We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Kings Head
Nearby Hotels
US$328
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$269
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Hope Anchor Hotel(Rye)(Great Value!)
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$117
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Regent Motel & Bar(Rye)(Great Value!)
US$114
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lodge at Winchelsea(Winchelsea)(Great Value!)
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rye Lodge Hotel(Rye)(Great Value!)
US$141
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$76
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (347)
Filter reviews
347 results
Traveller rating
261
54
14
11
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
261
54
14
11
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubwhite roomthe cottageschampagne roomparisian roomruby roomlog cabinbeach roomlamb shankgenerous portionslovely accommodationlarge bedcodovernight staytown centrean evening mealmain building
Filter
Updating list...
273 - 278 of 347 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We selected this Inn for a large family special birthday celebration meal on a Saturday night, and glad we did. The staff were friendly and professional the Inn looked like it had been refurbished and had a modern twist. We gave our orders and well the starters were very large and good quality, our mains were equally large and all were cooked to an excellent standard. It was a real pleasure to go here, and would visit without hesitation. There is some parking at front but larger car park at rear.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank transporterdcc750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Just wanted it say a huge thank you to Steve and Lisa for all their hard work in making our recent family gathering so fabulous. The warmth and friendliness shown to us all was unique. The kings head is a wonderful pub, beautifully redecorated and filled with warmth and friendship. The food was fabulous and I would highly recommend it. Great value and a real gem. Rye is lucky to have such a great team running such a great pub.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed for two nights in one of the cottages which was absolutely lovely. Clean, large room with the biggest bed we've ever stayed in! Only a quick walk down the road to Rye which is well worth a visit. The food is sublime - as two vegans we're used to just chips and salad but the chef went to the trouble of making something just for us, and with a smile too! If you're stopping through Rye stay at the King's Head - you'll be missing out on the biggest treat otherwise: meeting Lisa!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freya D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Everything about this hotel was great. The room was spotless, spacious and had everything a family of three could need. The food in the restaurant at breakfast and dinner is highly recommended, book in advance as we found it hard to find anywhere locally to compare. Customer Service is top priority at this hotel, nothing was any trouble and you are made to feel welcome throughout your stay - a real gem and worth every penny!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmyAmelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Turned up late on a Sunday evening for our 2 night stay, to be welcomed in as part of the family. The hotel was beautifully decorated, with perfect attention to detail. Our room was upgraded - although our 'beach room' looked just as lovely, we were upgraded to the 'white room' which was beautiful. Comfortable bed, brilliant shower, very relaxing. A huge thank you for my request of a bottle of Prosecco and a note for my other half - it was very much appreciated. Also great size bath sheets, hairdryer (very handy!) and bottled water in the room - something so many places miss out!

The Kings Head is at the top of the hill, with a large car park - which is a HUGE bonus, especially if like us you have too many bags. Approx 10 minute walk down to Rye itself, but all downhill - 15 mins maybe back up, but it's always good to get some exercise.

When we went to Rye we also compared here to other hotels in the centre - but have to say, we DEFINITELY made the right choice staying here, no where felt the same as here. Scrummy breakfast, we had dinner here one evening, which we thoroughly enjoyed - the Manageress Lucy who was a true star too and made the evening even better. Great menu, great wine too!

I have to say, this is the best hotel i've stayed in for a while - home from home, my biggest problem though, I didn't want to leave.

Without a doubt we will be back & recommending here to everybody we know.

Thank you again to all of you for making our stay perfect. Best of luck to you all, you have a fantastic place!

See you all soon

P.S Thank you for folding my pjs when making the bed - that was a little touch that made me smile.

Room Tip: Each room is individually done, beach room smaller - but still beautiful. We stayed in the white room. All rooms are just what you need (having peeped in some!) - TVs, coffee & tea, bottled water, shower, nice big bath towels. Huge car park - brilliant!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fran885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews