class registered post. Rye is a lovely place.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HardtopleaseWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rye hotels
0.2 mi away
The Hope Anchor Hotel
0.3 mi away
River Haven Hotel
0.1 mi away
Rye Lodge Hotel
Rye Lodge Hotel
#5 of 9 in Rye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The George in Rye
0.1 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
The Mermaid Inn
#3 of 9 in Rye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Lodge at Winchelsea
The Lodge at Winchelsea
#1 of 1 in Winchelsea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Regent Motel & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Regent Motel & Bar

Property: The Regent Motel & Bar
Address: 42 Cinque Ports Street, Rye TN31 7AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Rye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Regent Motel & Bar 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small family run motel in Rye town centre. All rooms have en-suite shower rooms, tea/coffee trays, freeview televisions and hairdryers. Limited parking available on a first in basis or a space can be reserved for £5-00 per night. Motel provides accommodation only, no food or breakfast is available on the premises. Our terms require guests to state an arrival time any time between 10:30 am - 4:30 pm on booking. We can do later arrivals depending on season and day; please call before booking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms and Hotels.com so you can book your The Regent Motel & Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Regent Motel & Bar Rye, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing