We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made the weekend”
Review of The Kings Head

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Kings Head
Ranked #8 of 40 Rye B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Made the weekend”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Everything about this hotel was great. The room was spotless, spacious and had everything a family of three could need. The food in the restaurant at breakfast and dinner is highly recommended, book in advance as we found it hard to find anywhere locally to compare. Customer Service is top priority at this hotel, nothing was any trouble and you are made to feel welcome throughout your stay - a real gem and worth every penny!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmyAmelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    48
    12
    9
    7
See reviews for
63
178
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Turned up late on a Sunday evening for our 2 night stay, to be welcomed in as part of the family. The hotel was beautifully decorated, with perfect attention to detail. Our room was upgraded - although our 'beach room' looked just as lovely, we were upgraded to the 'white room' which was beautiful. Comfortable bed, brilliant shower, very relaxing. A huge thank you for my request of a bottle of Prosecco and a note for my other half - it was very much appreciated. Also great size bath sheets, hairdryer (very handy!) and bottled water in the room - something so many places miss out!

The Kings Head is at the top of the hill, with a large car park - which is a HUGE bonus, especially if like us you have too many bags. Approx 10 minute walk down to Rye itself, but all downhill - 15 mins maybe back up, but it's always good to get some exercise.

When we went to Rye we also compared here to other hotels in the centre - but have to say, we DEFINITELY made the right choice staying here, no where felt the same as here. Scrummy breakfast, we had dinner here one evening, which we thoroughly enjoyed - the Manageress Lucy who was a true star too and made the evening even better. Great menu, great wine too!

I have to say, this is the best hotel i've stayed in for a while - home from home, my biggest problem though, I didn't want to leave.

Without a doubt we will be back & recommending here to everybody we know.

Thank you again to all of you for making our stay perfect. Best of luck to you all, you have a fantastic place!

See you all soon

P.S Thank you for folding my pjs when making the bed - that was a little touch that made me smile.

Room Tip: Each room is individually done, beach room smaller - but still beautiful. We stayed in the white roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fran885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Friendly personal service from all the staff from start to finish.
Variety on the menu was further enhanced by the kitchen's ability to cater for 2 vegans amongst our party of 5.
Rooms spacious, clean and modern.
Location means that you are central to explore East Sussex & Kent and walk down the hill into beautiful Rye.
A jewel of an establishment run with a smile which is infectious, book now to avoid disappointment.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Just wanted to say what a great place this is for food, atmosphere, wonderful staff and a great night's sleep. Many thanks to Steve and Lisa and all the staff - you should be proud of what you have achieved since you re-furbished and re-opened this gem of a place.

Room Tip: The cottages are great for families - good sized rooms, ease of parking and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NikiSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I've never written a Tripadvisor review before but I had such a great weekend at the King's Head Inn, I felt I had to.  From the moment we walked through the door we were made to feel right at home.  We were shown to our room by Lucy, the manageress, who took great care to make sure we were happy with everything.  We stayed in the White Room which was very tastefully decorated.  Having spoken to some of the other guests, the same can be said of all the other rooms.  The beds are supremely comfortable.  I don't remember having a better night’s sleep in a hotel.  The bar and dining area is a great place to eat and drink in a relaxed atmosphere.  We met the new owners Lisa & Steve who were the perfect hosts.  They have just recently taken over the inn and have completely refurbished it.  They have done a tremendous job.  They too did everything they could to make our weekend special.  Nothing was too much trouble for them or their staff.  Last, but certainly not least, is the food.  Steve is the head chef and his dishes are sublime.  After eating at the inn on our first night, we didn't bother looking for anywhere else.  Anyone who believes that fine dining only comes in miniscule portions has obviously never eaten here.  Keep up the great work and thank you for a fantastic weekend.  We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndrewBradders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire uk
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed two nights in one of the cottage rooms - giving us loads of room for a family of three. A day bed for our son meant he slept really well too! The cottage rooms are over the carpark from the main building which meant we could park just outside the door-no lugging bags miles! Small table and chairs outside if you wanted to sit out.
The hotel is beautifully designed and spotless.
Very friendly staff. We ate in the restaurant the first night and loved it. I had booked the table in advance - just as well as the restaurant was full. A real buzz! No children's menu but they were more than happy for me to pick a few things from the menu and create someone I knew my son would eat. Good priced wine list too!
Nice location - 10 minute walk into Rye - 15 minutes back as it is up a steep hill!
Wonderful place.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed in May 2014, two adults and a six yr old. Ignore all the pre March 2014 reviews, this place has had a total refurb and has new owners. Good food, nice clean rooms, friendly service. Recommended.

Room Tip: Parisian room, great for small family, but is on the road side which is a little noisy (no double gl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GrayFranks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rye hotels
0.7 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
The Mermaid Inn
#1 of 9 in Rye
949 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Hope Anchor Hotel
0.5 mi away
Rye Lodge Hotel
Rye Lodge Hotel
#5 of 9 in Rye
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
River Haven Hotel
0.6 mi away
The George in Rye
0.8 mi away
Willow Tree House
Willow Tree House
#2 of 40 in Rye
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Head

Property: The Kings Head
Address: Rye Hill, Rye TN31 7NH, England (Formerly Top O' The Hill)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Rye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kings Head 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kings Head Inn has undergone extensive refurbishment ready for re opening early 2014. We have 5 luxurious modern individually designed en suite cottages each with private entrance, tea & coffee making facilities, TV, and free Wifi, plus 5 beautiful en suite rooms with the same level of quality as the cottages but with the added bonus of staying in the 300 year old Coaching Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Kings Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top o` The Hill Hotel Rye
The Kings Head Rye, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing