We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!”
Review of Tuscan Kitchen Rye

Tuscan Kitchen Rye
Ranked #14 of 108 Restaurants in Rye
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$19 - US$52
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Description: A must visit, former owners and founders return to Rye. Florentine chef Franco and Jen take you straight back to a day in Tuscany. Whether you want a moment to relax or stay and linger, they welcome you to their home and kitchen. Recipes past down generations from the pages of an old family book to savour and enjoy. Wine is as important as food here and there is an extensive list of Tuscan region wines. Lion Street is tucked away leading to St Mary's Church in the heart of Rye.
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Staff delightful and so relaxed. Food quite simply beautiful and very authentic Italian. Would most definitely recommend this charming restaurant to anyone seeking a relaxed atmosphere with fabulous food. Please visit this restaurant if you are in the beautiful town of Rye! The limoncello with our bill was a lovely touch!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank C O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TuscanKitchen, Owner at Tuscan Kitchen Rye, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Claire T,
Thank you for taking the time to review the Tuscan Kitchen we are delighted with your feedback, and will pass your comments on to all of the team.
We hope to welcome you back to the Tuscan Kitchen soon.
Lucy & Gerardo Avena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    495
    93
    24
    15
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Pricey”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I didn't think much of the place.

Old fashioned menu, that involves 3 courses. The portions were small, and not well cooked.

Its a dark dreary restaurant, with not much to recommend it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Darcy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TuscanKitchen, Owner at Tuscan Kitchen Rye, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Darcy2,
In response to your Tripadvisor review, I would like to explain that we are striving to reflect authentic Italian dining, and this is the way a menu is structured in Italy, but as we state clearly on the menu there is no requirement to order a specific number of courses.
The Tuscan Kitchen is housed in a 15th Century Listed building but we have created an extra seating space at the rear of the restaurant which is light and airy and leads onto our courtyard.
It is always disappointing to receive such negative feedback, especially as an independent family run restaurant we really do care about pleasing our diners.
Lucy & Gerardo Avena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Don't miss Rye!”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

A completely charming town, cobblestone streets, lovely old houses. Adding to its charms is The Tuscan Kitchen. Not easy to find worthwhile Italian food in England, but here it is. Cute place, warm welcome (having an Italian wife helps), nice menu, very good service.
Michael F

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank michael f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TuscanKitchen, Owner at Tuscan Kitchen Rye, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Michael F,
Thank you for taking the time to give us such positive feedback, we really do appreciate it!
We hope to welcome you back to the Tuscan Kitchen soon.
Lucy & Gerardo Avena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Birthday Dinner”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We had an amazing dinner at this authentic Italian restaurant, food and staff were amazing and very accommodating - even candles on my partners dessert to embarrass him sufficiently. They tailored a meal for us to be more spicy and meaty as neither of us ate fish and the Limoncello was great!!! We would highly recommend and will definitely be back!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LennyB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TuscanKitchen, Owner at Tuscan Kitchen Rye, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Lenny B1,
Thank you for your lovely review, we are delighted that you and your partner enjoyed your meal with us. We hope to welcome you back to the Tuscan Kitchen soon.
Lucy & Gerardo Avena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Had meal on 19th June,wonderful authentic Italian food at reasonable price served by Tony and excellent staff

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank fkeddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TuscanKitchen, Owner at Tuscan Kitchen Rye, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear fkeddie,
Thank you for your lovely review, Tony was especially delighted!! We hope to welcome you back to the Tuscan Kitchen the next time you visit Rye.
Lucy & Gerardo Avena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tuscan Kitchen Rye also viewed

 
Rye, East Sussex
 

Been to Tuscan Kitchen Rye? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing