We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lovely B&B”
Review of At Wisteria Corner

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rye
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
At Wisteria Corner
Ranked #32 of 40 Rye B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 August 2013

I would warmly recommend Wisteria Corner to anybody thinking of staying in Rye. The rooms are comfortable and attractive with good Bathroom/Toilet and Shower ... and excellent tea and coffee making facilities. The breakfasts are delicious and amazing and Monika is a warm and welcoming hostess what more could you ask for ... and only a few minutes walk from the town centre.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
funzel, Owner at At Wisteria Corner, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Thank you very much for your review. It was lovely having you both here and great to hear that you enjoyed staying with us. Best wishes Monika

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
There are newer reviews for At Wisteria Corner
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2013

We spent two nights at Wisteria Corner B&B. Monika is an excellent hostess very welcoming, kind and precise.
As soon as we arrived she gave us useful information about the B&B and how to find our way to the historic centre and the local amenities nearby.
Our room was a nice small double room with fridge, tea and coffee making facilities and a big german made window that can be opened and closed properly (unlike the typical english windows that only slide up and down).
Our only issue has been the sink in the ensuite which was quite small and a bit difficult to use without flooding the floor.
Since we stayed two nights we decided to taste the full english breakfast and the continental one: they were both delicious and so well presented I regret I didn't take any picture of the dishes!
We really enjoyed our stay and we do recommend this accommodation that is also reasonably priced given the location and the quality of the service which included off-street parking.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ale_ge87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
funzel, Owner at At Wisteria Corner, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Dear guest,
I would like to thank you for your effort in writing a review and I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I am sorry you found the sink a little small. Due to the space restraints we had to install a hand wash basin rather than a larger sink. We considered this hand wash basin as sufficient for washing hands and cleaning teeth as there is a shower provided within the en-suite.
Kind regards and best wishes.
Monika

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

This is such a fantastic b and b. We felt so lucky to find it. Monika is such a fantastic hostess who goes above and beyond to make you feel at home. The breakfasts are amazing and you will be pushed to find somewhere more welcoming and comfortable to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
funzel, Owner at At Wisteria Corner, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. I am absolutely thrilled about your comments and so pleased that you enjoyed your stay here.
Best wishes
Monika

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

This was our second stay in the "At Wisteria Corner" self-catering cottage unit behind the Partridge's home with B&B. First time we stayed 2 weeks and this time 4 nights. We'd forgotten linens weren't included but Monika was very accommodating about it. We felt like we were "coming home" by staying in their sunny, inviting but modest cottage. We would recommend these landlords and their ample offerings to anyone visiting in the Rye area. As mentioned, the train station is very close as well as a grocery store and buses for fully enjoying the "self"-catering aspects of "At Wisteria Corner". Thanks again Monika for being the perfect hostess blending amiability with independence and catering to your guests every need :>)!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catchesthelight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
funzel, Owner at At Wisteria Corner, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was lovely seeing you both back here again. I am very pleased that you enjoyed yourself and found our location to be very convenient. Just to mention a slight error: The provision of linen is always included in our self-catering holiday let. It is only the bath towels that are not automatically provided. Towels can be bulky items to travel with, especially when flying in from abroad, so I was very happy to lend you some. 
Best wishes, Monika

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights while visiting Rye and Great Dixter garden.
We were traveling by train and it is very close to the rail station.
Excellent cooked English breakfast and a large choice of cereals
and jams for toast. Room was up some steps so it would not do for
anyone who had problems with stairs. Hostess Monica was very
helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Visitor29209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
funzel, Owner at At Wisteria Corner, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2013

Dear guests,

Thank you for taking the time to review my B&B.

I am glad that you enjoyed the breakfasts and were pleased with our location and the service. It was a pleasure helping you and attending to your needs.

It appears to be a lack of your awareness of local accommodation prices that lead to a misperception with regards to the value for money for your stay, especially considering the all-round service and provisions you have been enjoying.

I hope that people who seek accommodation here in Rye will judge my B&B by the merits of the overwhelming majority of the other guest ratings levels and reviews submitted, which do not reflect the ratings given in this particular review, when sadly doing my utmost best did not seem to be enough to fully satisfy your expectations.

Thank you once more for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We spent 2 nights here recently and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Monika was very welcoming and friendly. Our room had everything we could possibly need including a range of teas, coffees etc and fresh milk in the fridge. The breakfasts were probably the best we have ever had with an amazing array of food to choose from and all beautifully presented. We would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank WMG_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Stayed here with my Fiancee the weekend, she had chosed this place having read the other reviews on here.

Monika is lovely and has thought of everything to make your stay comfortable and accomodating. Her breakfast is amazing, didnt need to eat again until the evening (still ate though, because of the wide range of cakes and delights in Rye!).

Would definately stay at Wisteria Corner again, we had the double room at the back of the house which is large and also has a sofa and is warm and comfortable.

The place is very well situated for exploring the town and getting buses and trains to the various places.

I'd have no hesitation in recommending this place.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RMN1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
funzel, Owner at At Wisteria Corner, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2013

Thank you very much for your lovely review. I am very pleased you both enjoyed yourself here and felt well fed. (You can always fit a cake in, no matter what ). It was nice having you here. Best wishes, Monika

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rye hotels
0.3 mi away
River Haven Hotel
2.8 mi away
The Flackley Ash Country House Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Hope Anchor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Red Cottage Bed and Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Willow Tree House
Willow Tree House
#2 of 40 in Rye
444 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jeake's House
Jeake's House
#4 of 40 in Rye
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to At Wisteria Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At Wisteria Corner

Address: 47 Ferry Road, Rye TN31 7DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Rye
Price Range: £50 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Wisteria Corner is a 3 minutes walk from the heart of the historic citadel of Rye, with its rich history, quaint cobbled streets, ancient buildings, cosy pubs and unique little shops. Lovely walks can be started straight from our B&B. After a few minutes strolling along next to the river Tillingham you can enjoy beautiful views across fields, meandering river and valley to the sea. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
At Wisteria Corner Rye, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing