We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Kings Head
Ranked #8 of 39 Rye B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2012

On arrival the pub was closed, but we were greeted by Shirley, landlady very warm and friendly who directed us to our chalet around the back of the pub. First impressions are of an American motel set up, six chalets in a row huge car park. The chalets were very dated but clean and actually for a sixty quid a night deal with breakfast included for both of us was a great deal especially in rye, you get what you pay for, if you want posh and hotel inspector stuff go elsewhere, a great deal for the price, service great, landlady comes out in the mornings and greets you, thats service! Food good, a lovely old pub situated in a great place. Like any other business in this day and age it is a struggle and it's possible there is no cash in the pot to renovate the charming chalets, but pontins is worse and 300 pound more, i am happy with my stay here and the basics were good enough I would have gone elsewhere if I wanted more but as it was I spent my cash on my holiday not rooms that you would sleep in only! These people are lovely warm and friendly the service they provide for a small amount of cash is good.

Room Tip: You only get what you pay for
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (336)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

316 - 322 of 336 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2012

This Bed and Breakfast is in a great location if you are in that part of the UK. Unfortunately that is where the quality stops. Sent email confirming booking a month prior and no email response. Had to call multiple times to get a person on the phone. The room is poorly cleaned. No towels were in the room and pulled out of a next door laundry room that is was in disrepair. The bathroom had no soaps of any sort. The check in and check out process was "okay" but felt as if one was lucky the reservation made it.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sanguinerogue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

As it says on the tin this is on the top of the hill just outside Rye and on f irst appearance the pub looked a bit dowdy and wasn't open when we arrived in the afternoon, but when we returned after a walk around the marshes was very welcoming and cosy. We were in the 'chalets' across the free car park from the pub and had all the appearance of an American motel. Clean, spacious with en suite and table and chairs outside to relax with a cup of tea in the morning. Very good value all round with a decent breakfast. The Dutch couple next to us had just spent the week in the Isle of WIght and declared that this was the best B&B they had stayed in their whole trip. It does need updating etc. but for the money a good deal. Rye is expensive so this is worth thinking about. Didn't eat supper.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Stayed for one night, don't want to slag this off too much as the owners were very polite and you can actually see they are struggling to make a living, I felt a little sorry for them, but I know I have to think of future guests, so here goes!
Thread bare carpets and shabby bed linen, the bed was made to a fashion! The duvet cover was on but hanging out the bottom as it wasn't fastened. There was only one pillow, but my partner found the others wedged down the back of the bed!! The bed had definitely been slept in and it wasn't by goldilocks!
The room was very dated and dusty plastic flowers everywhere!! The place was warm though, and the bathroom towels were just sort of thrown on the bath and they were rock hard and small. The shower was held up with cable ties, and there was half used bubble bath bottle left on the sink.
The lampshades were for table lamps and fitted on the ceiling, one was fitted so close to the wardrobe that it swang when you opened the door, causing a load of dust to fall down.
I feel bad about saying all this, because they were nice people, the breakfast was a small run of the mill fry up, one piece of bacon, one sausage, an egg (no choice of how it was cooked) fried slice and a tomato. Mixed brown and white toast and all served on some very dated plates, but the pub was warm and really nice actually to see all this dated stuff scattered about, nostalgic!!
Plenty of private parking right outside your door, motel type buildings.
PS the bed was very uncomfortable and the springy!

Room Tip: Take your cleaning agents and your own bedding!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mtwapamonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Very disappointing. The room was dirty and unkempt, bedding had cigarette burn, carpet filthy, towels - although plenty supplied - were threadbare. Not a place you would recommend to anyone. Only mitigating area was the food which was typical pub fare but plentiful and hot. Chalet reminded us of poor holiday camp accommodation from the 1970's - just not good enough. Badly needs up-dating and a thorough clean.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We came to Rye for a wedding and our stay at Top o' the Hill was very pleasant. The rooms are good value for money and the staff is friendly and flexible. On Sunday morning we were late for breakfast. However, this did not stop our hosts from serving us toast and excellent coffee within minutes. If you come to Rye, this cosy family-run business is the place to stay and only a ten minute walk from the town centre. We are looking forward to come back later on this year. Best, Michiel & Kayn, Watford

Room Tip: Room number 1 was decently sized, quiet and had free, private parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichielWillems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

I read mixed reviews about this place so was a little apprehensive having booked it. I'm glad I did in the end. For the one night we stayed there it was adequate. The room was large, the bedding clean and beds comfortable. Plenty of parking and nice fresh breakfast (although I wasn't impressed with instant coffee). The buildings with the rooms is a little tired - cracks, really tall toilet (feet dangling down tall!), sagging ceiling, old cupboards. The place could use a little updating but the friendly staff and cleanliness more than made up for the downfalls.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank curvature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rye hotels
0.7 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
0.7 mi away
The Hope Anchor Hotel
0.5 mi away
Rye Lodge Hotel
Rye Lodge Hotel
#5 of 9 in Rye
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The George in Rye
2.8 mi away
The Flackley Ash Country House Hotel
3 mi away
The Lodge at Winchelsea
The Lodge at Winchelsea
#1 of 1 in Winchelsea
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Head

Address: Rye Hill, Rye TN31 7NH, England (Formerly Top O' The Hill)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Rye
Price Range: £74 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kings Head 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kings Head Inn has undergone extensive refurbishment ready for re opening early 2014. We have 5 luxurious modern individually designed en suite cottages each with private entrance, tea & coffee making facilities, TV, and free Wifi, plus 5 beautiful en suite rooms with the same level of quality as the cottages but with the added bonus of staying in the 300 year old Coaching Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Kings Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top o` The Hill Hotel Rye
The Kings Head Rye, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing